top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

October - seven months later and it's not going away

Updated: Nov 3, 2020


Thursday 1 October

Oh what a day. The sun shone and the birds sang as we dressed in our finery for the wedding. I went with Sasha and Maria to the house whilst Phil, Ian and Paul got ready at the Black Swan. Tom and Sooz arrived to take photos, followed by Howard and then the vintage Wolseley all done up with white ribbon and looking so stylish. Sasha and I waved Ellie, Marie and Howard off and suddenly we were on our way too, bowling down the road to Bakewell. It was a good job it wasn’t wet or cold as we had a fifteen minute wait on the doorstep of the Town Hall during which time the car arrived and we made Phil face the wall so that he couldn’t see Ellie. Once we were in, Ian set up the laptop so that others could join the ceremony on line. Ellie, Howard and Maria entered the room to the gentle strains of Chopin’s Romance piano concerto and we all took our seats. Phil and Ellie at the front with the Registrar, we six socially distanced in a huge room like peas on a drum. After a brief, but sweet ceremony we crowded outside the doors with loads more friends and relatives whilst Tom took more photos, then it was off to the River bank for a more scenic backdrop. Phil looked very smart and Ellie was beautiful and so serene; Tom must have some wonderful pictures because they made a very handsome couple. Back into Belper where ten of us sat down to a lovely meal cooked by Neil from the Black Swan. Tracy and Sasha had done a wonderful job of decorating the hall with flowers and once again, James was a fabulous waiter. We ate, the speeches were made, the cake was cut and more photos taken. People came in and out so that numbers were kept to the right limit but everything was very relaxed and enjoyable. Their wedding gave us so much joy and happiness, I hope their lives will be the same.

Friday 2 October I can’t believe it’s all over. We pinched the sun yesterday and today was dull and overcast. Phil and Ellie came down to the pub and we all had bacon rolls and generally reminisced on a wonderful day. Their cat Bee knew something was happening and thoughtfully brought them a gift. A squirrel no less, dead, but without a mark on it. We packed and put our stuff in the car before joining everyone back at the hall to clear up: only it had been done! Not a sign, not a flower, not a crumb. The journey back home was uneventful, but we were high on happiness and the joy of being able to celebrate something wonderful at last. The views and the scenery around Belper and Bakewell are spectacular, but I was pleased to get back to my six deer gently grazing on the field. Ian and Maria spent a bit more time in Belper with Phil and Ellie before returning home and giving Gracie the Pig’s Ear that I sent. Yum, yum! Gill and John are still in St Ives and the weather has been appalling. They said their caravan was rocking in the wind, which I found rather scary. Hope they’re ok. I’ve just finished reading The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris. What a story, what a man. So positive in the face of so much human degradation, you have to admire that kind of spirit. Saturday 3 October Happy birthday Ann, have a lovely day. Hope you get to Thompson’s for your tea. Six deer laying down on the field in the rain and as the forecast was for wet and windy we got up and went straight to the supermarket. It never actually came to anything, but it was good to get the shopping out of the way. We made ourselves comfortable and read a lot. Paul wanted to see the British Superbikes, but sadly most of it was cancelled due to bad weather at Donnington Park. There’s always tomorrow. TV really is rubbish at the moment. Old Donald Trump and his wife Melania have got the C – virus. This should be interesting. Boris has managed another extension in the Brexit trade talks. That might be interesting too. Nice to finally talk to Fred properly, our weekly phone calls have been a bit hit and miss lately. So pleased he saw the wedding on-line.

Sunday 4 October Bright blue sky and a lovely morning. We got on our bikes as the sky started to cloud over, but we were fine and enjoyed a good ride down the bike track. My knee didn’t slow me down too much, in fact it may have helped but I gave it a good massage later anyway. The weather was good in Donnington, so Paul managed to see the British Super Bikes racing today. It was a nice day despite the forecast and we could have gone somewhere. Dear old Donald, he doesn’t lie down easily; out in his bullet-proof car waving at people when he should be in hospital. Such good entertainment value. Phil and Ellie have made it to Gretna Green for an over night stay, before crossing to the Isle of Arran for their honeymoon. Bee brought them another gift before they set off; a live Coal tit that got behind the kitchen units. Thankfully they managed to set it free. I’m reading The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd again. It is such a good story and very appropriate for Black History Month. Monday 5 October Lovely morning. Two deer on the field. The pool was relatively quiet and I managed a nice catch up with Daphne whilst I gave my knee some hydro-therapy by the water outlet. Art and my turn for lunch so I nipped into M&S on the way, don’t want to miss Mark’s grandad chips. Daisy was very good today, but then there weren’t many squirrels to bark at. She was exhausted and zonked out when we she got home. Paul was out for a bike ride when I got back, you have to make the most of the weather whilst it lasts. Mastermind is back, but without the audience and socially distanced contestants. A little weird but it was a good start. Watched Ghosts, so original and funny, and of course The Repair Shop. So many wonderful skills being slowly lost.

