top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

September 2022 - The End of An Era

Thursday 1 September A gaggle of geese flew over this morning as I went for my swim, which made it feel quite autumnal. At last, the water leak that I reported over a week ago is being dealt with. Water was flooding out, but because it was running down two drains it didn’t look as bad as it was. Here we go again, cyclist bashing. The proposal is that we have number plates, insurance and a speed limit of 20mph. Well according to the mileage indicator on Stockton Lane the most I’ve ever achieved is 11mph so I’m safe. The Chinese have rejected a report that Uyghurs Moslems are being tortured, but it is a serious accusation with plenty of evidence. Concern is growing for the lack of action by Police following 999 calls. Youngsters in Chorley are being attacked by gangs of girls who film themselves, and then post it on social media. The police say they are taking it seriously, but the parents have had enough and are protesting. Charlbi Dean has died at the age of 32. It is sad to think that such a beautiful woman, who was just finding fame as an actress, should die so young. RIP Charlbi. We drove up to Thirsk for lunch. It was a lovely day, and the town was crowded, but we managed to find a quiet old pub serving food. We passed a field full of Sunflowers on the drive home, what a gorgeous sight. We also passed a road traffic accident on the by-pass. Not such a good sight. Now the night sky doesn’t have so much light pollution, you can actually see the stars. Tons of them. Friday 2 September It was a damp misty start, but by the time I had left the pool the sun was shining nicely. Oh joy, Vegan activists are planning to disrupt milk supplies so that land used for cattle can be allocated for plants to feed us. As if life isn’t tough enough already! I don’t get it; the UK is still sending aid monies to India, and yet they have just launched a new Aircraft Carrier. We gave India Independence 75 years ago, so why are we still financing the country? Serena Williams has retired after 27 remarkable years as a professional tennis player. We will miss her style and competitiveness and I for one wish her well in the future. It wasn’t a day for doing a great deal. We did our weekly supermarket shop and then I went for a walk. I cycle and swim, but I don’t really walk, so I started with a trip round the block. Fingers crossed that I can keep it up. I can’t remember the last time we saw the A64 by-pass so congested, but the tail back went way passed the Stockton Lane bridge. We popped out to the Walnut Tree for a drink before tea and bumped into Daphne and Malcolm which was a very enjoyable surprise. Have I Got News for You dedicated the show to a farewell to Boris which was brilliant. I know Paul Merton is supposed to be the comedian, but there’s no-one funnier than Ian Hislop when he gets started. John has fractured his pelvis in a fall from a ladder! Ouch, that must be painful.

Saturday 3 September I was in a really deep sleep and in no hurry to get up, but I eventually shook myself out and did my exercises. It’s a lot cooler and the garage roof is wet so there must have been some rain during the night. The season is definitely fading into autumn. The Data Protection and Digital Information Bill 2022-23 is set to have its second reading in the House of Commons on 5 September. Apart from streamlining the Data Projection Regulation it also means that fines for nuisance calls and texts will rise to an eye watering level. Good. The parents of little Olivia have asked that people wear pink to her funeral. There’s going to be an ocean of it amongst the tears. RIP sweet child. I love the photo of Octopus hanging out to dry that Maria sent from Antiparos. All indicators are that the Perfect Prefect will be our new Prime Minister; I haven’t heard Rishi Sunak’s name mentioned for days. We had a picnic in The Ashes Park in Howden; there’s loads of space and it is very safe and peaceful. The clouds began to get heavier, which was our cue to have a walk and then head for the car. The ride home was showery until we got close to York then there was a heavy downpour. We had to turn back in Hopgrove Lane as Stockton Lane was closed and it transpired that the burst water main that I had tried to report had collapsed and caused a sinkhole and a flood. Sunday 4 September There was a showery start to the day, but not cold. I want to get my washing dry, but I can’t object to the rain, we desperately need it. Strange things are happening at the BBC, with famous names leaving, and I think some are going before they are pushed. It’s frightening to see the list of what people are paid, with Gary Lineker the highest at a million pounds a year. Even our MPs and Prime Minister don’t get anywhere near their earnings! I got my washing out then we cycled over to Sainsbury’s at Monks Cross. It was really pleasant out and very busy on the roads. I couldn’t help but notice another burst water main which I know I will have to report tomorrow. This is going on to the Stray and you can see the pavement is collapsing and water pouring out of the ground. There are several such incidences round the city which must have been caused by the drought drying the clay in the soil. I seem to spend a lot of time chucking great clog wearing spiders out of the window. Ironing done; I cooked a nice curry for tea. Monday 5 September After last night's torrential rain came a beautiful fresh and sunny morning. The pool was wonderfully quiet, and I enjoyed a peaceful swim before tootling home for breakfast. As we drove past I saw that the burst water main on Malton Road had obviously been reported and the footpath was closed pending repair. Mark was on radio duty to listen out for the announcement at 12.30, but it was a foregone conclusion that Perfect Prefect Truss would take the role of next PM. A lively discussion ensued on this folly, but the world carries on turning and Daisy was more interested in her lunch and spotting the mouse that lives under the bush. Several Russian oligarchs have died recently in mysterious circumstances and the feeling is that they may have been pushed. Russia and their back-room boys? The plastics pollution in the Philippines is chronic and a major exercise is ongoing to clear it and help the Mangrove forests to revive and survive. Gill and john are back walking the coastline, this time in Wales. It’s good to see Gill doing what she loves, striding out alongside John with her sticks in hand and a smile on her face. The overnight rain was heavy and welcome.

