top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

October Heralds the Autumn


Friday 1 October 2021 Happy Anniversary Phil and Ellie, the year since your wedding has gone so fast, but the memories of a wonderful day are still fresh. I'm glad your Anniversary party was such a success and so good for the guests who were unable to attend your wedding because of lockdown. I think that Flower Girl Sophie had the best time. The sun came out and dried up all the rain, but the wind was bleak in the shade. Gill and John are on Anglesey, hope they don’t get blown about too much this weekend. Petrol is still a problem in the South East and some people are filling cans and bottles even though it is illegal (and dangerous) to stockpile in this way. The army is geared up to make deliveries from Monday. The M25 climate protesters are feeling the wrath of the public who are angry at the delays they are causing. Saturday 2 October A dry start, but the forecast isn’t good and there’s a strong, cold wind. Donald Trump has asked a judge to order that his Twitter account be reinstated – good luck with that one Donny boy. The volcano on La Palma is still very active and a new crack has now appeared, leeching even more lava. David was a bit early and knocked on the door just as I got to the loo; sod’s law. It really was a surprise luncheon for Ann's birthday, and she was astonished to see David, Amy, Anita and I all waiting for her at the Twine and Barrell. She arrived with Richard and Hannah and their two daughters Megan and Sophie. It was a jolly lunch, and she loved the earrings that we had bought for her. I felt a bit mean as I had a nice meal whilst Paul had a ride on the bike track and a bacon butty for lunch. It rained for the rest of the afternoon. Chrissie sent me a fabulous video of dancing at Phil and Ellie’s party. Sara Davies was the belle of the ball on Strictly. Sunday 3 October Happy Birthday Ann, have a lovely day dear friend. Good luck to all those taking part in the London Marathon today, rather you than me. The Tory conference starts today, it should be interesting to watch how Boris has to wriggle. Morrisons has been bought by an American firm, why can’t British things stay British? Really sad that Nina Wadia was the first to leave Strictly, I was so looking forward to seeing her do much more. There was a huge spider in the bath, but as he couldn’t get out, I rescued him and put him in the garden (from the bedroom window). My cousin Paula's car has been written off by some idiot smashing into the back of her on a dark, wet night whilst driving home. That must have been a nasty shock. Monday 4 October Nice to see Eleanor back in the pool after I don’t know how long but being blind she needs her friend to be able to bring her. Daphne had a brilliant time at Riverdance in Newcastle. Mrs Deer was on the field today with her fawn, it’s ages since I last saw them, and the fawn looks to be almost fully grown. A light aircraft has crashed into a building in Milan. It was a tragic accident and not a terrorist attack. The volcano on La Palma seems to be getting worse rather than subsiding. A flotilla of Long Tailed Tits flew into the garden, flitting around, back and forth for ages before disappearing back over the hedge. Cooplands the bakers has been sold and there was a hoax bomb alert on St Nicholas Cliff in Scarborough; the Evening Press reporters will be busy. I picked some Virginia Creeper from the side of Denise’s house today to draw and was very pleased with the result. A spider bit me on my finger which left it swollen and bruised. Tuesday 5 October Where does the time go? Rod and Joyce are having their bathroom updated and the empty shell looks a bit scary. I knew it had rained heavily but it was quite shocking to see the flooding in London. So much for the Thames barrier. BBC journalists have produced a report on the hidden buyers of London’s property market. All rich, all powerful, all bought through tax havens. If the UK is so awful, why does everyone want a part of us? And why are the rich so mean and selfish. We don’t need an army to protect us, the battle is being won by stealth. The naysayers are out again saying that Nina went out of Strictly because she was not white. I was really sad to see her go, but that’s the name of the game and why can’t she just be Nina, why does she have to be defined by the colour of her skin? Some people just love stirring up hate. Wednesday 6 October I amazed myself by not going for a swim, I just wanted to stay cosily resting in bed. It was a lovely day after all the rain yesterday, and the washing was soon blowing on the line. Olaf Scholz believes that professional people give themselves far too much credit for running the world, whilst the importance of those who do more menial jobs are left behind. I agree. It was too nice to be ironing, but I got it all done and wore myself out doing it. Ian rang to tell us all about the anniversary party on Saturday, it sounded like great fun. There was another huge spider in the bath waiting to be re-homed in the garden via the bedroom window. Thursday 7 October I was looking out of the kitchen window at the beautiful sunrise when five deer shot into view. I’ve no idea what disturbed them but the two deer up the field took no notice. The new train service from York to Sheffield is great. The train was spotlessly clean, on time and ended on Platform 1 so I didn’t have to climb any stairs. Paüla was really pleased to see me, and we had a good long catch up before I was off to catch the train home. Amazingly, there was a bus waiting for me as I left the station. I think that’s a first. Television is dire these days. Bee has had her stitches taken out and is well on the mend. Ian rang to tell us that he has a new job. Congratulations Ian, and best wishes for a happy future.

