top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

June 2022 - It's Time to Rejoice and Party

Updated: Jul 3, 2022

Wednesday June 1 I was tired and made a poor start today, but my swim soon woke me up. I managed to catch the 9.30 bus in to town, picked up my new dress from Hobbs and the other that had been taken in, but the wait for the Coastliner coming home was dreary. I thought I saw Mags M at the stop, but she got on a bus before I could say anything. I should dearly love to meet up with her again. Paul had put my washing out and it was nearly dry until a hefty shower came out of nowhere. There is red, white and blue bunting everywhere and it looks so cheerful. Let’s hope the sun comes out and stays out. Fred says that there must be a post-mortem for dad to establish cause of death, because the Surgery won’t give him a death certificate. He was nearly 94 for god’s sake and had just come out of hospital, I think old age and natural causes would do it! Sasha rang, she is still up and down the motorway looking after somebody or other. She deserves time for herself, plus a medal. I love the late evenings of summer when I can open the window and listen to the birds both near and far, singing in the growing dusk; and Mrs Deer gently grazing on the field. It is so calm and peaceful. There was a beautiful new moon; a thin crescent of silver.

Thursday June 2 Happy Platinum Jubilee to the Queen. She deserves our respect, especially when you compare her with other heads of state round the world. It had been a damp night and at 4.30am everything was shrouded in mist, but the sun soon burnt it away and it was good to feel some warmth at last. People travelling abroad on holiday are facing all sorts of misery. Delays at the airports and cancellations even when they are already on the plane. I really feel for them; to have invested money, hopes and dreams in a holiday and have it taken away is not nice. Nicola Sturgeon wants to set aside twenty million pounds for yet another Independence vote. She is obsessed. Her people need that money spending on them, not another useless flight of fancy. Gill has invited us for tea next Tuesday and the menu is mouthwatering. Now what shall I have?? Paul and I went for a good bike ride before lunch. It’s been such a long time since I went on my bike, but I did enjoy it and everywhere was very quiet. Turkey is changing its name to Türkiye in an attempt to rebrand the country. President Erdogan said that it is wrong to be called the same as a bird, but I’ve never been confused. Fly pasts of the Red Arrows, World War II aeroplanes and street parties are marking the first day of the Queen’s celebrations. Friday 3 June It was a cloudy start and very quiet. We decided to go for a bike ride early and rode down into town. Much to our surprise, it was all happening there. York Minster bells were ringing a mammoth four hour peal, there was a craft fayre in the grounds and tourists were milling all around. It was evident that things would get busier as the day went on. We went over the river and down passed the Rowing club where boats were being prepared for the teams, then back over the river on the Railway bridge. I was shocked to see a new road surface and traffic lights at the end of St Mary’s, it shows how long it is since I have ridden that way. Through the hospital grounds, down the cycle track to Muncastergate and home, and so relieved to sit on a nice comfortable seat! We saw preparations for a street party in Galtres Avenue with tables and bunting all set out. It looked quite jolly and will have been one of thousands up and down the country. But we did very little after our trip to the supermarket except read in the peace of the summer house. The sun made an appearance after lunch and just shone and shone into the evening. I just love the fact that people have the chance to celebrate after two and a half years of Covid, sadness and frustration. Phil and Ellie were all set for a party along the row of their cottage gardens.

Saturday 4 June The summery outfit that I put on after my swim was soon discarded for something warmer. It’s June for goodness sake! I love Northallerton, the main streets with the market down the centre, the hustle and bustle and the mix of Yorkshire and Geordie accents. Red, white and blue bunting was everywhere and even the post box outside the post office had been yarn bombed. We had lunch at the Garthway tearoom where the food is just delicious and by the time we left the sun was out. It got so warm that we felt overdressed! After a hot chocolate in the sunshine at the Southside café we jumped in the car and ambled back to York. It was lovely to see Cricket being played in the villages as we drove along. Back in York the clouds were still thick and high. Ian and Maria spent the day with Fred helping to sort out the mountain of dad’s stuff, and according to Ian they only achieved the foothills. I just think it was so kind of them to do it. There was a Garden Party at the Minster for 600 people. The news footage from The Mall showed an amazing scene. It was thick with crowds of people enjoying the sun and the concert and the celebrations. How wonderful. Perhaps it is the Queen who is our Fairy Godmother in the ridiculous theatre that is our political scene today.