Tuesday 6 September

Downing Street was a hive of activity from a very early hour, preparing for Boris to make his exit speech and Liz Truss to make her entry. I was shocked when I saw photos of the Queen at Balmoral, she looked so frail despite the smiles. Last day for Ian and Maria in Antiparos and then off to Athens for a couple of days before heading home. What a wonderful honeymoon they are having. My laptop has been playing up, so I took it to KIT in Fishergate who soon had it fixed. I like to have an annual check-up and that is how my last laptop lasted for 10 years. We cycled up Stockton Lane to do a bit of sight seeing and I was surprised at what I saw. There were two sites of burst water mains, one outside Hagg Bridge and the second near the caravan site, then riding further on we came across the sinkhole outside Notre Abri, and yes it is a big hole, right in the middle of the road. There seems to be roadworks wherever you turn at the moment, but that just means more patches on the patchwork quilt that is York’s highway and suburban road network. Another healthy downpour to feed our parched earth and stop the clay foundations of York shifting any further.

Wednesday 7 September

A moody start to the day, but Paul put the washing out early and I’m hoping I get away with drying it before it rains. I had another bike ride up the lane hoping to take a photo of the sinkhole only to discover that the road was open, and the hole filled in. And a lovely job they’ve made of it too. By that time the washing was dry enough to iron, another job out of the way. If the mini skirt is a rejection of wartime austerity, then the current public violence must be a backlash against the rigours of lockdown. God bless Joy Milne who realised that she could detect Parkinson’s disease through smell. This has led to the development of a skin swab test which will hopefully help in early diagnosis and better treatment for the patient. Overweight smoker, Therese Coffey is the new Health Secretary! We got ready to go into town thinking that we could just catch the Coastliner, but a service was missed out and we walked to Ashley Park for the local bus. We met Rod and Joyce in the Duke of York and got a big surprise to see Joyce jumping up to greet us. I don’t know what I expected after hip surgery, but Joyce has made a wonderful recovery and says she feels great. We met up with John and Anne at Ask and enjoyed a lovely meal in good company. Rod hadn’t been in the Assembly rooms before so was very impressed with the surroundings. John was using a stick to walk; it is still not certain if anything can be done to help him with his fractured hip. I’m still not sure if it was lightning we saw as we arrived home. The sky seemed to be filled with swirls of blue and green, then it was gone in a flash.

Thursday 8 September Movement was stiff and slow, and I should like to have stayed in bed. I got soaked just going to the garage to get the car out, but I felt much better once I was in the pool. It was very quiet which suited me, and I took it steady in the slow lane. It’s wet, but I’m not complaining, we need the rain. Another crash on the A64. It’s turning into a nightmare of a road. Private Eye has called York City Council out for not providing wheelchair access to the newly refurbished Guildhall. I shouldn’t like to get the wrong side of that publication whose staff are known for rigorously fact checking and satirising anyone stupid enough to play clever sods. I’m cold and I haven’t said that for a long time. I checked on my prescription at the Chemist, but they didn’t have it. Grrr. That meant I had to chase up the surgery. Alice and I got some flowers for Sue down the road and then we I popped in to see her. We had no idea that her husband had died last Christmas, and we wanted to offer our neighbourly support. Gill and John are enjoying their walking adventure and Gill has fallen in love with Ynys y Fydlyn, a small cove on Anglesey; I must admit it does look beautiful. The day got warmer and warmer until I ended up feeling overdressed. A newsflash at 6.00pm told us what we already knew deep down, the Queen has died, and remarkably a rainbow shone over Buckingham Palace at the same time as the official announcement. R.I.P your Majesty. Long live King Charles III.

