top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

Covid – 19: Co(rona)Vi(rus)D(isease)(20)19 June 2020

Updated: Jul 3, 2020


Monday 1 June Another lovely day, but I spent most of the morning working on my blog. Then we have a good bike ride round the city, managing to get the wind at our backs for most of the day. It’s still very quiet in town and by the Minster. Riots in America over the death of George Floyd when a policeman knelt on his neck for nine minutes. It fills me with a mixture of sadness and anger that anyone could do that to another human being. And what did Trump do? He bolted whilst America burned. Our day is peaceful otherwise. Waiting to hear about Ian’s job. Do some washing and dead head the roses for their petals/confetti making. Carole’s dad has died, not from the C – virus but a fall. Rest in peace. He couldn’t have wished for a better daughter; she was very good to him. Everything needs water, but I left it until the sun was off the garden for greater benefit. Rubbish on television, thank goodness for my quiz book.

Tuesday 2 June 3.30am and our resident Blackbird was already up singing his familiar refrain. Blackout Tuesday when the media falls silent for an hour in protest at the killing of George Floyd. But before we beatify him, I think we should spare a thought for the heavily pregnant, young black woman whom he and a small gang terrorised in her own home a few weeks earlier.

In the midst of death, life. I opened the window this morning and whilst I was speculating at the size of Mrs Deer, another Deer popped up. Then two little fawns romped after her. Talk about excited. More excitement, we took a picnic and went to Scarborough. Stopped at Judy’s to use the loo, and a lovely catch up sd (social distance) of course, then on to the Shuttleworth Gardens on South Cliff. It was glorious. Peaceful, lovely sky, blue sea and a perfect view of the castle. The toilets were open too! After a nice stroll we jumped in the car and went to see Heather to drop off some magazines for John. She had a book ready on a ledge in the garage for me and just as I was about to leave she came from the garden. A quick sd chat, then off home. Cut the grass. Don’t know how many miles we’ve done on our bikes since lockdown began, but we didn’t add to it today. Still no news from Ian. Rubbish night for sleep.

Wednesday 3 June Rain. Steady, quiet, much needed rain. James Corden used his Late, Late Show in America to highlight the need to end Black oppression. It was heartfelt and he wasn’t reading from an idiot board. Watch his YouTube video and learn Donald Trump. The Italians are not happy and want out of the Eurozone, a return to the Lira and elections for a new government. Ann brought me some Ryvita from Sainsburys, bless her. They don’t do it at Aldi, and I’m not queuing. There’s been a helicopter hovering over the A64 for quite a while. We may never know why? Paul’s phone has frozen. In fact it has stopped working. Carphone Warehouse has been absorbed into the Curry'/PC World stores, the girl in the Phone Repair shop said send it back and iD Mobile referred me to their repair team. Temporarily closed of course. Went on to the phone website, followed the instructions and got the phone working again. Phew. That’s four hours I’ll never get back. Hailstones! Not rain but hailstones. I’m in shock; Ian did not get his job; his boss took it. If he had not worked hard and produced a report to show how getting rid of his job would cost the firm thousands, he could have been redundant but been better paid doing it freelance. Instead he feels betrayed, and rightly so. But as one door closes, another opens and his will be a brighter future because of it. It is after 8pm when the sun finally breaks through shedding the long shadows that I love on the field.

Thursday 4 June Dull day and cool after the rain of yesterday. I’m still struggling with how a much respected and effective person in a role that is vital to the industry of that firm can be made redundant, and then that role is given to his boss whose job wasn’t necessary. A Robin visited me whilst I was in the kitchen, then a Blackbird. Strange, but I drew comfort from it. All four officers now face charges in the killing of George Floyd. Good. Mexico and Brazil have dreadful numbers of deaths. I still can’t fathom ours out. Our Government are adding them retrospectively, so who knows what the truth is? Contact LNER again about my ticket refund which I initially requested on 4 April. Ride down to Morrisons for a few bits. Ian has a consultation with work at 4.30. I’ve e-mailed him lots of info on redundancy/unfair dismissal and quite a few promising looking jobs. The Minster Song School is to close. It was founded in 1903, but historically goes back to 627. Wiped out by a ‘Flu virus! Mrs Deer on the field and one little body sat down, I think we have Fawn number three.