Sunday 5 June I have decided that it is time to go to Southampton and help Fred; I cannot selfishly leave everything to him. My one way ticket is booked for Tuesday morning so that I can play it by ear. What is President Macron playing at? He has made the suggestion that we must not humiliate Russia! What? Don’t bully the bully. Is he afraid of something or hedging his bets? Harry, Megan and Boris have all been booed during their public appearances this weekend, but I fear it is water off a duck’s back. They’ve got what they want, public opinion really doesn’t matter. Back into winter clothing, brrr and it’s trying to rain. There was a Pageant in London today for the Jubilee and I would love to have been there. I adore a parade and this one was spectacular and apart from the crowds en route it was also watched by over 12 million people on TV. I had a go at crystallizing some Pansy flowers and they look ok so far. Monday 6 June Happy birthday Jonathan, I hope this is a great year for you. It was raining when I went for my swim, and it’s still chilly. The pool was exceptionally quiet, I don’t know if people are away and stranded because of cancelled flights or just hung over from a long weekend of partying. My crystallized Pansy’s don’t look too good this morning, I think it’s back to the drawing board. Sufficient letters of No Confidence in Boris Johnson have been received to trigger a vote which will take place tonight. If he goes, please don’t vote Liz Truss in. Tony Blair would like to be PM again; he thinks he still has a lot to give. Maybe Tony, but whatever it is we really don’t want it thank you. We went to Leeds for my eye appointment; the journey was straight forward but we couldn’t find the place when we arrived, and I had to ring up for more directions. Hence I was late, but everyone was very nice. We were starving afterwards so we stopped off in Tadcaster on the way home and grabbed a sandwich from Cooplands. A man was sat on a wall at the top of the hill playing a guitar; he didn’t look very happy. It was warm when the sun came out, but it kept going back in. The Underground staff are on a 24 hour strike, I hope I can get across London ok tomorrow.

