top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

February 2022 - The Year of the Water Tiger

Tuesday 1 February Chinese New Year, and 2022 is the year of the Water Tiger. Fireworks were popping last night, and it was a while before I made the connection. Another windy day, but thankfully warmer. Ian had his last day at his old job yesterday and now has some time to relax before starting his new one. Sue Gray’s report is making its mark felt; I just wonder how Boris will wriggle free of this one. The main comment that stuck in my head was ‘a clear lack of leadership’. Bryan has been moved onto a general ward and is making a slow but steady recovery. I did little today, but I was pleased to finally finish off the photo albums. There’s another stunning sunset.

Wednesday 2 February Happy birthday Faye, hope it’s a lovely day. I could hear a Robin singing as I went to get the car out; I shall be listening out for Skylarks very soon. I hadn’t even got in the pool before Mary began to lecture me about swimming backwards. Apparently Daphne had been doing back crawl on Monday and accidentally clonked Mary on the head. Why I should be involved beats me, but Mary can suffer for the world. Paul cleaned the kitchen venetian blind, my hero. The scaffolding has come down from Big Ben. That must be the most expensive clock repair in the whole of history. More MPs have shown interest in Boris’ job with Rishi Sunak as the favourite. A two year old girl who went missing in London has been found dead in a garden nearby? How strange and very sad. I waited all day for the HP technician to ring and when he did the screen on my phone froze and I couldn’t answer it. Talk about frustrated. Thursday 3 February I think I’ve got a touch of gout; oh joy. I’m pleased to say that I actually managed to get a face to face appointment with a GP, even though it is next Wednesday. We fancied some sunshine and found it in Scarborough. It was a lovely day, and the sea was as calm as a mill pond. The only disappointment was that both cliff lifts are out of commission for running repairs, so we stayed on the top and walked round by the town hall gardens. It’s a lovely view now that the Futurist has gone. How lovely to pass a clearing and see that suddenly there are Snowdrops everywhere, even some in my garden. There are more resignations from Boris’ camp following the report by Sue Gray into Partygate. How much longer can Boris cling on to a leadership that everyone has doubts about? We watched Landscape Artist of The Year and once again felt that the Wildcard Artist’s painting was far superior to the one submitted by the winner. Friday 4 February I can’t remember the last time it rained, but the ground was wet when I stepped out this morning. It was cold too, but nice to see it getting lighter on a morning. The pool was busy, but it had been closed yesterday due to a fault, so I suspect some people were making up for it. Beth Matthews, a 22 year old from Wales has landed her dream job as a model. The lovely thing about it is that she has Downs Syndrome and the agency have seen beyond it to not only recognise that she is beautiful, but she also has talent. Prices are rising left right and centre with gas going up by over 50%. I dread to think what the new Council tax will be, and York is talking about cutting services. China is backing Russia in the affair over Ukraine. I don’t like the sound of that one little bit. The hospital Physios' are going to send someone to assess Bryan and Anita’s home and have been asking about care arrangements. I hope that means he is home for Anita’s birthday. The Winter Olympics began today in Peking.

Saturday 5 February

My gout is on its way out thank goodness. I got a burst blood vessel in the corner of my eye, and it looked awful. The new medication requires that I have regular eye check-ups; I’m not happy with a drug that interferes with other organs in my body. I got an e-mail urging me to go for a further booster jab, but I’m not having it. I’m not anti-vaccs, but the last two jabs made my Rheumatism flare up and escalated my inflammation levels which took a long time, and steroids to come down. A woman was seriously injured, and a man died when the e-scooter he was on ploughed into a group of women walking innocently down the cycle track. And the Council want to extend the scheme! Unbelievable. A cold windy day. We got a few things in Malton then headed back to Deans for lunch. It was busy, but we soon got served. Tonga didn’t have Covid until the rescue workers arrived. As if they didn’t have enough problems already. John and Gill have been out and about again, this time at Spurn Point. We were there many years ago, doing the same thing and it looks as bleak now as it did then; but there is also something exhilarating about the place with its shifting sands and hidden history. Bryan is home. Hooray!