Friday 5 June I woke to the sound of an unfamiliar tapping, like a dripping noise. It’s pouring down and we’ve got a leak! 3.30am and we were both in a deep sleep. It’s come from where the flat roof of the bathroom meets the house. Probably the flashing has shrunk from the wall in all that dry weather. Paul did what he could and fortunately it stopped raining. Now comes the repair job and the forecast is for a wet and windy weekend. My washing is drying nicely in the breeze. Paul did a temporary repair and just got finished when it rained again. Gill is really into the Flaxton village website where she contributes articles about wild flowers and most recently the dangers of Giant Hogweed and other plants of the genre. It’s an essential read and the website is impressive too. Down to East Parade to post a letter for Phil and popped a card in for Lynne at the wrong house! She came out fortunately and said not to worry. Her garden is full of roses and she’s going to let me have some petals. Chased by a dirty black cloud all the way back up the bike track. Just got in, there were a few heavy spots then it passed over. I suppose the exercise is good. Cup of tea and some ironing before making the evening meal. I watched the moon rise, what a magical sight, it was a perfect golden ball in a darkening blue sky.

Saturday 6 June Rain overnight but Paul’s temporary repair held and we had no more leaks. Cool morning with the threat of more rain. Did the supermarket shop before breakfast and it was busy enough, but better. I’m still full of disappointment for Ian, but at the same time confident that he will actually come out of this in a better place. I’m not so scared of the C -virus anymore. That may be a bit daft but it’s gone on for so long that I think I’m past caring. It’s such an unpleasant day that we didn’t go out again. Listened to The Great Post Office Trial. It’s beyond belief how the Post Office criminalised Sub Post Masters whilst denying that it was their own computer system that was at fault. They ruined lives and reputations and tried to discredit people before admitting liability. They’ve cost ordinary people thousands of pounds which they will never get back. One child was spat at on the school bus; who does that, especially to an innocent child? If we didn’t need the Post Office, I’d never use it ever again. The management stinks from the top down. I’ve twisted my knee in my sleep again, it’s very painful and quite debilitating. Had a trawl and E-mailed Ian some more Producer’s jobs. Chatted to Fred, he’s had a ride down to Bognor just to do something different. It was cool and damp, but there were still people having picnics on the beach and youngsters in the sea. The streets of major cities across the world have seen hundreds of thousands of people protesting against racial abuse. It made me feel quite emotional, especially as they have to defy social distancing to be there. As far as I’m concerned, a person is a person. End of story.

Another beautiful moonlit night: a flower moon I think they call it.

Sunday 7 June Another dreadful night’s sleep; I was still awake at four listening to the blackbird. We’re not used to this sedentary life. I’ve woken up all crumpled, thank goodness for a nice hot shower. I’m losing track of days again. It rained during the night but we’ve had no more leakage. The field looks quiet, then two ears twitch and Mrs Deer turns her head. She has a very calming effect on me. Paul wants some 3in1 oil and a few other bits so we cycled up to Wilko Motorsave and then carried on for our bike ride. It was cold with spits and spots of rain. Loads of joggers out, a few dog walkers and quite a bit of traffic, but we only saw two more cyclists doing the same as us. The exercise did my knee good, but now my shoulder hurts! Made some scones, and prepared tea, nice and warm in the kitchen. More protests are taking place about the abuse of Black people with tens of thousands marching in London and other cities around the UK. Sadly there is that element of violence as usual, but the message is out there and the majority of the public support it for all the right reasons. What I don’t care for is the mindless destruction. Tearing down the past does not make for a better future, understanding it does that. If you destroy the past how can you measure how far you have come? It is time to say farewell to Dr John Sentamu who has been our Archbishop for 15 years. Now he’s a black man and what a fabulous Archbishop he has been. Someone we have great respect for and have been really proud of in York. Eight days have passed without any C -virus related deaths in York.