Friday 8 October The pool was quiet, and I enjoyed my swim. It’s a shame I can’t take Audrey, but she is worn out with going backwards and forwards to the skin clinic and there seems to be no conclusion. Marcus Rashford has received a well deserved Honorary Doctorate from Manchester University for all his work raising awareness of Child Poverty. He’s a very impressive young man. The sunshine was even better today, and I sat in the garden having lunch. A Buzzard was keening somewhere overhead, and I was bombarded by Ladybirds. The air seemed to be full of them. We cut the lawns whilst the going was good; I just love the smell of freshly mown grass. More photos from Gill and John on their walk round the Welsh coastline. I’m full of admiration for them; they are having fun, keeping healthy and making happy memories.

Saturday 9 October It was a misty start, but not cold. We cycled down to the surgery for our Flu jabs and were alarmed to see the queue outside the Priory surgery. Fortunately, ours was better organised and we had our vaccines at our appointment time. My prescription was not ready and was obviously held up at the surgery. I’ve had enough of this and will be writing to the Ombudsman. BT is creating a new dedicated helpline and app., number 888 which will track women who are walking home alone. Stopped in a café in Market Weighton for lunch, but I can’t say that it was good value for money, and I left still hungry. We were looking for the source of the Market Weighton canal but the sat nav led us a merry dance and we ended up going through a nature reserve at North Cave. We gave up on the canal and went into a hide on the reserve instead. What a lovely place. Rose danced the most beautifully, graceful and romantic Foxtrot on Strictly.

Sunday 10 October Happy Anniversary Anne and John, 54 happy years and still going strong. What a glorious, sunfilled autumnal day. I was watching a grey squirrel run along Peter’s garden fence when I spotted the deer grazing beyond in the field. My arm is sore from the jab, and my knees always react painfully to the vaccine, so Paul went for a bike ride on his own whilst I cleaned and washed. A giant sinkhole opened up on the busy M4, engulfed a car in flames and caused miles of tailbacks yesterday; that must have been terrifying. We cut the lawns again after lunch and I did a bit more gardening, it was just so nice to be out in the fresh air. The sunset was breathtaking. Gill and John are home from their walking trip along the Welsh coastline. Time for a rest and some home comforts.