Friday 9 September

There was plenty of rain during the night, but the morning began fresh and clean. Then the damp rose, and the field was shrouded in mist. By the time I got back from the pool the sun was out again. Humberto sent us a thoughtful message of commiseration from Colombia, and I know the people of the world will be sad at the news of the Queen’s death. The Rail and Postal workers have suspended their industrial action as a mark of respect for her passing. A Russian soldier has told of how the troops in Ukraine do not want the war. They are demoralised, hungry, poorly equipped and badly led. But they are also afraid of Putin and his government. How sad to lead your people by fear. We did the supermarket shopping and just managed a bike ride before it decided to rain. The Chemist has got my prescription at long last and will have it ready for me tomorrow. Oh I do get fed up of chasing round and wondering if my next prescription will be there. I never wanted to be an old lady on medication thank you. I turned the hem of a dress up using Wondertape. It sticks to the fabric and makes it easier to sew than tacking or pins, then washes out. But what a sticky mess getting the double-sided tape to part company. King Charles greeted his subjects outside Buckingham Palace, and there was a wonderful atmosphere. I found it all very moving. He has waited so long for this moment and apart from losing his mother, it must be as joyous as he thought it would be. Ian and Maria have come to the end of their honeymoon, and they have loved every moment. Colin and Julia have celebrated their Golden Wedding. Congratulations dear friends, I can still remember your lovely wedding day. Saturday 10 September Charles has taken the oath as King, and William and Kate have been given the titles of Prince and Princess of Wales. Tributes continue to pour in from across the globe for the late Queen, all of them richly deserved. Trevor Sinclair has deleted his tweet that racism has been allowed to thrive in the UK since the 1960s. I’m fed up of these accusations. Prejudice of all kinds is inherent in humans; white against black and black against white, difference against difference. It is born out of fear, misunderstanding and jealousy and is prevalent in human society worldwide. It is a cage that should never be rattled unless you want to cause mischief. I came across a very interesting article about mental health. Sanah Ahsan believes that it has more to do with the traumatic times that we live in, which causes despair and deep unhappiness. So many bad things are happening, and we are struggling to stay on top of them. I certainly agree that the world is so full of anger that we could do with some calm and some good news for a change. I got a letter from Agneta in Sweden, they are facing the same sorts of economic problems that we have with drought and heating bills soaring. All the trees and hedgerows are laden with fruit, and I’ve never seen so many conkers before. Malton was extremely busy with a Food and Drink market. The town gets far more tourists than you might imagine. We managed to get a table at Leoni’s for lunch, and my word, it is worth its reputation.

Sunday 11 September Lots of deer and pheasants roaming the field this morning and a huge spider in the bath (he took an abseil out the window). My washing is on the line and God is in his heaven. The Queen’s coffin has been taken to St Giles’ cathedral in Edinburgh for Scottish mourners to pay their respects before being flown to London for the funeral on Monday 19th September, which has also been declared a bank holiday. World leaders will attend the funeral, except for Putin who sends his regrets. One of which is starting the war with Ukraine, especially as the Ukrainians are beginning to win back territory. If only I were a computer whizz kid and could hijack some of Putin’s billions and transfer them to Ukraine to help put their country back together. Ian and Maria are back home, now Phil and Ellie are flying off to Portugal. Happy holiday. I enjoyed a cycle ride to deliver Iris’s birthday card then down along the cycle track to the chickens so that I could post a letter at the Post Office. Then home to Paul who had made bacon butties for lunch. Yum yum. Matthew Dons had cancer of the colon and was given months to live. Following a treatment in Japan called adoptive cell transfer he is no longer in danger. What a wonderful story. I was also interested in Justice on Trial, a programme on Radio 4 which highlighted the problems the Law Courts are having with a new computer system. There were so many parallels with the Post Office fiasco, I’m surprised that it has not been flagged up before.