Monday 7 June Message from Sharley in Australia, her dad has died. He was in his late 90s and she has cared for him at home for a long time. Her early years were lonely, but here is proof that love will flourish if given the chance. Where there’s a will, there’s a way. It’s a cool day, but at least it’s dry. Someone is coming for the composting bin this evening, so I will get it ready and put it on the drive for them to collect. Good long bike ride today, it wasn’t really cold once we got going, but coming back through the city was sad. The people and the bustle give York its atmosphere and without it the place is a shadow. Penny is going to share getting flowers for Sharley. Jeremy Vine show topic, ‘Are you racist if you don’t go and demonstrate’? Oh he does whip up a frenzy. The best demonstration that you are not racist is in your behaviour. But this should be reflected in everything, not just black and ethnic minorities but all walks of society. People are people and people populate the world. I wonder how Ian is doing? Garden is looking pretty, Philadelphus coming out, Tiger Lilies look gorgeous, Honeysuckle is rampant, Ceanothus is still in bloom and covered in bees,

Geum is a never ending show of apricot and my Trachelospermum jasminoides is covered in little buds. The Campanula is a raft of blue flowers and the Sunflowers are nodding their yellow heads happily. Mrs Deer on the field. I can just make out the top of her fawn’s head as it hops around in the long grass. I watched the Barn Owl do a circuit of the field before pouncing on dinner.

Tuesday 9 June

Bonnie morning, if a trifle cool. Mrs Deer is gently grazing. Sharley’s flowers have arrived already, but then I forget that it is almost tomorrow in Australia. Someone is coming to give us an estimate for the repair of the flat roof. Off to Bridlington today, it was a lovely drive and a gorgeous day. Blue sky, gentle breeze if a bit sharp, and plenty of fresh air. There were quite a few people about but it wasn’t heaving. Just nice really. Got fish and chips and ate them under the ever watchful eyes of the Gulls and then walked to the end of the pier. Daphne persuaded Malc to go to Filey and the little video she sent told me that they were enjoying themselves too. Rod and Joyce went to Sherriff Hutton to see her sister and had tea in the garden. Refreshment for the soul and with common sense there’s no reason why we shouldn’t do it. Prince Andrew is proving that you can be an idiot with poor judgement no matter what your status is. Washing dry, ironed and away for another day. Rubbish on TV, end up watching a Mike Myers film, daft but cheerful.

Wednesday 10 June Happy birthday to the Duke of Edinburgh who is 99 today. Something spooked Mrs Deer, she shot down the field with her fawn in tow and disappeared into the copse at the end. It was such a lovely day yesterday and now it’s raining and I can’t muster any enthusiasm for anything. Done my exercises, changed the bedding, what next? We carry on with our lives whilst the experts and politicians all carry on shouting and blaming and pontificating. It’s just as boring a spectacle as Brexit. Cycled in to York for some odds and sods, it’s like a ghost town and lots of businesses have closed down. All we need are greedy landlords on reopening and it will take years to recover. Ian’s had a ‘chat’ to somebody he sent his details to. It sounded positive and he will know next week if there will be a second interview. Repair Workshop, Great British Sewing Bee and Plebs tonight, excellent. Can’t sleep for the pain in my bicep.

Thursday 11 June John and Russell both have birthdays today. Happy birthday fellas. Hope you are much better after your transplant Russ. It’s a cool, blustery day with a strong hint of rain. The field looks deserted, but I can see Mrs Deer’s ears. Yep, there she goes, you can’t fool me Mrs Deer. Trimmed the hair at the back of Paul’s neck which looks a lot better. Sleep is a real problem at the moment. I either lay awake for hours or go in a real deep sleep and when I wake up I’ve twisted some part of my anatomy and then lain on it; the pain is awful. It’s usually knees and hands and now it’s my arm. Reading Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman. Penny recommended it a couple of years ago but she’d passed her copy on. A really unexpected story wonderfully told and very engaging. Russell says he’s slowly getting better. Made another request to LNER for a refund on my London tickets. Accepted a quote from Future Roof to repair/renew the flat roof. Penny’s having a really rough time with her cancer. The chemo makes her ill and now she has to go for radiotherapy on her brain in case some of the small cells have spread. Makes you realise how lucky we are just to have good health. She is such a lovely lady and definitely doesn’t deserve this. Despite the look of the weather we had a lovely bike ride and my washing is dry and ready to iron.