Sunday 6 February The anniversary of the Queen’s accession to the throne 70 years ago. Congratulations ma’am. It was a real wet and windy night, but the truth is we seriously need the rain, the ground was very dry. Now it’s sunny but I wish the wind would go away. My heart goes out to the parents of Rayan Oram who fell down a well and died after four days, despite desperate attempts to free him. The father had been doing repair work, one minute Rayan was there and the next he was gone. It is every parent’s nightmare. It looks like the PM’s wife has had enough and is urging Boris to step down. 18,000 tablets (notepads) have been unearthed in Egypt which describe the life and times of the ancient civilisation thousands of years ago. My gout has gone thanks to plenty of drinking water and frequent bathing in Witch Hazel to cool my toe and bring down the inflammation.

Monday 7 February The sunrise was so lovely that I just had to take a photo. The pool was very quiet even for a Monday, but I enjoyed my swim, then off to Art with Moira and Denise where I finished off my Wonky Donkeys. I have been lamenting the lack of deer for a while, but today as I daydreamed out of the kitchen window I saw four of them racing along. It was only then that I realised that they were in yonder field, so the little footbridge must have washed away. What a shame. Carrie Johnson is complaining that she is coming in for unjust criticism from the PM's enemies for interfering in Government matters, but there's usually no smoke without fire. One headline read ‘Cyclist ignores red light’. Shock horror. What about the thousands of motorists that jump red lights, every day, everywhere. Caught up with The Great Pottery Throw Down and it was excellent as always, you can just watch the potters get better week on week and I love the encouragement they get from Keith, Richard and Ellie. Tuesday 8 February A damp start. I was on my way back from collecting Ian at the station when a youth on an e-scooter shot out between the lanes of traffic and straight across the road in front of me. He didn’t look in any direction except straight ahead into St John’s. We can save the tax payers a lot of money and end this thing before we have another death. I e-mailed Nigel Ayres and asked him to present my objections to the scheme to the Council. Not only has Elon Musk had to have over 500,000 Tesla Electric cars recalled but he has also a Space Storm has destroyed 40 of his Starlink Satellites. That must have cost him dear, but do I feel sorry for him? Watching the Winter Olympics we were surprised to see that the Ski Jumps were in the middle of an industrial site. We enjoyed having Ian at home and drank to his future success. Wednesday 9 February I do love these mornings when I can see the sun rise. Ian came swimming with me, and I think he enjoyed it. Helen was in charge as Rick had gone home having tested positive. I hope it’s only a mild dose, or better still a false test result. I managed to get the sheets changed and washed whilst Paul and Ian went for a bike ride. A twenty foot deep sink hole has appeared on Stepney Road in Scarborough. I’m glad I read about the road closure as this is the way we normally travel into the town. I’m not sure how the Winter Olympics are going except to say that we haven’t achieved a single medal so far, but there is the usual concern over the Russian Olympians and drug use. It was sad saying goodbye to Ian, he is always lovely company. Colin S has got himself a cute little Cabincar which he can drive without tax, insurance or a driver’s licence.

Thursday 10 February A bright, sunny start. I got my washing out early and it was blowing happily in a very cold wind. Knaresborough was really busy and there were a lot more cars in the car park than we expected. We had a good walk down by the river then, discovering that two of the cafes were closed we climbed the steps up to the castle and made our way into town. It was evident that the Fish and Chip cafe had been really busy too, but we found a table and enjoyed our lunch. The wind got up on the way home and just as we approached it started to rain. Fortunately not enough to wet the washing so we whipped it in to be ironed and put away. Ian and Maria are revamping their balcony and have bought two smart new benches which look just as good inside as out. John Major has waded in over Partygate, but he is only repeating what has already been said. Prince Charles has tested positive for the second time. We caught up with Landscape Artist of The Year featuring lovely Julia Borodina. I thought her painting was outstanding but what do I know? A paper bag won. Happily Julia loved the whole experience and sales of her work have definitely increased since she featured on the programme.

