top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

November - Cop26, Carbon and Covid

Monday 1 November 2021 A cold wet start, but at least it was lighter this morning and I enjoyed my swim. 92 people had to be rescued from a tunnel after two trains crashed in Salisbury. Most were ok, but the poor driver of one train has life changing injuries. Art today, I had no idea what to do, but Denise had some inspirational cards and I’ve discovered that I’m getting my confidence back at last. Paul had a busy day cycling, shopping, changing his Library books and getting his hair cut. Thank goodness it stopped raining. I love the new series The Outlaws, the characters and the storytelling is so good. Nikki Bowling has Gift Vouchers for a Photography Session; what a brilliant idea for a present, she is such a gifted photographer.

Tuesday 2 November No two days are alike. Today was mild and soft with lots of sunshine. I drove into town, collecting Three Sisters by Heather Morris from the Library on the way. No currants at Sainsburys; Christmas cake making is seriously underway. I got some plants from Loves, and after lunch I did a bit of gardening. Paul was off playing Snooker with Colin, so it was very quiet. The deer were on the field all day today, just grazing and roaming up and down. Dad is tired and sore after his fall, but he can still manage his walk. It was nice to see Ann and Anita at Deans for our tea. Mick seems to be making better progress now he is home, and it is easier to assess what is needed and what doesn’t work. Wednesday 3 November I went to the Nuffield Hospital straight after my swim for a Bone Scan. I think I can guess the results because my height measurement was not what I was expecting by at least two inches. I’ve had so many wonderful comments about my Blog that I just want to say a heartfelt thank you. It means a lot. It’s cold but bright out and the washing is drying nicely. Phil, Ellie and the family are all in Cornwall on holiday. Finn had a treat today as they took him for a train ride, then went rock pooling. That brings back lovely memories of going over the rock pools in Scarborough when I was a child. Ian and Maria have been to the Registry Office today to give notice of their Civil Partnership for next year. Maria foxed the clerk when she discovered that her name was too long for the form! It's beginning to get more real and exciting. Daphne’s new garage is looking good, but it’s just a bit too short for the car to fit in! Maria’s dad had an operation on his back and we are all wishing him well.

Thursday 4 November Wishing you the happiest of Birthdays Helen H, you deserve the best sweetheart. A beautiful bright, sunny day, but there’s a cold wind blowing. Jake rang from North Yorkshire Social Services to discuss Joan. What a relief to talk to someone. She is 93, her condition is deteriorating, and we need to put a funeral plan in place. I knew it would come one day soon and Paüla is not able to do anything. We met up with Rod and Joyce, and Anne and John at the Pavement Vaults for a couple of drinks before going to the Ate O’clock to eat. It’s a silly name for what is a quite charming venue. The alley leading down to the doorway was lit by a myriad of tiny lights which had a quite magical effect. The food was good as was the service and we all enjoyed a lovely get together and catch-up. It's Mischievous Night and Rod reminisced about when he was a boy. He and his friends in the village would lift peoples’ gates off and hang them from the lamp posts. However if they were caught they would have their faces rubbed with Beetroot juice, then everyone would know the following day that they had been naughty. Jaha Dukureh is running for the Gambian Presidency in December, and I hope she wins. She is a fighter with a great outlook and very anti FGM. Time it was banned, full stop. Lionel Blair has died at the age of 92. He was the eternal showman and I liked him. RIP Lionel. The operation went well and Maria’s dad is not in so much pain and hoping to go home today. Friday 5 November Bonfire Night, it almost slipped my mind it’s been so quiet. Busy day, took Audrey swimming and Rick and Jack have sorted out her membership issues, bless them. We put the electric blanket back on the bed for winter and changed and washed the sheets. Then it was the supermarket. I collected my prescription and for the first time in a whole year it was complete and ready in time. Woohoo. I wrapped up the latest Christmas cakes, (just two left to make if I can find some currants) and washed the tins. Got Ian’s bed ready for his overnight stay and did the ironing. Considering that I didn’t sleep much last night I’m shattered. Judy left a message to say that it is Maureen’s funeral on Tuesday. It’s a bit too early for me to get to Scarborough, but it was a kind thought. Another paddle boarder has died following the incident on the River Cleddau in Wales. Whatever possessed them to go on a river in flood on a flimsy paddle board in the first place? Cop26 is creating waves and Greta Thunberg is in her element whilst Boris is caught on camera nodding off.