Monday 12 September A cool damp start with a threat of more rain to come. I took my phone to the pool with me to show Sheena the wedding photos. The Queen’s coffin has been in St Giles’ cathedral Edinburgh overnight and will be taken through the streets today accompanied by Princess Anne. Poor Charles, he is grieving for his mother and yet he has to put his best face on and attend all of the many public ceremonies. I wouldn’t want his job for all of the tea in China. There has been a request for people to stop leaving Teddy Bears and jars of Marmalade along with the flowers in the Royal Parks. It’s a silly idea anyway. Lovely Monday and Art as usual. Denise’s back is playing her up, I hope it settles down soon. It didn’t actually rain until late afternoon, but it was a humid, gloomy sort of day in the end. Phil and Ellie have arrived in Ermida in the Peneda Geres national park in Portugal. The view from their accommodation looks amazing. Norwich Council have ‘closed’ a cycle rack for the Royal period of Mourning. I wonder which bright spark thought that one up? I just caught site of the moon rising which I was pleased to see as it is a harvest moon and there has been too much cloud the last few nights. Tuesday 13 September Happy birthday dear Iris, I hope you have a lovely day. It rained overnight, but the sun was up when I set off for my swim and the grass twinkled in its golden rays. It’s definitely cooler on a morning, but the small songbirds are beginning to come back. Sasha had a cataract op yesterday and was pleased with how easy it was. I set to and blitzed the kitchen. Tiles, surfaces, paintwork and floors and by the time I had finished I was pooped. It was worth it though. Now that my eyes are sorted, I can see all sorts of marks that didn’t exist before. I was just in time to get washed and changed and pick Anita up for tea at Deans. Mahsa Amini was detained by the Morality Police in Iran for wearing her hijab too loosely. What utter rot. Women are treated as chattels and slaves, but we live in the 21st century and it should not be happening. Charles has been in Northern Ireland fulfilling his duty as King. I wouldn’t mind betting that he would like to hide away quietly for a wee while. People have started to queue outside the Palace of Wesminster to pay their last respects to the Queen. It could mean waiting for up to 12 hours, but such is the loyalty of people for their sovereign. The tv schedules are all to pot and the only programmes left are 1970/80s repeats and so-called reality tv which are so far removed from reality that it’s laughable. Lots of deer on the field today. Wednesday 14 September It was foggy at 7am so I had a lazy start. By the time I got moving the sun was out and chasing the fog away. There is something magical about looking out of the kitchen window and seeing a deer wandering past. We met Julia and Colin at Dogh for lunch, a very nice deli in Welburn not far from Castle Howard. The menu was a real surprise with a good selection and the food, when it came was wholesome and plentiful. The day got hotter as it went on, but the rain for Phil and Ellie in Portugal was torrential. The waterfall looked magnificent as it crashed and thundered down the hill. Sir Mark Rowley has been sworn in as the new Commissioner of Police. His first task is to oversee security for the Queen’s funeral, and whilst his is a baptism of fire, Perfect Prefect Truss is managing to stay out of the limelight. God knows what she is up to. We have just heard that the cap on bonuses for Senior Bank officials may be abolished which is a bit insensitive at this time of hardship. Sweden’s Prime Minister, Magdalena Andersson has resigned following a swing to the right in recent elections. The campaign has concentrated on immigration, rising gang shootings and the high cost of electricity. Pretty much like the UK then. Thursday 15 September I got my warmer jacket out to go to the pool as it is distinctly cooler on a morning now. The sun is out in Ermida so hopefully Phil and Ellie can get out for a good walk. The North Yorkshire executive council are seriously considering doubling taxes on second homeowners in a bid to stop the depopulation of villages. It should have always been so. The Ukrainians are making headway against the Russian Army as it retreats, but everyone is being very cautious as there is still the chance that this may just be a military tactic. A petition has been started for a new bank holiday on September 8th for Queen Elizabeth II Day in honour of the late Queen. For some unknown reason I was really cold and only warmed up after cycling into town to buy Euros for our holiday. Just five more days to go. A child almost died of hypothermia after her parents made her sit in an icy bath for three hours for being naughty. A taste of their own medicine would be the best sentence for both parents, along with a lengthy gaol sentence. My cleaning blitz continued, and the bathroom and toilet got a good scrub down. The queue to pay respects to our late Queen has already passed four miles and it is anticipated to stretch further, with people talking of a feeling of camaraderie amongst those waiting. Hundreds turned out to line the streets of Liverpool as the horse drawn hearse carrying little Olivia to her funeral passed by. Many wore pink as requested by Olivia’s mum. RIP little one.

