top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

Wot? No Masks, No Rules?


Thursday 1 July

Colin H arrived early to fix the boiler; it was a simple job fortunately. Phil dropped me off at the station for my journey to Southampton and what a busy train. Full of students going home for the summer break laden down with luggage. The underground was noticeably quieter by comparison, as was the train from Waterloo. Great excitement as we approached Eastleigh; the train was halted, and we learnt that a bus had exploded on the main road which runs parallel, and they wanted to make sure it was safe to pass. I caught the bus to dad’s place to slow down my arrival, it’s so depressing.

Friday 2 July

Welcome to the world Jonah, Hayam’s latest grandchild. I hope there will be worldwide peace in your lifetime.

I had a good night’s sleep and a walk before Fred arrived to take us both to Uncle Stuart’s funeral. Dad has had another fall and was happy to stay at home. It’s many years since I was last in Eling, but I have not forgotten how pretty it is. It is mentioned in the Domesday book which gives you an idea of the historic look of the place. The Toll Keeper asked us if we were going to the funeral, then waved us over the little bridge and on up to the car park. We caught up with family after the service. Auntie Ol in a wheelchair with Brian, Polly with her son David and of course Paula. We didn’t stay too long but I agreed to meet up with Paula the following day. We took dad for a drive and then Fred and I enjoyed a meal together and chance of a catch up. Congratulations Maria on your promotion. You’ll be running the firm soon.

Saturday 3 July

I met Paula in Southampton centre for a coffee, which turned into lunch and after four and a half hours of talking we finally parted company. I am so glad to have reconnected with her after all these years and I’m very happy to have my cousin back. My greatest regret is that I missed her brother, Peter, but she told me about his Facebook page and all the wonderful family photos he has posted. I sat for ages later, just trawling through them. After I got off the bus I made a quick decision, grabbed some flowers and went to see dad’s cousin Joy. She is aptly named, and I am glad I went. Dad has conjunctivitis; I’ve tried to explain about it, but he takes no notice of me and does as he pleases.

Sunday 4 July

Happy birthday Vicki, I hope you had a lovely day (so sorry I forgot your card). It was going to be a long day, so I got out and walked up to Portswood and a had a coffee and giant teacake at Café#1. Then I grabbed a bottle of wine and some flowers and caught the bus back. It was John’s birthday, so I went back down the hill to Joy’s and popped his card through the letter box. My cousin Kevin came at four and whisked me off for a lovely Sunday roast that Loli had cooked. They are such a lovely couple, and she makes him so happy. I'm regretting not catching up with Paula's son and daughter, I should like to have talked to them at the funeral, but we were all at sixes and sevens. I even missed speaking to my cousin Peter and that really did upset me.

Monday 5 July

Thank god I got an open return rail ticket. I was up early to catch the bus to town and didn’t have long to wait for the London train. The Reader board at King’s Cross said you had to have a seat reservation to travel; I didn’t but am supposed to travel Off-Peak, so I got on the train anyway. Thankfully I wasn’t challenged and there was more space and seats than on the way down! The crops in the fields are ripening and plenty of hay has been cut. I was so happy to be home that I left my case on the train! What a twit. Blind panic drove me back to the platform where I was met by a lovely member of staff who told me it had been found and taken to the Information Desk. I got a lovely hug from Paul on the platform, and we drove home at last, to be greeted by our resident Blackbird, up in a tree, singing its socks off. I hope Anne’s operation went well.

Tuesday 6 July

Happy Birthday Mark, and thanks for all the chips. I spent a quiet day. I dropped Paul off at the Snooker Hall and parked with the intention of going into town, but the heavens opened just as I was about to get out of the car, so I drove home and read instead. I noticed that we have some of the new crazy Electric Scooters in York. Southampton has been taken over by them and these dangerous toys are everywhere. One girl charged up the road, signalled right by sticking her leg out and went. The white van behind her just managed to brake.