Monday 11 October I had very low energy this morning and I think it’s due to the flu jab, but my spirits picked up when I saw a deer silhouetted against the beautiful sunrise. I only managed 8 lengths of the pool, but that perked me up a bit too; I really don’t mind admitting defeat once in a while. The media is full of doom and gloom. Problems with gas supplies, energy prices escalating daily and firms going bust; a new warning about winter flu and it being different from Covid, and we're all going to die; a solar flare is heading for earth which will knock out our communications systems; the EU is all anger and finger pointing. Is there any good news? Oh yes, it looks like Australia is finally coming out of lockdown, that’s worth celebrating. Thank goodness for Monday, a lovely art session, Mark’s chips and watching two squirrels tumbling and playing in Denise’s garden. I've taken my final steroid tablet, hurray. Paul made tea – my hero, I was whacked. Tuesday 12 October A bit of a damp start, but warmer than yesterday. I totally agree with Dom Joly’s tweet re the Blair and Brown documentary. “Apart from the fantastic archive footage and how the relationship disintegrated, it made me long for decent, intellectual, purpose-driven politicians as opposed to the shallow shower of thunderc**ts that we currently suffer under.” I spent the afternoon sorting through cupboards with an aim to recycle a lot of stuff I don’t want/use anymore. It was quite cathartic. Anita didn’t have her cataract operation after all, it was postponed until Thursday. Dad is home from his hols, so I rang to see how he was before going to meet Ann at Deans. Josh Widdecombe’s episode of Who Do You Think You Are was an absolute treat, taking him right back to Edward I and French nobility. Wednesday 13 October A brief but beautiful sunrise and a lovely day. I took my recycling stuff with me to the pool to pass on to Nichola for her stall; I hope it’s useful for her. William Shatner went into space for real at the age of 90 and found it a very overwhelming experience. It’s that navel gazing time again. A report is out saying where we went wrong at the beginning of Covid; who shall we punish? What is done is done, can we move forward please? The media are determined to bring us down, they are predicting snow next week, shortages for Christmas, sky high gas bills and the choice between heating and eating. The French are gearing up for a fight and Brexit is beyond boring. They all want their heads knocking together. Now we are told to wear masks outdoors because Covid can spread on the wind. Aaaaarrrrggghhh. Stop it. I’m determined none of it will get to me but it’s not easy. Two Long Tailed Tits were charging round the garden this morning and nearly crashed into me as I put the washing out.

Thursday 14 October Happy Birthday Julia, thank you for your lovely birthday lunch. The Bay Horse at Burythorpe was a wonderful place to go, the food was gorgeous, and the Profiteroles were to die for. Anita had a successful cataract operation today and is ready for eye number two to be done. Ann has had an offer of Care for Mick so hopefully they can get him home in the not too distant future. The Americans are upset that the Chinese are ahead of them in the development of AI which is amazing considering how backwards the rest of the country is in so many ways. I've had a message to get my Covid booster jab, oh how I hate taking drugs. The Kestrel has returned to Chrissie’s garden; it must know that she is wonderful with all creatures great and small. I call her St Chrissie of Belper. Friday 15 October The air was definitely autumnal when I went for my swim, I think it’s time for warmer clothing. But it turned into a beautiful autumn day, with lots of sunshine and clean fresh air. Paul dropped me off in town after our supermarket shop and I went to Ross Charles where Lara restyled my hair. She gets 10/10 in my book, what a super cut. Paul meanwhile enjoyed a really good bike ride round the city. Dave sent an e-mail with an update on Penny’s health. It’s not rosy but she’s hanging in there. Take care my lovely friend. Sir David Amess, MP for Southend West has died after being stabbed whilst at his constituency surgery. I am shocked that anybody would want to do such a terrible thing to a man who was simply doing his job. Does York deserve World Heritage status? Yes, if they are giving it to dirty, smelly, rundown cities nowadays.

Saturday 16 October I never tire of drawing the curtains on a morning and taking in the view and the deer. I think that the old Chiropractic on Stockton Lane has gone and is finally up for sale as a house. It’s a shame as it was a good practice and very handy. It’s chilly today, lots of cloud and just dull. Beverley was bustling with people in Saturday Market and down the main street. Lunch at The Queen’s Head in Wednesday Market never disappoints, it’s good food and good value for money too. After a bit of shopping we tootled back home. The roads are very busy despite the high price of petrol. Both Boris and Sir Keir Starmer have laid wreaths in Leigh on Sea for Sir David Amess. Can’t help but think that I don’t remember Corbyn doing even that when lovely Jo Cox was murdered. I’m reading Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris. It reminds me of what the Nazis did during the war, the Khalwas in Sudan where young boys are chained and beaten daily, the millions who died in Russia from starvation and the horrendous labour camps, black slave trade of the 17th and 18th centuries and the ongoing trafficking and slavery of women and girls for prostitution. Subjugation of the Afghan people by the Taliban, and so many other crimes against humanity across the world. It is the most appalling indictment of the human race, and I will never, ever understand the cruelty of man to man. The ignorance of misogyny. The wickedness of some women. All in the name of power and the superior being. Fred says that our step-brother Hans has died. I know I should be sad, but the truth is that as over 60 years have passed since I last saw him, there isn’t anything to remember.