Tuesday 7 June Up early and ready for the train to Southampton. Boris survived the vote, but it’s not all over yet. The Russian delegate walked out of a meeting of the UN Security Council after his country was accused of using food supplies as a ‘stealth missile against developing countries’ and a move to world food shortages. The train journey to Southampton surprised me by being really smooth. Clean train, no delays and London underground couldn't have been easier. A lorry ploughed into a car in Eastleigh, so the road was closed. Funny, last time I was down there the road was closed because of a vehicle that had caught fire. Fred met me at the station and my cousin Kevin arrived at dad's shortly after me. The three of us set too and bagged a mountain of clothing and linen which was piled into Kev's car. I put the Revitive on Gumtree which got sold that evening. Debz from next door popped in for a chat. It was an odd feeling staying in dad’s house without him there, and no, I did not feel any presence, but I did sleep well in his bed. Johnny Depp caused a lot of excitement when he was spotted in York. Petrol prices are getting really, really silly. Wednesday 8 June Fred and I popped out for some food shopping, then spent the rest of the day sorting out dad's stuff. It was the best place to be as one minute the rain was thundering down, then blue sky then back to rain throughout the day. There is so much from a lifetime and every room is filled with object 'da. The air was full of dust, and we needed the facemasks. A lady from the Coroner's Office rang to say that the autopsy had been done and we could go ahead and make an appointment with the Registrar. Dad died of COPD and Ischemic heart disease which held no surprises. Fred sorted out the downstairs lock up which actually did turn out some unwelcome surprises. I put the electric cooker and a trunk on Gumtree. Fred went home for the night, and I was left in peace and quiet. No tv or radio, just my book to read. Thursday 9 June I went down to the Quays for a swim this morning. It was glorious and I felt refreshed after all that dust. I promised myself that I would go through the photo albums after lunch; it's an odd feeling looking at a life that you know nothing about except a few people involved. It's also sad having to throw stuff away but when it is no longer relevant, what else do you do? Fred filled the car with rubbish ready for us to take to the tip tomorrow after we've been to the Registry Office. A lovely chap called Jim came from Portsmouth in answer to the ads on Gumtree. He brought a big van and took quite a few items of furniture besides the cooker and the trunk. We are both all dusty again. Life is probably happening in the big wide world, but we need to get this job done and find some light at the end of the tunnel. It was nice to hear that Paul and Rod had gone out for a good walk down at Ellerburn. Friday 10 June After last night’s exodus of furniture etc we decided to just let everything go, so I contacted a house clearance, did a video and it is all booked for Tuesday. First stop the Registry office where the Assistant Registrar was very helpful. Next stop the council tip then back to base to recap. The funeral will be on 23 June so I'm going home tomorrow, no point in hanging around. We both set too, Fred in the lock up downstairs and me finishing off in the house and by 6.30pm we were ready to call it a day. Debz gave me some old newspapers for wrapping and it was lovely to see Hope before I left. She is sad that she can't make the funeral, but we know she will be there in spirit. Such a lovely young woman, she deserves to go far. I felt as if I'd missed out on such a lovely day that I went for a walk after tea, it was a beautiful evening. Saturday 11 June Happy birthday wishes to my lovely cousin Russell, and my gorgeous brother-in-law John. I hope you each have a super day. We were both up early and ready to get away, but just a little too eager and the morning dragged waiting for my first train at 12.37pm. I went for a walk round the block so that I could at least get some sunshine, fresh air and exercise before the long journey home. Fred took me to the station and left to go his own home. He still has a few loose ends to tie up, but I hope it will all be done with soon and he can get his life back on track. It was a nice treat travelling first class for a change and I made King’s Cross with plenty of time to spare. Being served with a G&T and a meal on the train was great, I was starving. Paul met me at York and it was lovely to get home, have a shower and get snuggled up. We caught up with the British Sewing Bee, and sadly it was Jill’s turn to go. What an inspiration she is, she can sew better with one good hand and a stump than I can with two hands. Sunday 12 June Back to washing; everything went in after all that dust, and it was a good drying day. Almost too windy! My pots were very dry despite last night’s rain, so I spent some time watering and apologizing to the plants and promising to take better care of them. My god, the Brazilian footballer, Richarlison de Andrade is on the transfer list for a 51 million fee. Just think of the good that money could do in Brazil where kids live on the streets and families in shanty towns. I wore myself out washing and ironing, but at least I had the satisfaction of knowing that everything was clean and away. The rail strike is an unwelcome event coming as it does just as I need to go back down to Southampton for the funeral. Hey-ho, I don’t begrudge them a pay rise given our present state, but couldn’t they postpone it for a week? Monday 13 June Oh the joy of being back in Yearsley pool. A proper swimming pool, 50 yards long with double width lanes and friendly swimmers. Rick looked well after his holiday in Hurghada, which he thoroughly enjoyed. I must get the details, I quite fancy it myself. Prince Andrew has been banned from the Order of the Garter ceremony after Charles and William intervened, and the protesters were out booing Tony Blair as he joined the train of incumbents. He will never get the message. Russia is continuing to wreak havoc on Ukraine. Putin isn’t trying to commit genocide, he’s more intent on obliterating the whole country to prove a point. I’m beginning to think that Hitler had nothing on him. What is it about these Russian leaders that makes them so insecure? Khrushchev was almost as bad with the Cuban Missile Crisis, seeing the West as a threat to his country. Another footballer, Erling Haarland has just transferred to Manchester City for a 51.5 million fee. I’m sorry but I find it quite obscene. Petrol prices are still rocketing; it’s time the government stepped in to help. Sadly, the bodies believed to be of Dom Phillips, the missing journalist and his guide and friend Bruno Pereira have been found tied to a tree in the Amazon region. RIP. The idiotic thing is that their deaths have made people far more aware of what they were trying to expose.

Tuesday 14 June Happy Birthday June, have a lovely day. I woke at three and spent the next few hours worrying about getting to the funeral, talking to the celebrant about the arrangements and icing the cake. After my swim, I caught an early bus and went into town. I didn’t think it was that busy, but I can’t help but notice how dirty the streets are. I managed to get what I wanted, including a stack of birthday cards, but just missed the bus home by 50 yards. I’ve booked my train ticket for the 22nd with fingers tightly crossed that the rail strike doesn’t throw up too many problems. My on-line chat with Will the celebrant was really useful, and I am glad that he is taking the service. What a kind man. He took me through the order of service, and we came to a good agreement. The Russian opposition leader, Alexei Navalny, has disappeared. He was being held in prison on some trumped up charges but when Alexei’s lawyer went to see him he was told there was no record of such a prisoner being held there. Oh, back to the old, old Russia. The government wants to do away with the TV licence and replace it with a tax which will inevitably cost more. I wonder who thought that one up?