Wednesday 7 July

Happy Birthday Denise, have a super day. I enjoyed my swim; I’m certainly getting fitter and faster at last. Joy of joys, the Swallows are here, better late than never. The road to Scarborough was fairly quiet and we managed to get parked ok. It was hot, despite the threat of rain and we were able to dispense with coats. We took a trip on the new big wheel, the views are stunning, and then we had the obligatory fish and chips. Yum, yum. Sasha has had a preliminary report on her knee which shows that she had been misdiagnosed. You don’t need to understand the medical terminology to see why she is in pain. I hope the appointment with the Orthopaedic Surgeon has a good outcome for her. England beat Denmark 2 - 1 and are in the final of the UEFA cup!

Thursday 8 July

Perfect morning. Sun in a blue sky with Swallows skimming the field and Mrs Deer gently grazing in the long grass. We haven’t seen Helen and Paul for ages, so it was nice to spend a few hours in their company today. I went to collect a skirt I had ordered from M&S, but it wasn’t there! They think it’s been handed over to someone else, so I got my money back. The garden took a battering at the weekend with the rain, and I’ve realised that there’s a lot to do. We had a quick bike ride down the cycle track but had to turn back at Tang Hall as the bridge was sealed off with Police tape and an Officer was standing guard. No idea what happened but he promised to see that the track was taped near the old Library to save people having to turn round and go back. With the cards posted, we rode home and sat in the garden taking in the peace and quiet. Helen H is really enjoying being back at work and feeling like a real person again, bless her.

Friday 9 July

I had breakfast in the garden after my swim, it was so sunny and peaceful. The shopping didn’t take long so we went to the new Library. The building is lovely, but there is no atmosphere, even fewer books and a permanent stink of food from the café. It's not what I think of as a Library. I nodded off after lunch, deeply and soundly. It was too hot to cut the grass, but it was my own fault, I did insist. Then I dead-headed the roses whilst the Blackbird serenaded me. The pictures from Torquay look as if Ian and Maria had a nice holiday, even swimming in the sea where a Seal came for a nosey.

Saturday 10 July

It rained during the night and we woke to a cool morning. Mrs Deer is just discernible in the long grass. Malton was really busy and we got a bit lost trying to find the new entrance to Wentworth Street car park. There are new houses everywhere. We got some shopping and found a bench in the Market Square where we ate our sandwiches from Cooplands. By that time it was red hot and we felt overdressed. We pottered back through the countryside and Anne rang as we got close to home. Her operation was a success, but now comes the long haul to recovery and get fit again. John and Faye walk Rusty, so the important thing is to rest. Janet had left me a pile of Elly Griffiths books on the doorstep when we got home. I must pop round one day soon and thank her. I made a Greek Salad for tea from my new recipe book. Very nice. Ian rang; sadly their holiday in Torquay was marred by someone’s moodiness.

Sunday 11 July

Got my tickets for Sheffield for Paüla’s birthday. It’s that time of year when you battle with flies. Just get rid of one and another gets in the kitchen, then the game begins with the fly, the fly swat and a death wish. Our bike ride took us down Stockton Lane and over to the Hospital, through Bootham Park, down Marygate and on to the river. The new flood defences are really high. We went up and over the new bridge, back down the other side, stopping for a break at the Memorial Gardens. It was busy in town, and it was nice to be through the crowds and back home to a comfortable seat. I pottered in the garden and managed to stake up a branch of Lilac that was leaning over too far. Italy won the UEFA cup on penalties. The England team should be proud of getting to the final and whilst I don’t care for football, I am impressed by Gareth Southgate. He’s a cut above your average Team Manager.

Monday 12 July

The pool was quiet and so were the roads and I managed a trip to Home Bargains after my swim, without any delays despite it being rush-hour. Apparently people are traumatised at England losing. All it takes is one game of football! Help me Lord, I think I’ve lived too long. It’s a dull, damp day after the lovely sunshine of yesterday. Another lovely Art session with Denise and Moira and Mark’s excellent chips for lunch. It hasn’t stopped raining and it’s hard to imagine that yesterday the garden was full of birds flitting, twittering and lining up to use the bird bath.