Sunday 17 October Happy Birthday Barry, great to see you looking so well and a jolly houseful with Ed, Sarah and the grand-children. It was a damp start for the Yorkshire Marathon and by the time we were out it was all over; at least it wasn’t too cold for the runners. The Library was quiet and soulless as ever, but I only wanted to renew a book. We carried on for a quick bike ride down the cycle track, off at Dodsworth, through Muncastergate and home. It was nice to sit on a comfy seat afterwards. Dad sounded quite perky when I rang him, I think the holiday has done him a lot of good even if he won't acknowledge it. Monday 18 October It was damp and the sky was heavy with rain, even though the forecast said it would be dry. I called in at Sainsbury’s after swimming for some cake ingredients and the shelves were almost bare! I’ll have to go elsewhere. I put the washing out and went with Moira to Denise’s for Art. Paul washed the car, which promptly got wet when it rained! Fortunately he was there to fetch the washing in. The rest of the day was quite miserable. I took a bag of bits and pieces to the Library for Lisa. The Trick was actually quite boring, so we switched over. Shame, it had some good actors in too. Tuesday 19 October What a grey start to a day. The rain gave way to damp air, and everything was soaking. We went up to Sainsbury’s at Monks Cross and I managed to get my other cake ingredients plus a few more things that Paul slipped into the basket! By the time we got home it looked a lot brighter, so we had a bike ride down the bike track to the chickens. The sun came out after lunch, unexpected and very welcome. I got all of the Christmas cake ingredients out, weighed them into bowls, poured the brandy over the fruit and lined the tins ready for baking tomorrow. I was exhausted afterwards and have to admit that perhaps I am not coping as well as I had hoped without the steroids. I ached all over. Excellent news, Mick is going home tomorrow. Life is going to be very different, but it must be better for both Ann and Mick, and for Mick’s progress. Judy Dench’s story on Who Do You Think You Are was fascinating, but I was disappointed that her home town of York wasn’t mentioned.

Wednesday 20 October I was greeted by the beautiful sound of a Robin’s song as I stepped out for my swim. Things have settled down at the pool and I hope the rise in Covid cases won’t stop us from going again. Popped to Audrey’s on the way home, I’m going to take her on Friday. Poor lamb, the clinic has found a cancerous spot on her leg, and she is frightened. Paul had put the washing in for me, but no sooner he had put it on the line than it started to rain. I made two gorgeous Christmas cakes; the bread bin makes such a good mixing bowl. David Beckham has signed a multi-million deal with Qatar to promote the next World Football tournament. It seems an awful lot of money just to promote good practice as he says it is. Thursday 21 October Sunshine! Sunshine and a stiff breeze, just what I wanted to lift my spirits and dry the washing. I could only get one little Pig’s Ear for Gracie; I hope she doesn’t mind. Colin came and serviced the boiler, so that’s us for another year. I don’t think much of the new Heat Pumps that they are trying to flog to everyone, the figures just don’t stack up. Alec Baldwin accidentally shot Halyna Hutchins with a prop gun off set. I can’t imagine how devastating and horrific it must have been for all concerned. It was a day for nature. The Rooks seemed to be rejoicing as a great flock of them wheeled and circled round the field, catching the thermals. It was lovely to see and hear them. The deer wandered into view of the kitchen window as I was making tea, which made me feel really happy and calm. Friday 22 October It was so dark at when I got up to go swimming and rain! I wasn’t expecting that. I took Audrey with me, and she loved it, it’s ages since she last swam what with her hospital appointments. The sun was shining when we left the pool, and I watched the deer grazing as I ate my breakfast. I had a tidy round then packed up ready to go to see Ian and Maria in London for the weekend. Judy C rang to let me know that Maureen has died of Covid. RIP sweetheart. I can see you in my mind's eye bopping in the kitchen to something on the radio when we were young. I should think that there is only Judy, Anita, Pam, Fred and I left from Park Street Childrens’ home now. Everything was on time, but the train seats gave me backache. After almost two years of photos and videos, the new flat still managed to delight us. It was love at first sight for me, Ian and Maria have made it so comfortable and welcoming. There was a delicious meal waiting too and we soon settled down for a long, cosy evening and catch-up. Poor Gracie has hurt her foot again, gaining a nasty gash. It’s getting better now. Nice comfortable bed too.