Wednesday 15 June

Maria has got the Order of Service sheets organized for the funeral, bless her. Will has sent me his service presentation for the day, and it is very thoughtful and well done. It’s a beautiful day at last, but suddenly I am very stressed. Three souls will be laid to rest next Thursday: my father and two lost children. May God go with them and let them rest in peace forevermore. And now I’m crying at the thought of my inner child being set free. I pulled myself together, slapped on a cleansing face mask and set about cleaning. Paul enjoyed a relaxing massage at Intuitive Massage. I’d heard the place was good and will go myself when all this is over. The news is depressing. An economic downturn, high fuel and household energy bills and now the media want to tell us about which homes will be under water by 2050. No wonder a survey has found that people are not watching the news anymore. Robert Fuller was on The One Show with a item about fledging chicks in his garden; that’s more like it. Steak and chips for tea; that’s more like it.

Thursday 16 June

What an absolutely glorious day. After my swim I stayed in the garden, putting washing out, clearing a few weeds and dead heading the roses. A group of Swifts flew round and round overhead, their beautiful bow shaped wings clear against the blue of the sky. A Blackbird was singing, and a Skylark was ascending somewhere over the field. Bliss. Maria has worked miracles with the Order of Service, and they will arrive tomorrow. I’m still having the heebie jeebies about travelling and the Rail Strike. I don’t begrudge them their claim, but I have no intention of missing that funeral. It seems as if Covid is having a resurgence. That’s all we need. York Council are a stingy crew. The latest is that they want people to pay for parking on Knavesmire Road. Why? There’s plenty of space and parking there means cars are not brought into the city. Interest rates are up and so is inflation. Maria, Ian and Gracie arrived for the weekend; lovely.

Friday 17 June

It was another hot night, and I was glad to get up and go for a swim. I fretted all night about trains and the journey, but I was talking to Rick at the pool, and he gave me a bit more confidence that it will be ok. But if push came to shove then Paul said we would drive down, so I can relax. Ian and Maria are working from home; they will get a bit more peace here than with the background noise of traffic and emergency vehicles in London. Grace asked to be let out and had a mad 45 second chase round the garden, then back to sleep on the sofa. She is so funny. The cosmetics firm Revlon has filed for bankruptcy. Apparently, the sales of makeup and lipstick in particular fell dramatically whilst we were all wearing facemasks! It’s that Giant Hogweed time of year. This plant looks innocent but can cause some horrendous burns. The age threshold for State Pensions has been raised again by two years, which came in very quietly. I think the government are hoping people will fall off the perch and they won’t have to pay them. Paul looked out of the window just in time to see the Barn Owl doing a circuit of the field as he hunted for food, then down suddenly as he spotted his prey. We trooped off to the Walnut Tree to see if we could get a table, but we were too late to book for a meal. The refurbishment is really nice. We managed to find some seats and waited for Ellie and Phil to arrive before ordering a Chinese takeaway for home.

Saturday 18 June The sun was up and it was hot in the back garden, but out of the shelter of the house the wind was cool and it got colder as the day went on. We got to Saltaire about 12.30 and Paul and I took Gracie for a walk along the canal whilst the others all went in for a look round Salt’s Mill. I’m pleased to say that they loved it all. From the shopping aspect to the architectural grandeur of the place and the free David Hockney exhibition, A Year In Normandy. We had lunch at Don’t Tell Titus where the food was ok, but the service was very slow, and they were not dog friendly, so Gracie had to stay in the car. On the way back Phil and Ian popped into Sainsbury’s whilst I stayed in the car like a naughty schoolgirl. Back at home, there was a surprise cake with candles on for me, and I got my birthday presents early. I do love my family. Out in the wider world there is an oil tanker in the Yemen that is rotting with tons of crude oil on board. As no government is taking responsibility for it, the UN is trying to crowd fund to save an impending, monumental disaster. The river Po is drying up and the Italians are very worried about it as it is a major source of water for quite a few cities. Phil and Ian did an excellent spread for tea, then we played Totopoly which Maria won by a mile and my old nag came last.