Saturday 6 November Happy birthday to our gorgeous Ellie, have a wonderful weekend in Cornwall. I struggled to get going today, my arm aches, I’ve got a headache and I’m pretty confident my fatigue is due to the booster jab. It was lovely to get up and see Ian. He enjoyed meeting up with Liam and Carl, it sounds as if they had a good evening. Maria’s dad is doing well following his operation and his goal is to get really fit to come to England and enjoy the wedding. I love the Yarn Bombing created by the Syston Knitting Banksy, the creations are so cheerful and ingenious. Even if I could knit, I doubt that I would be so creative. Paul, Ian and I drove to Bridlington, had Fish and Chips and a quick walk to the new Lifeboat house before heading back home. The wind wasn’t too bad, but then it started to rain. A demonstration was held in York today in support of the COP26 Global Day of Action. I would be more impressed if they tackled excessive packaging, food waste and our throwaway society, plus all the things we buy from the Far East that could be made in the UK. Every dance on Strictly was good tonight. I love a Fireworks Display, but I didn’t even look out of the window. I must be getting old. Sunday 7 November We were up early to take Ian to the station for his train at 9am. It was a beautiful morning; I put some washing in and sorted some books to go to Lisa. A beautiful Jay flew out of a hedge in front of us as we drove down Stockton Lane, I haven’t seen one for years. A metal detectorist has found a beautiful, tiny 600 year old Bible in gold in a farmer’s field. The land nearby once belonged to Richard III so maybe there is a connection. E10 fuel has been declared a disaster and pretty useless, what a surprise! The washing was soon dry, ironed and put away. I listened to the fascinating docu-drama on Radio 4 In The Shadow of Man, which was about Jane Goodall’s observations and study of Chimpanzees in Gombe. I rang dad three times; I could hear him pick up, but he never spoke, so I called Fred and left it. We’re watching Showtrial on BBC 1 and the plot is looking good.

Monday 8 November

Sometimes I have to make myself get up and go swimming, but I’m glad I did today otherwise I would have missed a wonderful cloud formation. I watched the deer on the field as I ate my breakfast and by the time I got upstairs to change they were under the bedroom window. Lovely. I dropped the books at the Library for Lisa before heading off with Moira for our Art session. Daisy is really good these days and never barks when she sees the squirrels in the garden. Paul has mended my hoover bless him. The top kept flying off, but he’s fixed it good and proper. And, he’s promised to make tea. Aren’t I the lucky one? My Rapid Lateral Flow test is negative so I’m safe to visit Joan in the home tomorrow. Ellie and Phil are back from Cornwall, they've had a great holiday.

Tuesday 9 November Good luck in your new job Ian. I was away early, on the bus to Scarborough to see Joan. She has got much frailer in the last five weeks, but also obviously well cared for. She fell in love with my handbag, but sorry, she's not getting it. When I left her I took a walk up Spring Bank and into Falsgrave Park and the childhood memories came flooding back. The park hasn’t changed, but the periphery has and there are houses and flats where once there was none. I carried on walking along Park Avenue to Stepney Road and was surprised to see the back of Park Lodge through the gaps. It was interesting to see what has been done to the old house. I loved living there, it was such a cosy home despite its size. I passed the house where Eric Simpson lived and then Mr Wilson’s grand villa, its huge garden now carved up for housing. The Brakespeare’s lived next door, then down to the cottage where I was supposed to go for piano lessons but was far too timid to get passed the door. I took the bus in to town, did a bit of shopping and then came home on the early bus. It was Maureen’s funeral, but I knew I’d never make it in time. Judy said it was a lovely service even though only ten people attended.