Saturday 23 October Happy Anniversary my darling husband. It doesn’t seem like 48 years, but it is. And a very happy birthday too to Daphne. I hope you are feeling much better and enjoy your meal out. We took a taxi into the British Museum to see the Hokusai exhibition. Absolutely amazing. We had lunch, pottered back to Peckham for a while then walked up the road to a great little Italian restaurant. Maria pointed out the various venues for their wedding on the way, and I started to get quite excited by it all. After a wonderful meal, we walked back to the flat and played a few rounds of Timeline. That was great fun. All life passes their front window, and we spent an entertaining twenty minutes watching as the driver from a breakdown truck worked on a broken down bus before attaching it to his vehicle and towing it away. Bee has been outside for the first time since her accident, but only on a lead. She is making an excellent recovery. Sunday 24 October We all took Gracie for a nice walk and Maria pointed out different places in their new neighbourhood, it’s a very nice area and so many good local shops. Maria and I then took a wee diversion to call in at a Columbian Bakery where we bought Empanadas and Pandebonos. Back at home we had a leisurely brunch before heading off to King’s Cross. There was an announcement on the tannoy as we arrived calling for Inspector Sands, which is code for an emergency, and we expected there to be a mass evacuation any second; fortunately it turned out to be a drill. The train was packed, and people were even standing in the aisles and lobbies, and I’ve never heard so many Geordie accents before. Everything was bang on time. We left a nice fresh day with sunshine and came home to rain and a cold, cold house so we got the heating on and soon settled down. Monday 25 October You forget how hard it is to get up on chilly, dark mornings but that’s it for six months, so I’d better get used to it. Had a lovely swim and a natter with Daphne. They went to Gauchos restaurant for her birthday and had an excellent meal. Paul did the weekly shop, bless him, whilst I went with Moira for our Monday Art session. I was really pleased with the Sea Trout water colour that I did for Colin’s birthday. I got a letter from the Building Society; they have closed one of my accounts! You can’t get through on the phone so I shall have to go into town. Oh lord, here we go again. Cuffing is new speak for dating; why not just say dating? Americans can travel abroad now. And the power struggle for supremacy in Europe continues. Ridley Road told the shameful story of anti-Semitism in 1960s London, but I found Paris 1900 on BBC 4 much more compelling, even with sub-titles. Dramatic and very atmospheric. Tuesday 26 October I rang Ann and was pleased to earn that not only is Mick home, but it is working out very well with the Carers and Mick is improving. We won’t meet for tea tonight so I must tell Gill and Anita. I wasted no time in getting to town and asked to speak to the Manager at the Building Society. She was as mystified as me and did a thorough job of solving the problem. An hour and four phone calls later and I left her too it, but she rang me back mid-afternoon. Her efforts were successful, and my account is back to normal. Phew! I can do without that, it’s bad enough with scammers. Town was heaving because of half-term. Princess Mako of Japan has got married at last and will leave the country to live in America with her husband. I hate these feudal systems that restrict people’s happiness. I hope their lives are full of love and laughter. I'm reading The Mermaid of Black Conch by Monique Roffey. Wonderful storytelling and imagination. I can't put it down. Wednesday 27 October Budget Day! But before all of that I enjoyed a nice swim then we decided to go for our booster jabs. It was a very mild breeze, and we cycled round to Burnholme Gym only to discover that vaccination days are Monday and Friday by appointment. The 119 line has an automated voice who told me all sorts of things before saying that they were too busy and ending the call. So we went to Askham Bar where we were told that because of the high volume of numbers they were only accepting pre-booked appointments; but we could go to Lawrence Street Church. We were in two minds, but there just happened to be a parking space and it ended up as the best option. Rishi Sunak has promised a Budget for a new post-Covid economy, whatever that means. The Queen is stepping down from some of her more demanding duties, having been advised to rest, and at 95 I should think she deserves it. Scared of having their drinks spiked, more youngsters are staying away from pubs and clubs; a very wise decision in my opinion. Lawns cut, ironing done, time for a rest I think.