Friday 16 September It was a cool autumnal morning despite the sun, and the wind whipped round our legs as we stood at the bus stop. We caught an early train to Harrogate and met Peter, who hopped on at Starbeck, then walked down through the town. Peter spotted a lorry leaving Morrison's in Harrogate. The driver must have been in a hurry and not secured his load. As he accelerated from the roundabout some milk containers shot out of the back doors. Not the sort of delivery you really want on your doorstep. Paul and Peter had breakfast and a catch-up whilst I went for a lovely session at the Turkish baths courtesy of Ian and Maria. It was still cold when I came out, but I met up with Paul and we hopped on the bus for Leeds where we had lunch. Then on to the Coastliner and back home. What a nice trip out. The queue to visit the late Queen’s lying in state has reached capacity and even David Beckham was there, having queued for 13 hours. It is all very moving. Mahsa Amini has died, and we may never know the truth of why or how, but the Morality Police know. The Germans have taken control of three Russian state owned Oil Refineries in which they have shares. This could be interesting. We say farewell to another mighty tennis champion as Roger Federer has announced his intention to retire at the end of this month. What a magnificent career he has had; I wish him well. I found an old twenty pound note in a disused purse and took it to be exchanged fast for a new plastic one. It was a nice little bonus. I love watching Gone Fishing with Bob and Paul (and Ted). Such a gentle programme with excellent camera work showing off some spectacular countryside. Saturday 17 September Salah’s birthday today, happy birthday old friend. The sun was up and shining, but that wind had a real edge to it. I keep thinking it’s Friday, but that was yesterday; I’ll get the hang of it before the end of the day. I’ve never wanted a Banking app and after hearing how easy it is for a thief in possession of your phone and card, to clear your account I don’t want one. Mass graves and tortured bodies are being found in the wake of the Russian army retreat from Ukraine. War is such a savage, ugly beast. Theresa Coffey is making a whole load of fuss about Oxford commas. Really? Wouldn’t it be better to bond with your Civil Servants instead of antagonising them. Run the department well and earn some respect, or they will be calling you fag-ash-Lill behind your back,,,,. An employee in Chile who was accidentally paid 300 times his salary has disappeared. That’s one smart cookie. The Mecca building that was formerly The Cat’s Whiskers in Fishergate has gone. Demolished to make way for more b****y student accommodation. It was a marvellous building and where Nancy and I as young Art students, danced our way down the steps and out onto the street to the sound of Marvin Gaye singing Heard It Through the Grapevine. Fred sounds better and better every time I talk to him. It’s wonderful to know that he has the freedom at last to live the life he wants. King Charles and Prince William went walkabout today amongst the people waiting in line at the Palace of Westminster. Phil and Ellie have moved up country a bit and have been walking through an old earthquake fault line.