Tuesday 6 October A bright start to the day. No sign of the deer, but then I spotted the tell-tale spikes. They were all laid down in the wet grass and all you could see were six pairs of ears. I was rejoicing yesterday that my knee was so much better, but I must have overdone it between the swimming and cycling over to Denise’s. It was agony all night and like a balloon this morning. Not in favour of this getting old lark. I slapped on the Ibuprofen gel, stabbed it with the Pain Gone pen and chilled it with an ice pack. Cruel, but it eased noticeably. We drove over to Selby after lunch, there had obviously been quite a bit of rain, but the sun came out for us and we had a coffee and did a bit of shopping under a blue sky. By the time we got home it was pouring down. The lights were out at the big roundabout and everyone was sitting in their cars looking dateless. Our lane was free so Paul drove straight round and that prompted them all in to action. Ellie and Phil sent some footage of a Red Squirrel, very rare; I’ve only ever seen two. Squirrels seem to be the theme this month! The match between Rafael Nadal and Jannik Sinner went on until very late which meant that Paul was unable to watch the scheduled World Super Bikes programme on ITV4.

Wednesday 7 October

Awake most of the night with pains and numbness in my hand.I managed to contact the surgery before my swim and ended up with an appointment to see a real live GP. Glad I did as he diagnosed my knee and my hand as the start of Osteo -Arthritis not Pseudo-gout and Carpel Tunnel. I feel much better for knowing and can deal with it now. Did two loads of washing and got them both dry before we set off for the library and to John and Anne. We took them Phil and Ellie’s wedding goodie bag and discovered that it was their 53rd Wedding Anniversary, how about that and we didn’t realise. We decided to leave the library until tomorrow as we ended up staying for quite a while. Rang Dad, he’s ok but he does overdo it some days. The sun highlighted the changing colours of the season as we tumble into autumn. It brings out the rich yellows, golds, reds and bronze in the leaves; the trees putting on a grand display before they disrobe for winter.

Thursday 8 October

My hand was really bad in the night so I got up and gave it a thorough massage and slept soundly after that. A little bit of osteoarthritis is not going to stop me! It was a cool damp morning and as the doctor has approved swimming and cycling to keep the knee muscles strong and healthy we hopped on our bikes and went to the library. Beautiful new building but soulless and sod all to read. We continued down the bike track to Home Bargains for some more Ibuprofen gel before posting Molly’s birthday card at the post office and then it was home for lunch. We passed the chickens on the way, I swear they have doubled in number, but lovely to see. The sun came out after lunch and lit the sky, shining on the deer all gently grazing on the field. More photos from Arran and the weather looks to be ok. I can’t help but wonder where these lock-downs are getting us. Can’t we just get on with our lives? Listened to a radio play whilst I ironed. At the end I thought, what a boring, pointless story that was! By the time I went to bed my joints had become so stiff I could just climb the stairs. Friday 9 October I woke to see rosy tentacles filtering through the curtains, what a glorious sunrise, but by the time I left the pool it had clouded over. I felt heaps better for taking it easy and swimming in the slow lane. Hilary was at the pool today, she said her daughter and partner had run the Virtual London Marathon and in good time. Congratulations, hope you are successful in being selected for the real one next year. It’s great to see people doing things and not letting the C – virus completely dominate their lives. Listened to Samantha Morton on Desert Island Discs. What an amazing story she had to tell, and she has triumphed over her unfortunate start in life. We cycled down to Fishergate after lunch and bought some Camargue rice from Alligator. It’s not easy to find but it adds a nice nutty taste to rice dishes. I had a nice treat as Paul made a lovely Shepherd’s pie for tea. Watched Have I Got News For You and can’t help but think that Paul Merton is looking really old. Stiff joints again, but not as bad as last night.