Tuesday 13 July

Much to my great annoyance I was unable to book a swim at Yearsley Pool as the facility has been removed from my on-line profile! I e-mailed GLL and will probably get a reply about Christmas; Trappist Monks would admire their communication skills. Daphne said they were upgrading the Booking System; I think my best bet is to sort it out in the morning. I met Ann for a coffee at Deans. She and Mick spent a lovely few days in Wales and met up with Richard, Hannah and the girls. Paul’s back is bad again but fortunately he managed to get a cancellation with the Chiropractor. Daphne said that she had managed to do a booking for a swim, so I eventually installed the Better App and managed to do one for myself.

Wednesday 14 July

There was a burst main on Dodsworth Avenue and a right little flood in the road. Helen was hopping mad when I got to Yearsley, the new booking system has caused as many headaches for the pool staff (who are brilliant) as for us customers. The Water Authority are back on Stockton Lane where their last repair job is still leaking. I spent the day washing, cleaning and ironing. Paul collected my prescription and as usual there was a problem. I was amazed to discover that when you have a blood test, the results are not shared by the Hospital and GPs and that is what has delayed my prescription. How ridiculous is that?

Thursday 15 July

Paul took me to the station for the Sheffield train, which was bang on time. Sammy rang me from the Surgery, she had been busy on my behalf, making sure that my next prescription request goes smoothly. I couldn’t get over her kindness. Corin was waiting for me at Sheffield station, and she drove us up to Paüla’s. We’ve been communicating for the last 18 months, and it was a joy to meet her at last. What a lovely person. P was delighted to see us, and there was a box on the doorstep with a bouquet of Roses and Lilies from her son Georg in America. It is her 70th birthday and it meant more to her than she realised, that we had remembered. I gave her a facial and left her contented. Paul went out on his motorbike, but his ride was spoilt by the bad state of the roads. I actually rode on the Coastliner bus today from the station; first time in over a year!

Friday 16 July

What a gorgeous morning. There seemed to be a training session going on at the pool as all the Lifeguards were being shadowed by newbies. I took my breakfast out into the garden after scrubbing a bird’s deposit of the bench. Don’t know what it had been eating but it was certainly more rural than the usual. Germany and the Lowlands have been hit by devastating floods. My heart goes out to the people who have lost homes and loved ones. Hurray, my prescription has finally been fulfilled (for this month anyway). I’m feeling so much better these days, more like my old self. The only real bug bear is the numbness in my left hand, but I can live with it. Lovely e-mail from Glynis and great news that Doug has had his hip done at last. He’ll be chasing after their Granddaughter Zara before you know it.

Saturday 17 July

What a scorcher; it was almost too hot for breakfast in the garden. We went up to Copmanthorpe to see Penny Lordan’s Art work under the Open Studios scheme. Sadly, York Art and Crafts ceased because of Covid and it was strange seeing the Art Barn without all its work tables. But Penny’s work was certainly worth seeing and I especially liked 'Hooked On A Feeling’. We drove off to Tadcaster and sat by the River Wharfe with a sandwich; it was very peaceful. We saw a couple of Kites, a Heron and a few Swallows. Further downstream people were swimming in the river, walking across the weir, or paddling from a sandy beach like area. In the end we came home for some shade and to cool down. It was a very hot night.

Sunday 18 July

Breakfast in the garden, but I wasn’t out there for long before I needed to escape the heat.

The washing dried in next to no time, so I ironed it quickly before I got too hot. Paul went for petrol for his moped ready to go to Badminton tomorrow, then he went for a bike ride. I kept cool in the house and waited for Hayam to come. It was lovely to see her after so long and we found a shady spot in the garden for a good catch up. I got a shock as I received an e-mail from Ann to say that Mick is in hospital having had a stroke. Our love and best wishes are with you both. The Slovenian cyclist Tadej Pogacar, has retained his title by winning the Tour De France again, and Mark Cavendish covered himself in glory by winning four of the stages. Tom O’Connor has died at the age of 81. What a lovely, funny man. RIP Tom.