Sunday 18 September It's Tracy’s birthday. Happy birthday sweetheart, I hope it’s a good one. There was only one deer on the field this morning and it looked so very lost and alone. It is the last day of HRH Queen Elizabeth II lying in state and the public have been asked not to go as the queue has been closed to allow all that are already there to file past. The numbers of people (a reported 250,000 plus) have been amazing and each one has paid their respects in their own way. I admire the stand of the Albanian Prime Minister who has appealed to his people to stop paying thousands to come and settle in the UK and invest that money in their own country. He is willing to back any commercial enterprise and thinks that there is more to be earned by staying at home. A dusting of snow in the Cairngorms has been reported, and I’m not surprised. It’s felt cold enough down here too. Pakistan has been experiencing devastating floods and now Taiwan has been hit by an earthquake and torrential rain. The nation observed one minute’s silence, a moment of reflection, at 8pm this evening. After a day of washing, ironing and cleaning it was an early night for me. Monday 19 September Today is the funeral of HRH Queen Elizabeth II. RIP. I put the last of the washing in before finishing off cleaning. What is it about going on holiday that makes us go dashing round making sure everything is spic and span. A burglar wouldn’t care what state the house is in! The islands of Japan have been hit by typhoon Nanmadol which brought ferocious winds and record rainfall. People have been instructed to evacuate but I’m not sure I would dare leave the house. We have been asked not to cycle today as it would be disrespectful. Um, in what universe? The Queen won’t mind. It was quite eerie out, just like when we were in the grip of Covid. The biggest noticeable thing about today was how quiet it was, in fact you could be forgiven for thinking you had suddenly gone deaf. But it was a good quiet, peaceful as if the whole world was paying its respects. I am impressed at how dignified Charles was throughout this difficult day. The service and pageantry wasn’t just for the Queen, but for his mum and most people would have found it hard to hold it together. The funeral was attended by national leaders from all around the world, but it was nice to note that ordinary people had also been invited. Putin had said that he would be too busy but then was outraged when he didn’t get an invitation. The important thing is that the route from Westminster Hall to the Abbey, then onwards and at Windsor was lined with the public from every walk of life and from many countries around the world, all wanting to say their own goodbyes. And for those of us unable to join the throng, tv sets and big screens were tuned in watched by millions. Tuesday 20 September Ah, back in the pool, but goodness knows what the future holds as the rising cost of fuel digs in. There is talk of many closures and I’m praying that Yearsley doesn’t. The inquest into the death of Molly Russell begins today. Another teenage victim of rubbish on the internet about self-harm and suicide. I wish her father every success in his campaign to make internet giants far more responsible for the content on their sites. There has been another cruise ship in trouble in Italy (shades of the Costa Concordia). This time the ship broke from its moorings and drifted out into the port, still laden with passengers. Fortunately, the Port Authorities realised what had happened and swift action was taken to re-dock the boat. Just a few last jobs to do then it’s time to get packed and organised for our early flight tomorrow. It’s such a long time since we had a foreign holiday and we are really looking forward to it, although as I get older I find that I hate the palaver of going to the airport, the check-in and security. I just want to close my eyes and wake up on a nice sunny beach.

Wed 21 September 2am is not a time that anybody should have to get up, and I didn't really sleep anyway. Fortunately, Paul did, and we set off for Leeds/Bradford airport in good time. We had stressed after all the airport horror stories but met no problems. We arrived just after 3.30am and by 4.30am we were sitting drinking tea having checked in and been through security. We boarded and set off promptly, and after a few zzzzzzs on the plane we had landed. The Hotel Magnolia in Salou is very good, modern, clean with peaceful rooms and such a big comfortable bed. We met Pam and Chris, a lovely Scottish couple who had been on the same flight and were the only other people to stay at the Magnolia off our transfer coach. Phil and Ellie are back in UK after their holiday in Portugal, and Daphne and Malc have arrived there. I'm sure there are lots of things going on in the world, but I'm on holiday and I don't care for once!

Thursday 22 September

I slept right through until 7.30am and Paul even later. The hotel has a good breakfast buffet, with plenty of choice. We sat on our balcony and read for a while, then had a nice long walk along the beach, paddling in the warm sea as we went. It's easy to get a nice snack and a drink. The hotel pool is lovely, just a nice size for a lazy swim. I walked round and round and eventually found the bike hire place. Google maps had me going round in circles, but I asked a local with the aid of Google translate and it was easy. On the plus side I found a couple of nice small restaurants to eat in as I went. Back in the UK, the Coastliner is dropping the City Zap service in November which will be a blow to many commuters from York to Leeds. Phil is in London as an expert helping supervise the annual charity abseil at St Thomas's hospital. Hilary Mantel has died; what a sad day. Of all her wonderful works, I think her depiction of the life of Thomas Cromwell in the Wolf Hall trilogy were absolute masterpieces. What a great loss to literature. RIP Hilary. It's London fashion week. I will never understand why the models have to look so miserable, I would adore showing off posh frocks. Perhaps it's those stupid high heels they have to wear, crippling their feet. Joe Hardaker has cut our garden hedge at home and sent photos. What a fabulous job he has done, he gets my recommendation any day.