Wednesday 10 November I skipped swimming this morning and had a lie in instead. I’ve discovered that once I get tired it takes longer to get over. It was a dull, but mild day and we cycled down to East Parade for some shopping. There are roadworks everywhere! The colours of autumn have my heart singing and the tree at the end of our road is just gorgeous. Penny’s cat Toby has died after a brief illness. So sad for her, he was such a handsome cat and so loving. Dad wasn’t too good, so Fred went to Southampton to make sure he was ok then did a thorough clean-up. What a hero. We had a lovely on-line family get together and catch-up.

Thursday 11 November Armistice Day and still the politicians and world leaders wage war, especially the Russians and Chinese. I wish they would stop and take a long hard look at their actions. It’s not them but the people who die or get maimed, and their families who suffer. The air is cool and damp, but the sun is up there. My arm still aches from the booster and my energy levels are still low. Words cannot describe the beautiful drive up to Wass. The sun was shining, and the colours of the trees and hedges were just breathtaking and every turn of a corner held a new feast for the eyes. The Stapylton Arms is a lovely venue, and it was nice to see Julia and Colin again. It was a delicious lunch and Colin loved the water colour of the Rainbow Trout that I did for his birthday. The volcanic activity in La Palma is not going away, in fact it’s getting a whole lot worse. We were both so tired that we had an early night.

Friday 12 November

Audrey was able to come swimming after all, and people were really pleased to see her. I put some washing in before we went to the supermarket, and it dried ok despite the dullness of the day. I even managed to wash the kitchen floor before lunch and did the ironing later. COP26 is coming to an end, and I have no doubt that so many promises will have been made that won’t be kept. Boris is looking like a real old fart these days. How is he managing to dodge both the Owen Patterson and the Geoffrey Cox scandal? These men show the very worst side of politicians who live off the fat of the land and then want jam and cream for afters. Greta Thunberg is back on her soapbox, and I liked the reply from the Australian commentator on the subject. We could all do our own COP26, ditch the giant car and walk, cycle or take the bus. Get a smaller TV. Unplug the re-chargeables each night and save a fortune in electricity and shop locally if you can. All that packaging at the supermarket is ridiculous. Shower every other day and save litres of shower gel going into our rivers and seas.

Saturday 13 November Happy Birthday Gill, I hope you have a super day with the family. Another glorious ride out, this time to Northallerton. I want to feast my eyes on the wonderful colours of autumn before the leaves blow away and we are left with winter. The market was in full swing, and the town was busy. We managed to get a lovely lunch in our favourite café and then indulged in a hot chocolate and brownie on the way back to the car. I always look out for Alison in the street, but we didn't see her today. The light was quite low all day, but every now and then the sun’s crepuscular rays lit up another avenue of trees and took my breath away. There were plenty of voluntary Poppy sellers out, I wonder if any of the 22 members of the Board of the British Legion did any collecting. I spoke to Fred, he also had a bad reaction to his booster jab. The farmer came round with his tractor, trimming the hedge on the field side.

Sunday 14 November Blue sky, what a beautiful day. As Remembrance Services take place up and down the land, I think of my wonderful Grandad who, as a serving soldier was in the first British Expeditionary Force to go to France in World War I. He survived the war with just one injury and then was posted to Northern Russia to aid the White Russians in the Russian Civil War. It was a lost cause in the end. But politicians can wage war because, but they are not the ones who go into battle or loose their lives. The service at the Cenotaph in London is always moving, but sadly the Queen was unable to attend this year. She has only ever missed 6 occasions. We spent a quiet day. Paul cut the back lawn and I raked the leaves off the front lawn and some of Peter’s as they’ve blown off our tree. What a surprise, the field is full of sheep! There must be at least 50 black face and 50 white face and they just look so alien. I wonder what the deer will make of them? Sara left Strictly this week; it was that awful dress that did it. Monday 15 November A grey, dull, misty morning and the weeks are flying by. I looked out of the kitchen window and the sheep were still there. Big white blobs. I can’t get used to it. Covid is still with us, and the numbers are up one minute and going down the next. We really need to learn to live with it like the Swedes. Both Austria and The Netherlands have imposed new lockdown restrictions. I took some more books for Lisa to the Library I hope they are ok. We had a good Art session, lunch and a natter, swapped books and dear Moira drove me home again. A terrorist’s bomb exploded in a taxi outside the Liverpool Women's Hospital yesterday. David Perry, the driver, thought something was dodgy about his passenger and locked the doors to prevent him escaping. He was a terrorist and he died whilst David received multiple injuries. What a very brave, selfless man.