Friday 12 June

Tied myself in knots again last night. My arm still aches, but now I’ve twisted my left knee. Massage, massage, massage. The Chinese have taken Pangolins and dogs off the list for food and medicine. There’s a list?! Another dull, damp day. It’s May and we’re wearing winter clothes. Quick supermarket shop, the weather means that it’s relatively quiet and there’s no queuing. Did some washing but wasn’t quite as successful as yesterday when it came to drying. Paul went for a bike ride on his own as I wanted to wash the kitchen floor. But he spied Mrs Deer on the field with her twins so everything got delayed a while as we watched them playing and suckling. Magic. Shame I haven’t got a super duper camera to record the moment.

Saturday 13 June The sun is out despite threats of thunder storms in earlier forecasts. I do get fed up of the media using words like ‘arctic blast’ torrential downpour’ ‘tropical heatwave’. It’s all so dramatic and in the end we take no notice and it so often doesn’t happen anyway. Slept well and my arm and leg are much better, all that ibuprofen. Just one deer on the field this morning gently grazing. The garden seemed to be filled with Sparrows, hopping, chirping, flying off the garage and summerhouse roofs. Wonder if they’re fledging? Malton wasn’t too busy, but it was nice in the sunshine and lovely to get out. Had a nice fast bike ride before tea. Fred is plodding on; he went to Gosport for a visit and quite enjoyed the change of scenery. Loads of demonstrations around the country. People fighting the police, trying to topple statues whilst others were trying to stop them being toppled. This is all getting out of hand. Black lives do matter, as do all other people. There is no need to bully or shame or fight and kill in the twenty first century, but it’s happening more and more. People are drawn in to drink and drugs; trapped into prostitution; murdered, but don’t their lives matter? People are raped, children groomed and abused, don’t their lives matter? We as a species should be ashamed that there are people living in misery, loneliness, destitution, modern slavery and all at the hands of other people. Respect is what is called for and the reason I'm upset is because I've always believed that we all deserve a life and all life matters, but this movement almost insists many of us just don't care, when we do. Had a wonderful family chat on-line. Finn and Molly had a picnic in the garden with Phil and Ellie. Finn adores Phil and they spent a lot of time looking in the tool box and seeing how things work. Maria is hoping she has done enough to get into a Community Garden scheme as a volunteer gardener. She has such green fingers.

Sunday 14 June

It was a warm, damp night and it’s much the same this morning. A quick storm would have cleared the air, but they say the sun will come out. Just a big fat Pheasant on the field this morning. It’s being suggested that the C – virus started in August of last year in China? Hmm that doesn’t sound too far-fetched to me. Paul and Helen C came round to collect a root of Yellow Loosestrife that I dug up for their garden. It was lovely to see them and they stayed talking for quite a while. Cheered me up no end. Did very little for the rest of the day apart from read and cut the grass. It got very hot. Rang dad, he’s staying cheerful, but dying to go out on his own. Paul made tea, that was nice. I’m getting restless, I want my freedom.

Monday 15 June Slept better with the aid of an ibuprofen to relax my muscles. I think Helen and Paul’s visit yesterday helped too. The air is warm and clammy with mist in the distance. Shops and businesses open again today so Paul has nipped into town for a few things armed a with face mask. Feeling quite unmotivated, which isn’t like me. Two pheasants on the field, they always seem to be near us; wonder if they’ve got a nest there. We’ve certainly got a Blackbird nesting in the beech hedge at the bottom of the garden and some Sparrows. Read for most of the day then at 3 o’clock I decided to go for a bike ride on my own. I couldn’t face another ride on the cycle track so went the long way round to Morrisons which was more enjoyable. It was nice to have a choice anyway. Carried on up Hull Road, down by B&Q and out to Murton. It got quite hot and I could have stopped to take my top off, but I just didn’t want to. Saw three huge Buzzards circling in the thermals above Murton, what a glorious sight. Passed the field where the Skylarks nest and heard one going up; and there it was. To think that such a beautiful noise comes from such a tiny creature. There’s a gorgeous sunset. Another humid night when sleep is elusive.