Monday 19 July

Happy Birthday Judy, so sorry you have to spend it in self-isolation when the rest of us can throw away our masks (or not, as the case maybe). I don’t mind Freedom Day, it will prove one way or the other where we are with Covid. Face masks were optional at the pool, which was nice. They are still having major issues with the new booking system. The misty start kept the morning cool, which was quite welcome, but the sun was making its presence felt by the time I went to Denise’s for Art. Paul played Badminton for the first time in over a year, up at the University, and fared very well. No problems with his back. York Railway Institute have still not opened their doors during the day, or refunded the annual subs paid just before lockdown. Maria has had her second jab.

Tuesday 20 July

It was too warm even at 8am to have breakfast outside, so I stayed in and kept cool. It was good to see Anne looking bright, she says she feels a bit better every day. We sat in their peaceful garden whilst Rusty ran round trying to find some shade. We had parked our car on the drive where the family car normally sits and Rusty uses the boot as a day bed, so he was deprived of his space. We kept indoors where it was cool, for the rest of the day, until Paul had to go to the Chiropractor. The farmer was out cutting the grass in the field, which means we won’t see Mrs Deer for a couple of days. But she always knows when the hay is baled and it’s safe to come back. Tony’s dear little dog Pippa has died, no more pain. RIP little one.

Wednesday 21 July

The pool was very busy. The mystery of the red Begonia flower on the lawn was answered when I spotted a wild Rabbit! We have lived in this house for over 25 years and I’ve never seen a Rabbit; a couple of Hares, yes. I suppose it could have been a Leveret. I was glad of the cool morning as I wanted to go into town, something I haven’t done for a long time. I couldn’t help but notice that the majority of people were still wearing face masks. The farmer came back and turned the hay and now the grass is down I can see the Fox as he wanders across the field. We cut the grass after tea, back and front and it was surprisingly wet. A 3 year old girl has received serious injuries after being knocked over by an e-Scooter in London. Sadly, I bet there will be more incidents to come.

Thursday 22 July

It’s more than eighteen months since I rode the Coastliner Bus to Scarborough, and it is a journey I love. I called at the Nursing Home to see Joan, but the rules have changed completely, and I now have to get Paüla’s permission to see her mum and book in advance. I was disappointed not to see her, but not too worried as it meant that I had more time with Judy, and we spent a few lovely hours catching up before I (missed) the bus home. Got the next one. David told me about two of our neighbours who are in hospital, and he also needs some treatment for a mole; I hope everything goes well for them all. We still have no idea how Mick is following his stroke and discovery of a blood clot.

Friday 23 July

I was woken in the night by a fox barking; I haven’t heard that for a long time. It was cool but dry before 9am when I left York, and raining in Harrogate! Me, with no coat, expecting sunshine. I love the Turkish Baths, so peaceful and relaxing. Straight next door to the beautiful Winter Gardens which is now a Wetherspoons, and they’ve not spoilt the building either. After a quick lunch I caught the train back to York where it seemed quite chaotic; but then it’s York Races/Music Showcase and events will be going on into the evening. Coastliner bus stuck in traffic, but I managed to catch the Castle Howard bus most of the way home, and enjoyed a little walk for the rest. Paul had another successful morning at Badminton. The farmer is baling the hay, which is great news as we often see the fox cubs playing round the bales as dusk falls.

Saturday 24 July

Cooler and what a difference after the heat of last week, just in time for the school holidays. At least it’s dry – for now! The A64 was chocca with coast bound traffic and we were glad to be going the other way. Castleford was quiet and we didn’t stop for long but had a nice run back through Fairburn Ings. Fell into such a deep sleep and didn’t know where I was or what day it was when I woke. Maria is in shock following the news that her work protégé and friend Fran, suffered serious injuries after tripping and falling onto the line in a London underground station. We are all praying for her and the medical staff to help her make a full recovery. Mick has no movement in his right side and has been transferred to a Rehab unit. The Buck Moon was like a huge, orange balloon, lighting up the sky.