Saturday 10 October Happy Birthday Molly, 7 today. Hope you have lots of fun. There seems to be a regular pod of six Roe deer on the field now. One has antlers so maybe this is his group. We thought we would go out for a drive and a spot of lunch but there are so few options now because of the C – virus. We daren’t risk Harrogate, Leeds or Knaresborough, and the A64 was closed after Malton. The forecast was iffy so we headed west to Castleford, which was showery but at least we got something to eat. The trees are looking amazing now, especially when the sun shines on them. Saw two Egrets as we drove back via Cawood! Had a lovely long chat with Auntie Olive, it’s good to catch up with the family. Gill and John are still walking the Cornish coastal route. Yesterday they saw Hell's Mouth and Sally's Bottom whilst on their way from Godrevy Lighthouse to Porthowan.

Sunday 11 October Lovely autumnal morning, the sky is blue and the deer gently grazing. Got my washing out and it was blowing nicely. Plenty of fallen leaves now, I love the noise they make as they skitter across the ground. I could hear a Buzzard keening but didn’t spot it until later in the day when it circled quite low. A Hoopoe has been spotted in York! Wow, that must have been quite a sight; I’ve only ever seen a couple of them, one in Spain and one in Egypt. Unusual looking birds, with a call that sounds like 'hoo hoo hoo, and definitely not from round here. Paul has put some fat balls out for the birds but they’ve not spotted them yet. Hope they get to them before the rats this year. Monday 12 October There was just a strip of pink from the rising sun before it turned dull and by the time I’d left the pool it was looking like rain. In fact it rained for most of the day. The deer were sat down in it, ooh chilly wet bums. Went to Denise’s in the car to rest my knee as much as anything else. We’re all fearful of another comprehensive lockdown which will mean we will have to knock our art sessions on the head for a while. It’s all so depressing. Daisy sat sentinel watching for squirrels whilst Mark made us lunch with his beautiful grandad chips. I sat and read when I got home, or rather dozed after the dreadful night’s sleep. Who Do You Think You Are is back on tv. Jodie Whittaker was first and she went to Netley Abbey Hospital. where her great Uncle had worked for a time in the First World War. My grandmother also worked there during the war and it is where she met my grandfather. Tuesday 13 October My knee wasn’t too bad last night, but it was my hand that kept me awake. It’s a dreary, damp morning so it was nice to see the deer up near the hedge. They really lift the spirits. It seems that York will not be clamped down immediately under the new measures, although there have now been three deaths at the hospital. It’s amazing that a wee flu bug, a virus can hold the whole world to ransom. Paul went into town to meet up with Colin for a walk by the river and over into Rowntree Park. The clouds lifted after lunch which was a mood changer. I polished and hoovered and just finished when he returned home. Gracie has been with Ian and Maria for two years now, she must be the happiest dog on the planet. Wednesday 14 October It was a damp night and the mist was rising off the field as I set off for my swim. I collected Audrey, it’s her first time since lockdown began in March and she was so happy to be back in the water. People were really pleased to see her as well. She’s in her eighties and still swimming in Yearsley Pool. Hilary has kindly offered to get a face shield for Audrey and she’s chuffed to bits. We drove to Temple Newsam and met up with Rod and Joyce for a nice meander. The parkland is so vast and beautiful and it was a lovely morning. We were able to get a very tasty burger made with their own beef produced on the farm. Whilst we were eating, Rod spotted a Sunflower growing up on high out of the guttering. Dad rarely sees anybody to talk to and is certainly a lot more cheerful now that I’m ringing him on the days when Fred doesn’t visit.