Friday 11 February A lovely sunny, frosty morning, all crisp and clear. A Robin has taken a shine to our chimney pot, he was singing his little heart out when I went swimming and greeted me when I returned. As for the Sparrows I could hear their merry noise coming from a garden down the road. We’ve been abandoned for a better bird feeder, probably sans rats and cats too. The farmer has been diligently repairing his fences which is preventing the deer from coming onto the field, what a shame. I often wonder what makes Putin tick? Here he is, a billionaire President of one of the biggest countries in the world and yet he talks about being threatened by NATO. It just doesn’t add up. Bryan is slowly improving each day. I wish Mick had the same mobility, it would help him help himself and then you would definitely see him getting better too. Cressida Dick is history. She has been Commissioner of the Met for five years in which time standards in the Police force seem to have steadily declined. The Lord Mayor of London Sadiq Khan said that he had lost confidence in her and so she finally resigned. Her record does not glow. The Death in Paradise scripts are getting dafter. Saturday 12 February No two days are alike at the moment. After yesterday’s gorgeous sunshine it’s turned cold and blustery with rain in the mix. Ellie has pressed some Pansies as an experiment for Maria’s wedding. I know it’s a while yet, but I must start doing something myself, these things can’t be left to chance. The Russians have now surrounded Ukraine and still deny that they will invade, but such hostile actions are very threatening. It all reminds me of the Cuban missile crises and that was a horrible time for the World. The photo from Ellie showed Ian, Maria and Gracie as they went for a walk in a park somewhere in London. The sky was blue, and it looked like a nice day, whilst here the cold wind blew, and the rain made it feel really wintry. Selby was busy enough when we arrived. We had some lunch and did a bit of shopping but as we left you could see that other people were also heading for home. Talk about the rule of fear, Lassa Fever is the next thing sent to frighten us, except it is not contagious in the same way as Covid. Saturday night TV is just rubbish. Sunday 13 February The rain is raining all around, It falls on land and tree, It rains on umbrellas here, And all the ships at sea (Robert Louis Stevenson). Maria, Ian, Phil and Ellie dined out at the Supperclub Tube in Walthamstow last night and we got pictures and reports of a great evening. The venue is a retired Tube carriage and the menu South American with a Colombian chef. It sounded wonderful. I couldn’t do anything outdoors so I cleaned the house, and now there’s a lovely smell from the new polish. Call the Midwife ended with a train crash. I hope it’s not going down the same route as the soap operas.

Monday 14 February Happy birthday Anita, all my love dear friend. It was surprisingly dry after yesterday’s non-stop rain, so I was able to put my swimmies out for a blow. There was a Wren singing in the hedge, Long Tailed Tits were flitting about in their little gang, and I could hear a Bluetit somewhere. All very springlike despite the weather. But I miss seeing the deer, and the field almost has no purpose without them. An inquiry starts today into the Post Office Scandal. It’s time the Post Office Managers were held to account for the sake of all the sub Post Masters who were wrongly accused, jailed or even died with a cloud over their heads. I escaped the dentist without any work being done, but it still cost me over £20. I was cheered by a large patch of Snowdrops in a nearby garden of a Student let. Beautiful despite the rubbish. At last the rain stopped, Paul went for a bike ride, and I popped in to see Anita and Bryan. She liked her birthday present and card and it was lovely to see Bryan looking so well. We caught up with The Great Pottery Throwdown; I love it. The work the contestants produce is astonishing and the banter between Keith, Richard and Ellie is great. Tuesday 15 February After a disappointing start the sun came out. It was shy to start with, but I took advantage and got my washing done, out and dry. Paul went to play snooker with Colin whilst I popped into town and couldn’t find anything on my list. Worse still, I was really stiff, and walking was not a pleasure. I met up with Ann and Gill at Deans and because I wanted a salad I chose the Goat’s cheese quiche. Big mistake as it kept me awake for most of the night and I came out in a rash on my tummy. I saw later that I had scratched myself raw. The Russians say that they are withdrawing from the Ukraine but apparently there is no evidence to that effect. If you want peace, the last thing you do is start a war. My lovely sister-in-law Anne rang with some disturbing health news. Please god, look after her and make her well again. Wednesday 16 February Storm Dudley has hit the UK and the wind is up again, something like 45miles per hour in York. Of course it is the day the recycling is collected, and the street was strewn with rubbish and boxes. I spent five minutes on my way to the pool just picking up litter and making sure box lids were off the road and safely secured. You wouldn’t want one of those flying in to your windscreen. I was surprised at how many people had gone to the pool on their bikes, it was either very brave, foolish or desperate. Prince Andrew has settled out of court but without any apology. He only has one military title left and we in York would like to see him stripped of his Dukedom. A grand old duke he is not. The Russians are at it again with athletes and drugs. This time it is 15 year old Kamila Valieva who has tested positive and the excuses are derisible, but weirdly the IOC have let her carry on which sends out all the wrong messages. I can't help but wonder if it is political.