Sunday 19 June Another sunny start, but that wind is still cool. The house was very quiet after everyone had left. I started with the washing mountain straight away as it was a good drying day, then we put the house back to normal and had lunch. There will be an event for the Repair Café in Scarborough Monday July 18 10-12.30. It’s such a great innovation and hopefully will grow round the country. We could do with one in York. Bee Eaters have been seen for the first time in the UK, nesting in Norfolk. Seeing the Swifts everyday is uplifting for me, but the thought of seeing Bee Eaters is joyous. I’ve only ever seen two; one in Luxor and one just outside Valencia. We popped up to M&S for a few things and it was very busy even at 3.30pm. The chill cabinets were quite depleted, especially the salad selection. I watched Matt Lucas on Who Do You Think You Are as I ironed. It was a very touching programme and Matt came across as a kind and thoughtful person. A new series of MacDonald and Dodds began last night on ITV. I just love watching Jason Watkins, he’s such a good actor. Monday 20 June Happy birthday Audrey, have a lovely day. My swim refreshed me, and I passed my annual check-up at the surgery with flying colours. Will was kind enough to ring to check if Fred and I were ok, and if we might need any further support. I’m sure this week will have its moments, but so far we’re coping nicely as we move towards the end. I bet Macron thought he was safe when he was re-elected, but his troubles have just begun as he has lost control of the French National Assembly. It was a lovely day, almost a shame to be indoors doing art, but I wouldn’t miss it for the world. Daisy saw a mouse and was desperate to get out in the garden and chase it. Andrew looked happier when I saw him. The farmer was out quite late cutting the grass in the field, he should get a good hay crop from it. I saw a deer even later, in the gloom, gently picking her way across the field.

Tuesday 21 June It's the Summer Solstice, the longest day and my birthday; I’m 72 and I don’t feel like it at all. Happy birthday to Alana who is much younger and shares the day and also to Prince William. I hope it’s a great one. I got home from swimming to a pile of cards and presents and enjoyed opening them. I feel sick every time I hear news about the rail strike and will not settle down until tomorrow is over and my journey is done. As usual, everyone involved is calling each other for lying. The government and the unions; I could bash their heads together and tell them to shut up until they have something positive to say. I got a little overwhelmed as cards, flowers and chocolates kept arriving, it’s just so lovely to be remembered. Agneta had a tale of woe; my birthday gift to her was stopped by Swedish customs who accused her of importing goods, so she hasn’t got it! I’m hopping mad so I’ve written to the Swedish Postal service to ask what is going on? I had tea with Gill, Anita and Ann at Gill’s house. John had prepared the most wonderful spread and it was a perfect evening with friends. I felt mean leaving Paul at home, but we shall have a special day when dad’s funeral is over, and I can relax completely. Anita and I saw Buzzards and the Barn Owl as we drove home, and the Fox was out scavenging on the field in the growing dusk.

Wednesday 22 June Happy birthday Trish, have a wonderful day. Another glorious day and I felt refreshed after my swim. Moira met some friends at Bolton Abbey and Daisy had a wonderful time, splashing around in the water. The train to KC was fine, no problems at all, but when I got to Waterloo it was chaos. Trains cancelled left right and centre and people running round with phones clamped to their ears. The station staff were remarkably polite and helpful. I got a seat on a Reading train, then hundreds of others also got on; I think they were just trying to get out of London. Anyway, it set off on time and Fred picked me up at Bracknell. By the time we got to Farnborough I was parched and starving, so we went to Dolce Italia, a lovely Italian Restaurant for a nice meal before turning in. Thursday 23 June Happy birthday to my gorgeous sister-in-law Anne. I hope it’s a belter sweetheart. I was up, ready and waiting for 10.00am and the drive down to Southampton. Fred knows the road like the back of his hand, so we were at the Crematorium in plenty of time – only Kevin was already there! We were a small group (work commitments and health issues prevented several people from attending) dad’s cousins Ann and Joy, his neighbour Debz, our two cousins, Paula and Kevin and dad’s old friends Minh and her husband. Ian and Maria timed it perfectly and arrived just as we were about to go in. I was glad of Ian who sat by me and held my hand throughout the proceedings. The service was led by Will the celebrant, who did a wonderful job, and as the curtain closed, I could feel a cloud lifting and my heart growing lighter. No memories needed or wanted; it’s over at last. Fred, Paula Ian, Maria and I went for a drink before depositing Maria and Ian back at the coach station for their return journey to London. Minh gave me a haircut whilst Fred did some stuff back at dad’s. She got rather emotional and asked us to keep in touch. Then Fred and I made a timely visit to see Auntie Olive, whose health had prevented her from being at the funeral. She’s 92 bless her, and the last of seven siblings. Thank you to all of you who have sent some lovely cards and messages. Both for your kindness and understanding. Friday 24 June Time to go home, back to York and Paul and happiness. Fred drove me and the few useful items that I had wanted to keep. It wasn’t a rail strike day, but it was Friday, so traffic was fairly heavy. The sky seemed to be filled with Kites, soaring round us. I don't know how many we saw as we drove along, but it was probably thirty or forty. My brother is an excellent driver, and his T-Roc very comfortable so we made our way without any difficulties, arriving back in York at 4pm. We were welcomed home by Paul and an aerial display of Starlings who gathered in their hundreds on the pylon and swooped round and round the house, just falling short of a murmuration. Happy, cheeky birds. It was lovely to be home at last. Back in the real world, the Tories have lost two bi-elections and Oliver Dowden has resigned as party chairman in recognition of the defeats. That leaves Boris in deep water and the call for him to stand down is growing louder. Sorry Baron Blunderbuss but you can’t stay in Rwanda forever. Although the idea has its merits. Harry Gration has died. He was the anchor man for Look North for years before his retirement and was well known and loved in York. RIP Harry. My new appointment to see the Consultant has arrived, not August, but December! Good job I’m determined to be as fit and healthy as I can be on my own.