Thursday 15 October Nice start to the day, but it’s chilly despite the sunshine. My knee ached all night but eased off as soon as I got up and dressed! Helen and Paul were already seated at Deans by the time we arrived and unfortunately they had sat us in a draught, but Helen knew somebody and asked if the door could be shut. That aside, it was lovely to see them and Helen had a look through the wedding photos that she’d not seen. We timed it well as later in the day we discovered that York has gone to Tier two of lockdown which means that from Saturday we won’t be meeting anyone for a while. Hope it ends soon. Paul went for a bike ride, but I stayed at home to read and rest my knee. This Tendonitis is not going to go away easily. Put a tray of peppers, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and new potatoes in the oven to roast down for tea. Television is enough to send you to sleep at the moment. We had a sad little notice about three cats missing from Osbaldwick. It sounds like they’ve been nabbed but who would steal a family pet? Friday 16 October I really enjoyed my swim this morning, maybe next week I’ll add some lengths. Popped round to Audrey’s to show her the wedding photos on my phone before Tier 2 comes in to force. It didn’t look much of a day but by the time we had left the supermarket the sun was out, then it got warmer and sunnier. Paul washed the car, I did some gardening and hey, my knee doesn’t hurt! I put a small announcement in the York Press with a photo for Phil and Ellie’s wedding. Hopefully people will leave a nice message, and maybe some of his old friends will see it too. At last the birds have realised that we have put the fat balls out and they’ve been swinging on the cages all day, then flying off to the bird bath for a drink. I wish I could identify birdsong because one sings so beautifully every day; I can’t see it, I just hear it and I’d love to know what it is. Saturday 17 October It was a painful, restless night and I was glad to get up. I did some washing and the sun rewarded me by flooding through the clouds as I was pegging it out. We drove to Northallerton just for a change, it’s a very pleasant town. They closed the main street to traffic and put the market stalls out into the road, thus making the pavements wider and easier to pass. Don’t know why they didn’t do it years ago, it’s much better. We had lunch in our favourite café down a side alley. The food is homemade and piping hot. Delicious. First night of Strictly last night. It’s all a bit weird with the restrictions, but the production team have done a fabulous job all the same. Sunday 18 October Sleepless in York sums it up. It wasn’t just my knee, I was wide awake. I opened the window and got a shock at how cold it was, but soon forgot it when I saw the deer gently grazing and the birds swarming round the bird feeders. I know we are lucky having this view and so much peace and quiet. It’s that hot air balloon time of year, bet it’s jolly cold up there. I managed to do my ironing, wash the kitchen floor and plant some bulbs today. I should have liked to have gone for a cycle ride with Paul, but my knee isn’t ready for that yet. There have been protests in France over the beheading of a teacher by a Muslim fanatic. It can’t be right for a religion to teach people to kill like this. Uncle Ham used to say that the wrong people had hijacked his faith and brought it in to disrepute. He would have hated all of this. Monday 19 October I saw a lovely sunrise as I set off for my swim. Hilary had brought the Face Shield to the pool for Audrey so I dropped it off on my way home. Audrey was delighted, but also sad that she can’t go swimming again because of the Tier Two status. So fed up with my knee, I tried Voltarol for a change and was pleasantly surprised. Sorted out lots of photos when I got back. Paul nipped into town on his bike and was back in time for Colin, the Plumber to service the boiler. I should have gone to Denise’s house for Art, but this flu bug has put paid to that for now. It will be reviewed in 14 days, can’t wait. I’m missing Denise and Moira and Daisy and Mark and his delicious chips! I was good though, I did do some painting after setting up the ironing board to use as a table.

Tuesday 20 October Beautiful morning after the overnight rain. I had plans to do all sorts, but Colin is taking Jo to get her new car, so he and Paul will not be out today. Paul thought we’d go for a ride out and I’m easily persuaded. My aching joints may be down to an excess of iron in the blood stream, so I’ve reviewed my diet and got my fingers crossed. We got in the car and drove off to Filey and it was lovely. Bright blue sky and a gentle breeze. It was surprisingly busy and it took us a while to get parked so by the time we got to the Chippy we were quite hungry. Slept on the way home. My cousin Brian sent some lovely photos of his family and Auntie Olive which I have added to the family album. My left hand is showing signs of tendonitis now.

Wednesday 21 October What a night, my knee wasn’t too bad but my hand felt like I’d been stabbed with a garden fork, so I got minimal sleep. I wasn’t sure if I could drive to the pool, but I felt in need of some hydro-therapy so I took it steady and it was ok. Spoke to a doctor just before lunch and I can have some more strong anti-inflamatories. The birds are all over the bird feeders now, they are a joy to watch. Not just Sparrows either, although I do love them, but plenty of

Blue-tits and Robins around. Three deer came careering down the field, chasing round and round. At first I thought they’d been spooked, but then they set off back where they came from before settling down to grazing. After a dull wet day there was a sudden break in the clouds and the sun shone, lighting up the field and turning it golden. It quite took my breath away. Glorious sunset.