Thursday 17 February The wind raged most of the night hitting 49 miles per hour in York, settled down for a couple of hours then returned as bad as ever. The day’s plans were up-skittled when a nurse rang from the surgery, and I agreed to go for my blood test straight away instead of the afternoon; luckily I was also able to get my next prescription sorted out at the same time. We finally got to John and Anne’s just before mid-day. It was good to see Anne looking so well, but then she has a very positive attitude. She is waiting now for a prognosis and news of possible chemotherapy. Her garden looked very pretty with Aconites and Snowdrops dotted everywhere. Fortunately Kamila Valieva’s performance did not win her a medal. What is Putin after with his cat and mouse game? Is he trying to tell the world that despite the rumours that he has Parkinson's Disease and Cancer, he’s still a very powerful man.

Friday 18 February The wind and rain woke me during the night as Storm Eunice swept in. Fear is always worse at night especially after hearing about the poor dogs that died when a severed power cable hit their kennel block and they were all electrocuted. It had calmed down by early morning, but the pool was very quiet. What I didn’t expect was sunshine and there was plenty of it about even as the wind ramped up to 60 then 69mph in York. We met Rod and Joyce for lunch at the Waterfront in Naburn Marina. It’s described as a café, but that doesn’t do it justice and thank you to Anita for recommending it. The food was great, the service was excellent and it’s a lovely venue. I bet it will be great in the summer when you can sit out by the river. The roof on the Dome was shredded by the wind and the roof of the Spurs football stadium was visibly bouncing. There are numerous reports of trees are blowing down as well as high sided vehicles being blown over. I’m glad we don’t live in a country where this sort of phenomenon happens every year as a matter of course, it’s just plain scary. My sympathy certainly goes out to air pilots trying to land planes, what a responsibility. It looks like the only chance of GB earning a medal at this Winter Olympics is going to come with the men and women’s Curling teams. A tower at Grain power station in Kent was snapped in two by the wind, forcing the plant to be closed down.

Saturday 19 February It was lovely to see sunshine, so I whipped my washing out quickly before it disappeared behind a cloud, then we went to the supermarket to replenish our empty fridge. Paul just managed to put a temporary repair on the summer house roof where the wind had ripped off some of the felting, and I had just managed to get the washing in before it started to rain. Mercifully there was little wind, but then it started to sleet which turned into big, fat, wet flakes of snow. Then it laid. It was not a nice day. GB has a medal at last when the Men’s Curling team achieved a Silver in the Winter Olympics. Congratulations and thank you. A couple that made mega bucks out of selling PPE to the NHS during the height of the pandemic have just bought a villa for 30million. I can't help but think they over-charged. Oh lovely, I see that the new car registration plates will bear the Union Jack. An hour ago it was white over outside, then the sun came out and it’s all disappearing fast. The damage done by Storm Eunice is awful. Houses and cars destroyed by falling trees, people killed by flying debris; and it’s still not done with us.