Tuesday 16 November A typical grey, November day, although not the snowy waste that the media predicted for mid-November. The bus didn’t turn up so I came home and got my bike out and rode into town. I took a box of CDs to the charity shop after lunch; oh that felt good. Space! Electric cars are all well and good, but we need Lithium for the batteries so I looked up where it comes from and found that in mining it, we are creating yet another huge environmental disaster. I was sorting some paperwork when I looked up and out of the window; the sun was setting, and the sky was on fire. It was truly breathtaking. Dad sounded a lot better than of late when I phoned him. Wednesday 17 November Happy birthday Colin, have a fabulous day. After last night’s sunset came a magnificent sunrise. Oh I do love autumn. I saw Daphne at the pool. She was in shock following a trip to the Optician where she discovered some very disturbing health issues. I hope she will let me help her when she needs someone. Our footpaths were tarred and micro-surfaced today. I swept the leaves off our path and by the time the workmen were finished the surface was covered in leaves again. Great day for getting the washing out and blowing. Thursday 18 November Happy Birthday Bryan, I hope you had a super lunch at the Naburn Marina. A bright, breezy day. We saw a murmuration of Starlings on our way over the Wolds to Driffield and a bit further on the sky was thick with Rooks flapping and gliding in the upper thermals. Barbara Ashton, the lingerie shop I like had not been closed by Covid thankfully and I got some nice stuff. There isn’t a great deal to see in Driffield, and the market wasn’t up to much, so after lunch we jumped back in the car and came home. The roads across the Wolds are so smooth and complete, it’s a pleasure to drive, and the views are gorgeous. The thousands of migrants who have been trying to cross into Poland have been moved away from the frontier and into a warehouse in Belarus. I can’t believe such awful things are happening in Europe in 2021, but the problem is so complex and starts with why the migrants feel the need to flee their homes in the first place and then the grasping robbers who promise tickets and the earth and melt away with the money.

Friday 19 November The month is flying by. The sunrise was beautiful; wisps of pink in a pale blue sky, it quite takes my breath away. Audrey is really enjoying her swim, even at 84, and the exercise is good for her. The supermarket was busy, but we didn’t want much. Paul dropped an egg as he was examining it for cracks, and I’m pleased to say that nobody made a drama out of it. I took advantage of the weather and got my washing out, dried, ironed and put away. Daphne had another MRI scan today; scary stuff and I really feel for her but thank god the Optician spotted a problem as otherwise it does not bear thinking about. According to the BBC website Camilla Cabello and Shawn Mendes have split. Apart from the fact that I don’t know who they are, and care even less, why is this on a news page and when will someone report that I coughed this morning? Saturday 20 November I went off to Harrogate with June for the Knit and Stitch Show and had a really lovely day. It’s two years since I saw June as there was no show in 2020 and it was a joy catching up with her. We never stop talking and cover such a wide range of interesting topics. I love to see the Galleries and all the work produced by the Guilds, College students, and by the crafters which leaves me feeling quite humbled by their skill and imagination. It wasn't as good as in previous years, but then that's probably down to Covid. Patrick Barlow’s improvised version of The 39 Steps is on in York. Anybody who sees it will have real a treat as it is one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen since The National Theatre of Brent’s Massive Landmarks of the Twentieth Century.