Friday 23 September

It's easy to sleep here. So peaceful and the bed is huge and very comfortable. After a nice sunny start the clouds came over, then there was a strange noise. Oh, rain! We chanced it once the sky brightened and hired a couple of bikes. It was great to see the coastline; we cycled down to the small harbour then all the way back to the other end, just managing to find shelter from another downpour. There was a games room on the strip, so we had a couple of games of Pool and once again we were well sheltered during a very heavy shower. The new Chancellor delivered a very controversial budget today. It looks to me like the rich are set to get richer and the poor left to struggle which is quite obviously their own faults for not having enough money! I wonder how long Perfect Prefect Truss will last with that attitude? It is quite shocking to see the mess and fear Putin has created in Russia. Whilst some of the population are running away rather than be called up to fight, others are protesting and in danger of being arrested. I don't think Putin understands that no one wants his war. The storm, when it finally broke was relentless and we were shocked to see from our window that there was no longer a road outside, but a swiftly running river. Thunder, lightning and then the lights went out. Rainwater poured into the reception from the road and through the light fittings of the games room. It all lasted about 3 to 4 hours and we did not dare venture out. Our evening meal was a few crisps, an apple and a chocolate peanut cup each, washed down with the dregs of a bottle of coca cola.

Saturday 24 September

Last night's storm left everything cool and dull. The hotel staff had done an amazing job of cleaning up but there were little signs of damage here and there. Daphne says it is baking hot in Portugal and even Gill and John had lovely weather in Wales for their wedding anniversary. Oh well, it's only a day in a life and tomorrow the sun will shine. We sat and read for a while before going out for a nice walk and some fresh air. It's still trying to rain, but a lot warmer and the mountain tops are clear. After a good lunch Paul trounced me at Pool, twice! I'm losing my touch. Scan results for our lovely sister in law Anne shows the lung cancer tumours shrinking, but now there is a new one in her spine. It must be hard to stay positive some days. We had a walk out before tea to find a post box, then on to a nice restaurant for paella. It was a lovely evening when we set out, but another storm hit just as we decided to head back to the hotel. Fortunately, we only had 100 yards to go, but once again everything was flooded, and I had to roll up my trousers legs right up before I crossed the road to save them from getting wet. We got soaked. Rodger Federer said a very emotional farewell to Tennis and his adoring fans. I had no idea that Whitby had an annual Fish and Chips Festival, but they do, and a great time is had by all.

Sunday 25 September

The sun is out at last, but there's a cool breeze starting the day. It should warm up soon. Is it the Labour Party conference? I really don't care, we had a lovely, lazy day. After sitting and reading for an hour or so, we went down to the pool and laid out in the sun. After a short swim and some more lazing around we went upstairs to change and read for a while. We finally went for a walk and a paddle, stopping for a drink and ice cream on the way. It was lovely catching the last rays of sunshine on our balcony. The esplanade is really rather beautiful, lined as it is with hundreds of Palm trees, and everything is very clean. The mountains behind gave a lovely backdrop to the setting sun. Disappointingly we've not found any good Spanish places to eat, it is all quite English holidaymaker abroad grub. We went in an English pub for a giggle and were quite average in the pub quiz.

Monday 26 September

Sunshine again, but the breeze is there, making things cool out of the sun. We had a leisurely start then went round to the bike hire place. We didn't have anything in mind, but before we knew it we had ridden all the way down the coastline to Cambrils. There was a really good bike path running alongside the beach which was fairly flat, so not much effort was required. The scenery was lovely, with the sea shimmering in the sun on one side and the mountains in the distance. The Swallows skimmed across the water and the sun shone. The more I hear about the budget, or should I say 'fiscal event ' the more alarmed I become at the future prospects of the UK. We had a nice relax by the pool before going out for a meal then back to the hotel. The games room had been closed due to storm damage, but it was up and running so we had a couple of games of Pool to celebrate. Just as we were winding up Pam and Chris appeared. It was Pam's birthday and they had been out for a late stroll. It would have been dad’s birthday today. He died in June, but his three bedroomed maisonette is still empty, and I thought that the council were desperate for suitable family accommodation.

Tuesday 27 September

Sunshine again and the breeze was forecast to get stronger, but we decided to ignore it and get the bikes. We found a nice, sheltered spot on the beach halfway between Salou and Cambrils. The sea was not as warm as I thought it would be, but there was hardly anyone about and we both had a good swim. The shoreline undertow was very strong, and it took me several attempts before I could get out of the sea. My phone rang just as I was holding the towel for Paul to change out of his swimmies; needless to say, I didn't answer it! We popped over the main road and had a late lunch in an Irish pub, jolly good value, then rode back with the wind behind us. Gill and John have completed their walk of the Anglesey Coastal Path. Well done. Maureen P posted some great photos of Ghosts In the Gardens, we will have to have a look when we get home. We met up with Pam and Chris for a coffee (their wedding anniversary this time) then went back to pack and be ready for the morning.