Sunday 25 July Paul is no better with his back and has no idea what to do about it. He took some paracetamol and got an ice pack and rested this morning. I watered the garden and cleaned out the bird bath before refilling it with nice fresh water. It was quite hot by the time we got our bikes out and went for a ride round. The streets were quiet and the roadworks on Layerthorpe have finished thank goodness. I stripped two sections of wardrobe out and sprayed for moths. It is too quiet today, no Sparrows chirping, no song birds singing and no Swallows screaming round the sky. I’m sure there are fewer each year. Watching Baptiste, but the plot is very slow to unravel. Monday 26 July School holidays. The sun was up, the roads quiet and the pool was heaving. I was a bit stiff, so it did me good to swim. Downloaded a lot of photos from my cousin's Facebook page, real gems as well. Paul saw two foxes on the field early this morning, they looked like a dog and vixen. He was off to Badminton, hopefully the stretch will do him good. To Denise’s house for our Art club, where we helped Mark put up the gazebo for Emma’s birthday party tonight. Saw Audrey and she is ok. The moles that were removed were benign. Took a pile of books round to Janet’s; I’m getting it all done today! Well now I’ve heard it all – Ministers worried about the spread of Covid through farting. That has to be a joke. Tuesday 27 July It looked cool, but actually it was quite hot out. I was out early for a hair appointment with Sue; what an improvement. We sat on the bench in the sun and talked for a while, it was so peaceful. The garden is quite overgrown, but it’s too hot to work; just water. I went to M&S after lunch to return a dress I bought on-line. It was pink and nothing like the red dress in the original picture. What a disappointment. Listening to a great series on Radio 4, Passenger List. The field is bare and none of the animals have returned so far. I miss them. And then it rained; a nice gentle, useful, overnight rain for the thirsty earth. Hopefully the deer will smell the new sweet grass and come back.

Wednesday 28 July There was a rainbow as I set off this morning for my swim. Why do Refuse men leave our bins strewn across our drives? Our drive has an awkward entrance off a junction, so I have to take evasive action as I round the corner. It’s a good job it’s a quiet neighbourhood otherwise I could get pranged quite easily. I spoke to Maria today and the sad news is that her friend and colleague died yesterday from her injuries when she fell at the underground station. Life can be so hard. RIP Fran. We had lunch in Market Weighton and came home through a thunderstorm. My washing was sodden and had to go back in the machine; I knew it was going to rain – but not that much! Thursday 29 July A cool start. I put my washing out early and kept a weather eye open for rain. Paul’s back is no better. We went off to the Library and I ordered the next book in the Bill Slider series, then I came home and made some cheese scones for Tony. I wanted to talk to say how sorry I was at the loss of his dog Pippa. Tony has finally had his operation; third time lucky. We’re on the same tablets! I listened to another episode of Passenger List as I did my ironing. It’s really good. Some of the TV adverts are so annoying and my latest trick is to use the Mute button when they are on. The fox is well camouflaged in the fading light of evening, and it was only a movement that alerted me to his presence. Julia’s friend is poorly and I think she wants to find a good home for her beloved Greyhound.

Friday 30 July It's a wet day. Took Audrey swimming and she was so happy. We’re at the mercy of the pool staff though, as the Better organisation have removed swimming from her membership profile and I’m battling to reinstate it. Paul’s back is still bad, he went to Badminton, but he didn’t play and was home early. Three deer came thundering down the field and it was clear that the first one was being chased off. I must read up more about their habits and hierarchy. Rod called at lunchtime with some fresh, organic veg from his allotment. It was really lovely to see him. We had the Runner Beans for tea, and they were very nice. It never did stop raining and the traffic on Malton Road was the worst I’ve seen in a long time.

Saturday 31 July Ian found this charming photo of a resting Hummingbird; drunk on nectar. Paul was off early for a hair cut. He went on his bike without a coat, thank goodness it didn't rain. It was Roast Beef and Yorkshire puds for lunch at the Queen Vic in Beverley, I’m not sure we’ll need any tea. It was truly delicious. We sat for a while in the Coronation gardens before coming home. I do like Beverley. It has history, charm and atmosphere. It’s also flat and the long main street has plenty of good shops, although the excellent market seems to have suffered a bit since Covid hit. There's a lot more cafes and alfresco dining these days.






































75 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


rodhildred
Aug 02, 2021

If I appear to be walking funny don't worry, I am having trouble with my 'exhaust' protection

Like
bottom of page