Tuesday 16 June Don’t want to get up, but I make myself exercise and shower. It’s still humid in a cool and clammy way. Looking at Christine Debrosky’s latest painting on-line reminded me of John Ridgewell the British Surrealist artist who taught me how to look at paintings. If I close my eyes I can be back in the Lecture Theatre in college in an instant listening spellbound to a man in a white linen suit. I’d be very happy with one of his paintings on my wall. The number of people who have lost jobs through this pandemic suddenly makes me quite scared for Ian. Thankfully he is made of stern stuff. Rang Paula for a chat, I really don’t know how she copes mentally with not being able to get out of bed never mind leave the house; especially as she has such a lively intelligent brain. Talking to her makes me pull myself together and just as I resolved to go into to the bank and try and see if I can claim for my train tickets on my credit card, Paul suggests a bike ride. It was a good one too. We rode up to Hull Road (avoiding the bike track) and then did a loop round the city, through the deserted University, over Low Moor and the Millennium bridge, down the river side path to Scarborough bridge through Bootham Park and home via Heworth Green. Lovely. It was a lot warmer than I realised and soon shed my fleece. After lunch I sat and read (haha) and was woken by a ping on my phone. It was an e-mail from LNER confirming that my claim had been dealt with and the money was on its way to my bank. Yippee.

Wednesday 17 June

Another cool but humid start. Can’t help but think that a good storm would clear the air. Still getting knotted up as I sleep, I’m obviously not relaxed and my arm hurts again. I’m determined to be more positive and do something rather than mope about or just read. Paul went for a ride on his motorbike and I did some work on the laptop then out came the duster, polish and hoover and I had a good clean round.

The Street Cat named Bob has died, now that is sad. He was 14 and finding him saved his owner’s life by caring for the animal and having something to care for. Rode down to the greengrocers for veg. It got really hot again so sat and read in the summer house. Rod and Joyce will come over one day next week and we can sd in the garden. Sadly Liz left the Great British Sewing Bee last night. Lovely sunset.

Thursday 18 June Not a great forecast and it’s trying to rain already. Hope we don’t have the torrential downpour they had in Belper yesterday evening. Put an app on my phone so that I can book my swimming slot when the pool reopens. Looking out at Mrs Deer when suddenly the twins came along frolicking and prancing through the long grass. What a heart-warming sight. Dame Vera Lynn has died at the age of 103 after a remarkable life. Make up a picnic and we defy the weather and head off to Filey. We certainly weren’t the only ones despite the wind and rain and the big shelter we had our picnic in had a group in every corner. Walked down to the landing and ate an ice cream whilst we watched the Lifeboat being made ready for launch. Quite an sd crowd had gathered by the time they both took off. Inshore craft and the big boat; we thought it looked like an exercise. By the time we got home the rain had eased, but there’ll be no bike ride today thank you. By seven o’clock the sun began to filter through. Maria has been accepted as a volunteer gardener at the Community Garden and started yesterday. She will do well there.

Friday 19 June The sun was shining brightly, but by the time I had done my exercises and showered it had clouded over. Still, it was warm and windy enough for my washing. Just as I finished hanging it out Anita arrived bearing a rather interesting carrier for my birthday from her, Ann and Gill. It’s hard not to give someone a hug, but we kept our distance. Looking forward to us all getting back to meeting at Deans for coffee and a natter. Supermarket shop and the washing was nearly dry when we got home. Just left it a wee bit too long and the heavens opened so I grabbed it off the line and left the pegs on the lawn. It was all over in a flash but just enough to damp the washing down. The UK's C - virus alert level has been downgraded from four to three, according to the chief medical officers. It doesn't mean it's all over but the virus is now considered to be "in general circulation" and there could be a "gradual relaxation of restrictions". Went off to see Paul and Helen C, who had a lovely friend Jean and her dog visiting. It was nice in the garden until the rain spoilt things again but we were safe in the conservatory and we spent a pleasant afternoon. Came away with plenty of books to read, cake tins for the wedding cake and lots of dried rose petals for confetti. The smell is heavenly. Nearly got a dog too as he totted alongside us to the car and we had to shoo him back. He was gorgeous. Lovely sunset again. Saturday 20 June