Saturday 25 June Happy birthday to my wonderful brother Fred who joined us for an hour before heading back down south. What a hero, may your life be full of happiness. The Swifts filled the sky, swooping and swirling in the breeze, so full of life and joy. Sadly, it won’t be long before they are going back to Africa. We spent a quiet day, which was fine by me after all the excitement of the week. The breeze was cool and strong too, so it wasn’t really nice out. I’m pleased to say that Andrew is looking so much better and sounding more positive. Phil and Ellie rang as they returned from Trish’s birthday bash; Ellie sent photos and it looked like a nice little family get together. Scarborough seafront was crowded for National Armed Forces Day, they would get an amazing view of the Red Arrows. We caught up with the Sewing Bee and to my delight (and the contestants) nobody was sent home. Otherwise the tv is full of Glastonbury. I thought it was incredible when I was 20, but now all the hype and Paul McCartney just leaves me cold. Wimbledon starts next week. Time to get a good stack of books to read. Back to the pantomime of politics, Boris thinks he’s going to stay for a third term. Oh no he’s not!

Sunday 26 June

Happy birthday Rob, have a great day sweetheart. It was lovely out of the wind, but even the birds were having problems flying. They struggled past the window one way, then came zipping past in the other direction. Quite comical really. Paul is not feeling great, I think he’s got a summer cold poor lamb. Glad I’m home to keep an eye on him. People are complaining of seeing huge rats as big as cats in Liverpool and one or two other towns. Hardly surprising as there is so much food litter around the rats can feast any time they like. I’m fed up with being told to save the planet by cutting down on plastic usage. I should love to, but everything we buy seems to be wrapped in layers of unnecessary cellophane and plastic unless we go to a shop that sells fresh produce. It’s the suppliers that really need be educated more than the consumers. I popped to Sainsbury’s for some veg, and the library for a couple of books, otherwise I didn’t venture far again today. Frank Williams has died at the age of 90. I loved him as the hapless verger in Dad’s Army. RIP Frank. Monday 27 June It was lovely to get back in the pool after four days with no swim. I can’t believe I spent two gloriously sunny days travelling and now it’s gone back into cool, showery weather. That’s not how it’s meant to be. Paul looks a lot brighter today after a good night’s sleep. Baron Blunderbuss says he is not worried about his position and any Tory plots to oust him, and I believe him! Water; ducks back! Changes are coming for the TV licence, with a change back to free licenses for the over 75’s. Piers Corbyn has had his car seized after driving without insurance. What a jerk. I’m not sure who is worse, him or his brother. I’m trying to get my eye surgery back on track, but the next appointment isn’t until 27th July. We had another lovely Art session today, with Mark making us ham, fried egg and chips for lunch. Yummy. Robert Fuller’s wildlife webcams have gone viral and can be watched by anyone on the internet the world over. His years of hard work have paid off and that is just magical. Suddenly my nose and eyes are streaming, and I think I’ve caught Paul’s summer cold. There was a Heron on the field last night, and a later a fox. Tuesday 28 June I watched the sun set last night and saw it rise this morning, I just couldn’t sleep, in fact I was so glad when it was time to get up for a swim. I had planned to go into town for all sorts of things, but suddenly my body said no, and I collapsed on the bed where I stayed for the rest of the morning. I think my cold and recent events just all caught up with me. Paul is still a bit groggy too, but I think he’s on the mend. At least 46 people have been found dead in a truck on the border of Texas with Mexico; abandoned by heartless people traffickers. I would like to see the traffickers get a taste of their own medicine. But how sad that people are so desperate to escape their lives for something