Thursday 28 October Did I get a reaction from the booster jab? Did I ever. I got out of bed and discovered that I could barely walk I was in so much pain. Fortunately I had some water and paracetamol handy and two hours later I managed to get going. Some Voltarol helped too. Paul drove me into town bless him, and waited whilst I went back to the Building Society to complete some paperwork. I can’t praise Sally highly enough; she was so thorough and kind with it. It was a blustery day and town was horrendously busy again, so I was glad to escape. I wish I’d read the report about the Royal British Legion before I bought my poppy. The total funds held by them in the last financial report was £350.6 million. I naively thought that when I gave money to charity it would go to the people I wanted to support, but apparently not. I bet the large Board of Directors do well whilst they are closing seaside respite homes to save money. But this is not the only charity who hoard funds instead of making sure it goes where it is needed. We are too generous in this country, and we are being made mugs of. Lovely to see Anne and John for a catch-up and the usual magazine swap.

Friday 29 October What a blustery day. Strong winds, heavy rain and whilst flooding is subsiding in Cumbria and the Lake District, now Dumfries and Hawick are taking a battering. The river Annan has burst its banks and the Tweed and Teviot are on full flood alert. A brutal reminder of why the COP 26 summit is necessary. I took Audrey swimming, but this wonderful new booking system still won’t accept her card. I thought it was meant to improve things but it’s quite the reverse. We left Rick and Jack to sort it out. I wish President Macron would wind his neck in; I can see him going to war over a creel of fish and Article 16! I think he’s trying to show the French that he is a strong leader because of the elections next year. Paul took the shuttlecocks to badminton and told the others that he is not playing anymore. I’m quite sad about it, but Paul says he no longer enjoys it.

Saturday 30 October So much for the BBC forecast of Light Showers and a Gentle Breeze, the rain was torrential and there’s more to come but the deer seemed to be impervious to it as they grazed across the field. My heart goes out to the people who are being evacuated to escape the flooding as river after river bursts their banks in Scotland. I also feel for the Fishermen of Cornwall being used as pawns whilst their livelihoods are being threatened. Facebook has been rebranded as Meta, but will they clean their act up? The sky broke around noon and it wasn’t long before the sun was out in a blue sky. We drove to Malton via Buttercrambe, and I topped up my Christmas cake ingredients. Then back the other scenic route passed Castle Howard. Fred sounded cheerful when we spoke, he’s looking for a specialist Physiotherapist who can give him some good back exercises. Strictly had some very good dances and Rose and Giovanni's Tango scored a perfect 40.

Sunday 31 October The clocks went back last night, and I was so cosy that I had more than an extra hours sleep. Another horrible start to the day, raining even harder than yesterday. Two deer raced across the field, if it was me I’d be looking for shelter. It’s Halloween with all the over-the-top American razzmatazz that has crept in over here. A bit different to the carved out swede that we used to do as children. Are there any honest people left in the world today? Now fraudsters are using Companies House to register businesses which are really a scam. The COP26 summit starts today, but it is our throwaway society that is the biggest threat to nature. Nicola Sturgeon bores the pants off me. Dad had a fall in the bedroom and couldn’t get up but did manage to crawl to the phone and ring Fred. Dad was bruised and shaken but Fred soon sorted him out; thank goodness for Fred.
















50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page