Wednesday 28 September

Up at 7, but there was plenty of time for breakfast before our pick-up. Pam read the departure time wrong and had been ready a whole hour early! After all of the horror stories of the summer I was dreading the airport, but there were no delays coming or going, and nothing could have been easier. We didn’t need to produce our Covid passes and the only people we had seen wearing masks were on the local buses. Concerns for Covid seem to be diminishing everywhere, daily. I love looking out of the window at the best of times and being on a plane is just wonderful. Looking down through the different layers of cloud, some like cotton wool, or a bowl of whisked egg whites, and others that drift in thin veils. I saw several rainbow arcs and one or two sun dogs. Then there is the earth below when the clouds part, with miniscule houses and dots that travel along long wiggly lines. Even ants would be giants from that perspective. We said our farewells to Pam and Chris at the airport and hopefully we will meet up again soon. Then it was off to our little car, up the A64 to Thompsons for fish and chips. What a treat. Back home we gasped in delight at the first real sight of the hedge that Joe trimmed back, got unpacked and settled in for the evening.

Thursday 29 September I’ve only been away a week, but I can see the difference in the morning light already. Thursday is always a quiet day for a swim, and I really enjoyed it. We didn’t have any food in the house, so the next stop was the supermarket. Demonstrations continue following the death of Mahsa Amini, who died whilst in the custody of the Modesty Guards who arrested her for wearing her hijab to loosely. It’s no good President Raisi condemning the protesters, he should try listening to what they have to say and do something about it. We spent the rest of the day quietly shoehorning ourselves back into the swing of things. It’s much colder, but then it was only yesterday that we were in Spain and it was 24 degrees. It’s good to see the deer out on the field, and the little flock of Long Tailed Tits twittering past. Friday 30 September A misty start, and chilly with it. I was surprised at how quiet the pool was this morning, but it made for a nice peaceful swim. I’ve been wondering where Helen the lifeguard has got to, and Gail explained that she has left and gone to Burnholme Gym. I miss her jolly, bubbly presence. We set off for the eye clinic in Leeds in good time; it was my final, post-op appointment and all was well. I’ve been impressed by the New Medica clinic; there is a nice atmosphere, and the staff are all very friendly and professional. It started to rain as we drove home, and it was quite obviously set in for the day. Hurricane Ian is causing havoc and misery in Florida where a storm surge lifted boats into buildings and left sharks and alligators swimming in the streets. Perfect Prefect Truss is living up to her reputation of the ‘human hand grenade’ as the pound plummets and the Tory party splits under her leadership. The Tory party conference next week should be interesting. Daphne and Malcolm are on their way home from Portugal, where Malc found it a bit too hot. They’ll wish they were back there when they see the rain and feel the cold. In true Bond villain style, Putin has annexed four areas of Ukraine which means that if the Ukrainians fight back, they become the aggressors. I really loathe and despise that man with a vengeance. As we continue to suffer the increasing cost of energy, the Nord stream pipeline is still leaking gas into the sea. I sometimes think that nobody in high office in the world has the political will to care. It has also just been pointed out that the price cap of £2,500.00 for energy is not actually each household's limit, but an average. The public have been misled and the individual cost could be far higher. Now people are saying that we should have had Rishi Sunak as PM. Well, I thought that all along.


Here are just a few of the wonderful things that people have done to show their regard for our late Queen.






51 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 комментария


ian.parkin
09 окт. 2022 г.

I love the yarn bombing clips!

Лайк
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
09 окт. 2022 г.
Ответ пользователю

There were some really good ones, it was difficult to choose. Some people are very talented

Лайк

johnandgillramsden
04 окт. 2022 г.

Another thorough & informative summary of an eventful month; for you personally, for friends & family & the world. The Royalists amongst us - mostly of a certain age, i.e. for whom the Queen has been there our entire lives, really felt the loss. Long live the King. Glad you managed a good holiday abroad - pity about the heavy rain - what an experience, but you soldiered the storm! (You are always ’Glass half full’! - I’d have panicked on empty!) I concur re Richie! Gill x

Лайк
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
04 окт. 2022 г.
Ответ пользователю

Thanks Gill, and thank you also for your contribution. Take care, Hx

Лайк
bottom of page