better, that they want to go through all that crap. Their own governments obviously don’t care enough to look after the population. According to her e-mail, it’s going to be a while before Carol gets back in the pool, but it will happen and that’s what’s important. Local MP Rachel Maskell is trying to tackle the problem of Air B and B’s taking over local communities and used for noisy parties. Good for you Rachel, you can have my support on that one. Now Barristers have joined the strike queue for justice and fairer wages. What is the world coming to? No wait, GPs are up in arms too after being told to work Saturdays. I wasn’t well enough for tea with the girls, but Anita popped round afterwards with a bar of Turkish Delight. That made me smile. Wednesday 29 June Happy birthday dear Fi, have a lovely day. I felt so much better after a good night’s sleep, and hopefully my cold is on the way out. Dame Deborah James has sadly finally succumbed to the bowel cancer that she was diagnosed with in 2016. Since that time, she has raised a staggering 6.75 million pounds in aid of cancer research. What an inspirational woman. RIP Deborah. The field looks lonely and bare at the moment with lots of seagulls pecking for grubs. The deer will be back when they smell the sweet new grass growing and if I time it right, I might just see the fox cubs come out in the evening for a game of chase. Ghislaine Maxwell has been given a 20 year sentence for sex trafficking. Good, justice has been served at last to a great number of abused women. Annie won The Great British Sewing Bee in a brilliant final. All the contestants made wonderful garments, but Annie’s was definitely the best.

Thursday 30 June My cold is still hanging on, but I am feeling a bit better. Still best not to swim today though. I’m not the only one either as Fred is full of cold too. Maria is in New York for work, and enjoying the experience as well, although she says it is permanently busy and noisy and can’t beat London. Covid is on the increase, mainly with the variants. It’s really getting tiresome. Putin is still inflicting maximum damage on Ukraine. I still don’t get it and I’d hate to see him if he was angry. I went on to Ancestry.co.uk to find a missing relative and as my initial search was successful, I went for a free trial. Suddenly he dropped off the radar. I felt cheated and stopped the free trial straight away as I know I will be charged heftily if I forget later. Are senior and executive managers worth their vast salaries? Heathrow is in chaos as there are too many people to be processed and flights have had to be cancelled. Surely somebody could have foreseen this acceleration in travel needs, and why isn’t there an emergency plan? They obviously don’t have enough customer relations staff, so why can’t the bosses roll up their sleeves? Heinz beans amongst other products, have been removed from the shelves in Tesco because of a huge hike in price. Full marks to Tesco for taking a stand. Hurray, good news at last for victims of the great Post Office Scandal, they are to be awarded a further 19.5 million in compensation. It’s high time the perpetrators were prosecuted too. I love Moles, but I wish they would stay in the field and not dig up my garden. I think we all deserve a nice, long summer holiday.













73 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


johnandgillramsden
Jul 04, 2022

What a difficult month you have had, Hedy. Once again, though, you’ve managed to mix the rough with the smooth and keep me up to speed with bits of news I have missed! So glad we had your uplifting birthday bash/John’s culinary prowess shared with Firm Friends - that gave me a boost, too. We don’t need a birthday excuse to do it again! Hoping July brings you much positivity.

Like
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
Jul 04, 2022
Replying to

Thank you Gill. I hope the walking goes well, no more trips please x

Like

ian.parkin
Jul 02, 2022

There's no end to the yarn bombing!

Like
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
Jul 02, 2022
Replying to

Keep it coming, I say. It's so cheerful and very clever

Like
bottom of page