Thursday 22 October Happy birthday to Ellie’s grandad, 92 today and the little wedding cake doubled as a birthday cake. Took some pain killers and ibuprofen before bed and slept most of the night and most of today too. My hand is still five sausages on a stick and Paul had to help me dress. He put the washing out, made lunch, took me to the shops and picked up my prescription. I know how lucky I am. I managed to iron, but I couldn’t fasten any buttons. I thought I was right-handed, but you need both hands together. Got another nail in one of the car tyres and this one will have to be replaced as the nail is too near the rim to repair. I wish workmen would take more care of their tools. Dad sounded ok, but I’m still trying to persuade him to eat more as he is always saying he feels hungry. Got my first Christmas present and card today from Hayam who is going to Egypt for a while. I promise not to open, shake or prod it before the day. Despite everything, it’s been a lovely day. Friday 23 October Happy wedding anniversary to us and happy birthday to Daphne, we will have a lovely day. I nearly slept in and was a minute late for my swim, but the staff at Yearsley are wonderful and nothing was said. I’ve still got sausage fingers and my knees are painful, but I’m hopeful I can beat this thing. Paul took the car for a new tyre, the annoying thing is it’s the newest tyre on the car that we’re having to replace. My cousin Russ sent me some wonderful photos of his dad, John. The family album is growing. Despite the dull day, the colours of the leaves on the trees were so bright they lit up the roadside.

Saturday 24 October Well if a flu bug can stop the world, then it’s reasonable that a bit of arthritis can stop me. It’s the pain I can’t get over, it always comes at night so you’re left exhausted. Nothing was done today, simply nothing. It rained, Paul fed the birds and they were all over the feeders. Lovely to watch. We read a lot. I’m trying gentle exercises and I’m pleased at what I can do. The world was ranting on around me and I didn’t care. Wish I was in Egypt with Hayam. Gill and John are staying in Cornwall few more days, they’ve reached The Rumps near Polzeath and tomorrow hope to make it to Port Isaac. Fred wants to pay for me to see a Physio privately and I am grateful for the offer. Strictly tonight and I don’t miss Bruno for one second. Clocks go back one hour as British Summer Time ends.

Sunday 25 October I managed my sleep last night. Got up and massaged my knees each time they became too painful and that gave me relief for a couple of hour’s sleep, and with the extra hour all in all it was a good night. Beautiful day after the rain of yesterday, the washing is blowing in the breeze, god's in his heaven and all's well with the world. I felt a twinge of sadness seeing Paul go off on his bike ride without me, but I’m not ready for it yet although I can feel a subtle change, an easing like a very slow thaw. Put on a nice pair of trousers and realised that my left hand is still too numb to fasten the button. We drove up to Pocklington Canal for a walk after lunch. The sky had some lovely cloud formations and it was nice to see dry roads. It’s such a peaceful spot and despite the number of parked cars, we hardly saw a soul. I don’t like the thought of it getting dark earlier, it’s a reminder that winter is on its way. Roadkill is getting interesting. The leaves on the Beech hedge at the bottom of the garden are turning a gorgeous russet colour. Monday 26 October Took my wooden knees and sausage hands for a swim, don’t know how Pinocchio managed; he’d have sunk but I feel better for it. Got an appointment at Highthorn Physio, but not until 13 November. They are very busy because people can’t get to see their GP! It was supposed to be a dry day, but that didn’t last. Took Paul to the hairdresser in the car and read until he was done. We went up to Osbaldwick after lunch so that Paul could show me where the Physio clinic is. Going down the country lanes the colours on the trees glowed despite the rain. There’s a lovely herd of Red Poll cows in a field on the way and they were all huddled under the trees looking sorry for themselves. Unlike the deer who are sitting down in the middle of the field like ducks on a pond. Denise had ended up in hospital last Monday, and although she's feeling much better I'll feel happier to hear when she's had a clear scan.Watched the last episode of Ghosts, it is so original and very funny, I hope they do another series. Tuesday 27 October Another wet day although the forecast was for dry. When I looked out of the window I could see four deer scuts lined up by the far hedge, it was quite a comical sight. Rang the surgery and got an appointment for Thursday, hurray. Met Ann and Anita at Deans for coffee, we had to sit outside under the eaves, but we were prepared having wrapped up warm and it was nice to have a catch up. Anita’s brother is really improving following his op; Bryan is also improving but Mike is still suffering from plantar fasciitis. Gill and John are still on their way back from Cornwall in pouring rain. We won £5 on the lottery, woohoo! Paul is back walking again and he and Colin had a good walk down by the river to Rowntree Park, a drink in the café and then walked back up the other bank to Stonebow for the bus. I caught up with him there and gave him a lift home; he was soaked. Nice family on-line chat after tea.