Sunday 20 February Happy Birthday Glyn, I hope you enjoy your birthday lunch. The Women’s Curling team did it and GB has a Gold medal at last. Congratulations ladies and thank you, you are the best. The back lawn is like a lake already and the forecast is for rain most of the day. We have no rain for weeks and then we’re waterlogged! Come on you weather sprites, you can do better than that. I got a rather distressed message from Sue mid-morning and discovered that she needed to go to hospital but didn’t know where to go or what to do. I have to say that the staff were brilliant, and a young Nursing Assistant brought a wheelchair out to the car and took us up to the ward where they were expecting her. I stayed until I knew she was settled and I was able to telephone her lovely daughter Kerrie and update her. It’s not as windy as I thought it was going to be, or is it that I have got used to it. Jamal Edwards died today at the age of 31.He was young, gifted and black, a real role model. A great loss to the world. RIP Jamal.

Monday 21 February Auntie Olive is 92 today, I was really pleased when she rang to say how much she loved her flowers. After a wet and wild night it was hardly surprising to see the River Foss running high and the Ouse was reportedly 4.233 metres above its normal level and rising. Is that Storm Franklin, or is that yet to come? Half term so the pool was nice and quiet. Kerrie rang. Sue hates being in hospital, and she was worried about a leak in the kitchen, so I scooted round there and emptied a bucket that was set to catch the drips. Martin will be at the house tomorrow so hopefully the plumber can get in to fix it. The Queen has Covid, I wonder if she will miss Prince Andrew if he does go to live in America. We certainly won't. Moira came and it was back to Art as usual; I really miss it when we don’t go. I did a bleach on ink sketch and the effect was quite dramatic. It was nice to see the sun again.

Tuesday 22 February A windy start with some rain around, but it wasn’t cold, and the sun did come out eventually. Oh how I long to see the deer back on the field and hear the Sparrows squabbling in the hedge again. Paul went to play pool with Colin, and I went to Malton on the bus. Ewen Sergison’s collection of classic cars was completely trashed when Storm Eunice brought the whole building they were in crashing down. The photos looked devastating. The Coastliner buses are being delayed due to the Wharfe in flood at Tadcaster. Elsewhere there are 165 flood alerts with 10 on the Ouse at York and 2 on the (Yorkshire) Derwent. The water was flowing very fast at Malton, but I have seen it much higher. Sue is being transferred to the Rehabilitation Unit at Peppermill Court, which is a huge relief all round. Tea with the girls, minus Gill who was on half term Granny duty. Anita says Bryan is doing really well, but the best news is that Andrew and Shaz are getting married in October in York. The physiotherapist seems to be making progress with Mick and got some movement in his leg yesterday. Well done Mick.