Sunday 21 November A lovely sunny morning with a brisk wind that disappointingly faded when a huge black cloud travelled across the sky, blotting the sun for a while and bringing squally showers. It was cold too, and unsurprisingly, neither of us ventured out all day. We read and kept warm, doing the odd domestic chore when needed. As I sit here I think of the people trying to cross the Chanel in cold seas, risking being drowned just to get to the UK. It’s all wrong. They should be in their own homes living happy lives, not fleeing in desperation with no notion of where they are going or if they will be any safer. But there is money to be made out of their fear and plenty of cruel people willing to take it. What has happened to the Dutch? They are normally so gentle and peaceful, but they are rioting over Covid. Monday 22 November Happy Birthday Rod, I hope you get the Zimmer working in time for the club opening. It was a bright, frosty start which led to a bright, cold day with some lovely sunshine. The Chinese worry me, and this latest business with the Taiwan Embassy in Lithuania is a real demonstration of power. I rang the Rheumatology nurses helpline for advice as I think I must finally admit defeat and go back on to Steroids; my levels of inflammation are creeping up and my knees are swollen and solid again. Art was lovely as usual, and I started a new painting of Roseberry Topping. Denise thought it looked as if I should paint a nipple on the top and we all fell about laughing. I got an e-mail from Jake about Joan, with an assessment that I must take to Paula. We will have to discuss a funeral plan and set it in place. Jenny has had a boy and called him Ralph. Congratulations little man, you will be very much loved. Tuesday 23 November Another cold day, but not much breeze. I haven’t heard from the Rheumatology Nurses, so I tried to make an appointment at the Surgery. Tried is the word, and I realise that it may take me quite a while to get one. Covid is at the front of the queue as usual. I got the washing done then I managed to take some more books to the charity shop. Black rats are invading a lot of areas in Spain including Madrid! That’s awful. I wonder how something like that starts. I booked the Pantomime tickets for us all; oh yes I did. Covid is soaring in Europe and whilst the UK numbers are high it seems that the death rate is keeping low; thank goodness. Insulate Britain protesters are still creating havoc with essential workers saying that they can’t get to work because the roads are blocked. Wednesday 24 November I had a much earlier swim booked so that I could go to the hospital for a blood test. Whilst I was there a lovely receptionist had a go at contacting the Rheumatology staff for me. I shall have to wait and see what happens next. It was lovely to see Jane and we visited Sue together at home; she really has lost a lot of strength and energy bless her. Got her a nice white loaf when I went back in to town. Thank god the Whitby bus was on time; it was nice to sit down for five minutes and get my legs back. Daphne has had more news about her treatment which is a bit confusing, but at least she can still drive.

Thursday 25 November The sun came streaming through the bedroom window from a bright and cold blue sky. A day to wrap up warm and enjoy. Sweden’s first female Prime Minister Magdalena Andersson has resigned within hours of taking office but warns that she will be back. More Energy companies bite the dust leaving 11 out of 71 at the beginning of the year. Thank god we chose British Gas last time. OMG The Star Inn at Harome has burnt to the ground. Nothing will recreate that beautiful 14th century building but I wish them all the luck with rebuilding. The birds all seem to be playing; chasing round the garden in little flocks; it’s quite endearing. We couldn’t go through Fairburn on our way back from Castleford as the road was closed but the diversion took us through the most beautiful village of Ledsham with some very old buildings. What a treat in the winter sunlight. Chrissie of Belper is at it again. This time she is caring for three Grey Squirrel kits that were brought into the surgery and not only are they quite happy to take food from her hand, but they're costing a fortune in nuts! Friday 26 November A surprisingly dark but mild start and the sun was shining by the time I left the pool. More people have lost their lives crossing the Channel, it’s crazy and we can do nothing about it which hurts. There’s a new variant of Covid out of Africa called Omicron which is more virulent than ever. Oh lord, will it never end! The wind had got up by the time we left the supermarket and it got colder and colder. So much so that when I brought the washing in later it was like an arctic blast. The sheep will be ok with their thick fleeces, but where are my deer, I haven’t seen them since the invasion of the woolly jumpers. The politicians and Boris in particular are making a right old mess of our lives, god help us, and the French! Don’t mention the French. There was a photo of some snow in York in the Press.