Wednesday 28 October Another painful night and I was really stiff and slow even in the pool, but it did me good to swim. Not a bad day after yesterday's rain so the traffic was slow and heavy with people going to Scarborough. We escaped at Malton and did a bit of shopping. The tills in Cooplands had gone down, so I got my sausage rolls at Thomas the baker next door. It was ok going back until we got to the Sand Hutton turn-off then it was obvious there was a problem so we took the turning and came home on the back roads. We realised there must have been an accident when we saw the Coastliner bus also using that route, so we were pleased we were out of it. We were greeted at home by a noisy pack of Sparrows in the hedge. It's a wonderful, cheery sound and reminds me of school children out playing in the playground. Every year I think that autumn is better than the last, it’s the colours of the leaves, the russets and gold lit by the sun that take your breath away as you turn a corner and see each new landscape. The days are getting shorter, but even the skies are dramatic and if we get a sunset, well…... Thursday 29 October Another dull, rain leaden day. Last night was even worse, especially the nightmare. It was confused with burning joints in my hands and knees and a book I’m reading about the Double Agent, Kim Philby. This country has been run by the Old Boy Network for a long time; they believe they have a divine right and are mostly from a handful of elite institutions. I went off to the surgery expecting to have Cortisone injections, but instead had a lovely long GP consultation and finally got a proper picture of my condition. Carpal tunnel in the hand and arthritis in the knees. This doctor wants me to see the Physiotherapist before any injections are administered, and I may not need them in the end. There were five deer in the field earlier, but all I could see later was one lying down. Highthorn Physio rang and offered me an earlier appointment from a cancellation. Brilliant. Bobby Ball has died from the C – virus, how sad. He just loved to make people laugh.

Friday 30 October Not a bad night’s sleep despite my hand turning into a burning ball of hell. I could see deer way over in the far field as I got ready to go swimming. Nice swim too, not so stiff today. The birds are all over the fat balls and they don’t take a blind bit of notice of us. We love to see them, and no rats so far. A mild, damp day and the washing sort of dried. I thought my hand was numb until I accidentally stuck a needle in my finger whilst I was sewing. I felt that. Paul nipped off for a bike ride and hopefully I will be joining him again very soon. Ian and Maria have gone to Margate for a long weekend, they deserve the break after working so hard. There was a beautiful Heron on the field, poised so calm then it gracefully took to the air and flew away.

Saturday 31 October

My left hand is basically sausage fingers during the day, but at night it feels as if those sausages are on the barbecue and going up in flames. Storm Aiden has arrived and it’s a wild, wet and woolly day which just adds to the miserable news that we may be going into another month long lockdown. Back to the window to look at nature I think. The birds on the feeders, the deer in the field and the field itself with the trees round the edge dressing up in autumn colours. We should get some good sunsets too. Managed to get a splint/support for my wrist from the chemist, I hope it eases the pain. Sean Connery has died at the age of 90. I know he felt he was typecast as James Bond, but he was the best. The sun came out after lunch, that’s better.We had a walk round the block and were rewarded by seeing a beautiful rainbow. We had a walk round the block and were rewarded by seeing a beautiful rainbow. I am amazed at some the flowers still in bloom in the garden. Here we go again, Boris has announced a month’s lockdown from Thursday. It was a full moon last night, second of the month so a Blue moon. It wasn't very blue, but it was beautiful and there was definitely a big smile there.






85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page