Wednesday 23 February Happy birthday Debbie, have a wonderful day. The sun was up, and the wind was getting ready to ramp up for the latest storm. I heard a sound as I got home from swimming, faint and in the distance, but yes, it was definitely a Skylark. Hurray, now I know spring really is on the way. Maria says that her dad is feeling so much better and is more like his old, cheerful self at last. The wind was so strong I practically nailed the sheets to the washing line. It’s all quiet on the Boris front; that man must be Teflon coated. None of Putin’s allies agree with his warmongering and even his pals the Chinese have voiced their disapproval. Sue is not impressed with Peppermill Court, and Kerrie can’t find out what is happening. Thursday 24 February I pray for the people of Ukraine whose country has been invaded by Vladimir Putin against advice from his generals and allies. Here is a man with a big chip on his shoulder, so nothing is going to satisfy or impress him. The end of most Covid restrictions and there were very few facemasks in evidence on the station, and even less in Doncaster. The weather in Sheffield was just awful, cold, wet, windy, sleet, yuk. Paula was ok, but her house is a cold, gloomy place, high up on the top of a hill. I was glad to get back to York. Sue has settled into Peppermill Court and the staff are lovely. It didn’t help that they had the wrong phone number for Kerrie, but it’s all sorted now, and Sue will go home for rehabilitation, backed up by the Emergency team for six weeks until she is back on her feet. I saw a fox from my bedroom window. Nature always lifts my spirits. Paul made tea which also lifted my spirits. Friday 25 February This month is fast coming to its end and will go out on a sunny note by the looks of things. It was blue sky from end to end all morning and the A64 was busy with traffic heading to the coast. The pool was lovely and quiet and peaceful. The Bluetits are enjoying having the garden to themselves and whilst I moan about not hearing the Sparrows or seeing the Deer, I know I am lucky to have all this open space and fresh air. It is so peaceful here and that is why I love it so much. I wore myself out what with swimming, washing and shopping and I was still tired from yesterday, so it was no surprise that I nodded off this afternoon. Several times. I grieve for the people of Ukraine who are not allowed to live their lives in peace, in their own way, in the country that they love. It reminds me of how the Russians tried to make Poland bow to them, even after independence. Saturday 26 February It's a lovely sunny start and the Bluetits are in and out of the nesting box. Boris has sent a message on social media to the people of Russia that he believes the war against Ukraine is not in their name. For once in his life he is telling the truth. We were enjoying the drive over to Beverley when all of a sudden, wham, a Grouse hit us full in the windshield. The noise was awful, but thankfully there was no damage done. I love Beverley and it’s even better when it is market day in the sunshine. We enjoyed our lunch at The Angel and a potter round. The strap came off my handbag just as we were about to cross a busy road; fortunately I caught it and we were able to mend it. A trial is being run in Wales using used disposable nappies in the road surfacing process. Apparently there is no smell, and the nappies help to strengthen the asphalt. Other uses are also being trialled in a bid to save millions of disposable nappies from landfill sites. What I dislike most about Celebrity Mastermind are contestants who, not only are as thick as two short planks, but arrogant and silly with it. Sunday 27 February Happy birthday Sue. It was so lovely to see you at home, happy and well after such a trying week. Best present ever. It was also nice to meet Kerrie at last. Another gorgeous sunny day, even though the wind is a bit brisk and chilly. Putin’s army crashes on further into Ukraine, he must be the most despised man in the world today, but I don’t suppose that will move him. It takes the heat off Boris and his shifty antics. After visiting Sue I did some housework then sat down and read. That was my treat. I’m working my way through the Ruth Galloway novels by Elly Griffiths. A gentle, satisfying read. My day was made when I looked out of the window and saw a deer! How it got there I don’t know or care, all I know is that it really lifted my spirits. Monday 28 February Thank goodness this month has come to an end. The weather has been fowl and reports of Russia invading Ukraine were sadly true. I can’t see a quick end in sight either, however it looks as if Vlodomir Zelenskyy is a far stronger adversary than Putin imagined. May god go with you Vlodomir. I called in on Audrey on my way back from the pool and discovered that she has been really poorly, but her granddaughter has nursed her through it. It’s going to be a while before she goes swimming though. It was disappointing to see the rain after the sunshine of the weekend, but the weather is so changeable at the moment. Thank goodness we are not in Australia where the flooding is at a record level. I can’t believe that councils in the UK are still allowing homes to be built on flood plains! And then we the public are berated for global warming. I saw the deer again this morning, how lovely. John and Anne watched Susan Calman’s Grand Day Out and spotted Phil in a clip from when we went to the World Championship Hen Racing in Bonsall a couple of years ago. (Episode 4 The Peak district).














49 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


johnandgillramsden
Mar 02, 2022

Like you, I’m so glad February is over & we have more daylight hours to look forward to. Sadly, we will definitely have many dark March days ahead with Putin & his determined antics. Shocking. It was an eventful month and so brilliantly summarised. Lots of washing done, too! (Love the photo of your family on the stepped monument!)

Like
hedthoughts
Mar 02, 2022
Replying to

Oh dear, you spotted the washing. It wasn't until I read it back that I realised how often I did it. 😏

Like

ian.parkin
Mar 02, 2022

Aah chicken racing, it feels like a lifetime ago now!

Like
hedthoughts
Mar 02, 2022
Replying to

And it's back this year, woohoo

Like
bottom of page