Saturday 27 November It's rare that we don’t venture out at some time of the day, but we are in the grip of Storm Arwen and it’s not very nice. They’ve got snow in Belper, and the Peak and the disruption is widespread in the country. Rail lines are blocked by fallen trees and two men have already died when their cars were hit by falling branches. I hope Gill and John are ok, they are walking the Cleveland Way and living in their caravan. Of course they are on a hilltop and didn’t get much sleep last night with the noise of the wind and the van rocking. The fence on Andrew’s side is down; fortunately it fell on our lawn and didn’t block his drive. Fred sounded positive, the Physiotherapist has given him some good exercises for his back, let’s hope they work. It started to snow around tea-time but was so wet it will be gone before long. Ellie has tested positive for Covid, but she has been double jabbed and feels ok.

Sunday 28 November The storm finally blew itself out last night, but the snow did settle, and it was cold enough to keep it there. Masks will be compulsory again from Tuesday which makes total sense. It was bitterly cold but there were plenty of people about and M&S was very busy. I got some stuff for tomorrow’s lunch plus Paul bought me nice jumper to put away for Christmas. Then we hopped back into a warm car, and a warm house, got cosy and I finished my Bill Slider detective novel, it’s such a lovely series. It looks like Omicron has already released itself on the British public. Oh for some good, happy news. Tilly left Strictly; I’ve enjoyed watching her blossom. Monday 29 November What a funny start to the day. I deliberately stayed in bed 10 minutes longer and when I did get up and out I discovered the security lock on the garage needed defrosting. The pool was quiet, even so I had the choice of Lane 1 with the chatterboxes swimming side by side, or Lane 2 with Eleanor who is blind and Andrew who thrashes around. The shower room I normally use was occupied so I finally got dressed in the toilets! It’s still very cold but we have been lucky. Some people lost their power in the storm whilst others are still snowed in at Tan Hill, the highest pub (well that was probably a happy accident). Piers Corbyn has taken part in what is possibly the most childish anti-mask video imaginable. I don't think he's all there. The GP Practice Pharmacist rang me to say that they have approved my prescription request to cover Christmas and the New Year; thank god for that. Paul managed to book us each a dental appointment. Outlaws finished tonight and I will miss it; it was such a well scripted, brilliantly acted enjoyable series. Tuesday 30 November Happy birthday Kevin M, sorry you didn’t get a card but the weather at the weekend was fowl enough to stop me from going out. Talk about the early bird catches the worm, I managed to get a GP appointment for next Monday. Triumphant. Because it was early the EE shop was quiet; they earnt my praise for being just so nice and helpful. By the time I left town I had five Christmas presents and just managed to catch the Castle Howard bus. Not a bad day so far. I loved the Christmas Yarn Bombing from Appledore, such wonderful skills. I had lunch, unblocked the shredder, did some sewing and rewarded myself with a half hour read before going to meet Ann and Anita for tea.












46 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 комментария


johnandgillramsden
01 дек. 2021 г.

You’ve done it again, Hedy! Love your trout, comment on Sara’s dress & the Appledore knits! Hoping that Maria’s Dad makes a speedy recovery. Thanks for including us on the Cleveland Way. We managed our 4 legs from Whitby to Redcar! Looking forward to your December adventure. Gill & John xx

Лайк
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
01 дек. 2021 г.
Ответ пользователю

Thank you very much Gill, as usual really I enjoyed doing it.

I'm glad you are enjoying your walking, talk about fit and healthy; I'm full of admiration. Take care, H

Лайк
bottom of page