Audrey and June both have birthdays today, happy birthday, hope it's a good one. Fell into a deep sleep just before I got up and had the most horrible dream. A feeling of injustice has been on my mind and it played out in the dream. It was good to look out and see a lovely bright sunny day, a bit breezy but who cares. I put on a nice dress, earrings and perfume. Gill has managed to see Beth and the grandchildren and the photos show that it was a very happy visit. Set off for Malton but it was chocabloc at the A64 interchange so we turned round and went the back way; it was almost like a normal Saturday in Summer. Sue got up at 6 am and walked all the way up to Clifton and back. She did really well and I’m proud of her. Had a nice bike ride down the track and when we got home the back door was unlocked! There to my great surprise were Phil and Ellie, in the living room with big beaming smiles on their faces and a Happy Birthday banner and balloons behind them. Oh, it was lovely. We ordered a Chinese takeaway which was delicious but the portions were so generous we couldn’t finish. We did finish the bottle of fizz though. It was a really unexpected and lovely evening. Sunday 21 June The longest day, Father’s day and my birthday. I am 70 and in Yorkshire that means I’m still a lass, which is how I feel anyway. There has been a solar eclipse which would have been seen from countries south of the equator but sadly not the UK. We had a good long session on Google Hang-ups with Maria and Ian in London and all four of us at home. I opened my cards and presents and I felt just as special as if it had not been lockdown. I had so many cards (including one from Helen H who had painted my Honeysuckle) and such lovely gifts and text messages. After a spot of lunch we had a ride to Rowntree Park. The roads nearly foiled us, as the council has closed Bishopthorpe Road and traffic was tailing down Nunnery Lane, not the fastest of passages at the best of times. Still, we managed a pleasant walk in the park, then Phil and Ellie went back to Belper and we returned home. Maria has got bought a bike so she and Ian were going to go for a ride. I’m sure Gracie doesn’t mind being left at home to sleep. I love my flowers and cards.

Monday 22 June

A lovely bright start to the day, although it’s a bit chilly in the breeze. No sign of life on the field, but that doesn’t mean it’s not there. The grass is really long now. They’ve come to fix the flat roof and there’s a lot of crashing and banging. Another charity bag through the door; I hate the things. All that plastic waste when we’re trying to reduce it. I wouldn’t mind if they picked the unused bags up like they say they will, but we’re left with a drawer full that eventually goes in to land fill or used for rubbish. They must spend a fortune on them too! Popped round to see Audrey with her birthday card. She’s very happy despite not going out for the last three months. Her family are good too her and she has a lovely garden which keeps her content.

Tuesday 23 June Anne’s birthday, happy birthday sweetheart. There’s quite a bit of cloud but I think it’s going to be another warm one. The roofers are back to finish the job, they worked hard yesterday so a couple of hours should do it. Ann, Anita and Gill gave me Garden vouchers for my birthday so I went up to Deans Garden Centre early and bought an Obelisk for the Clematis which Ian and Maria bought me, and two metal trellis panels for the Rambling Rose from Phil and Ellie. I’ve stood the panels in a V shape rather than attached to the wall and it looks quite good. Then I planted Anita’s Hydrangea and potted another one to give to Audrey. It was lunch before the roof was finished. Loads more cards arrived today (smiley face). We cycled down to Audrey’s to drop the plant off, then down to East Parade to see if there were any notices on the hairdresser’s door, but no. Alice M has already got an appointment, lucky thing. Boris has announced easing of restrictions on lots of things, but we still need to be cautious. Tidied up the garden and watered everything before tea. Got out the cotton wool and Witch Hazel to help me cool down and my face and feet feel immediately better for it. It’s going to be a warm night. The Barn Owl was out hunting and as I was looking at the beautiful new crescent moon, a Heron flew lazily past. Wednesday 24 June It is warm and sunny. On inspection, the plants I put in yesterday look settled. I am still stunned by the fact that swimming pools cannot open yet? Why not? Where could be safer? It's not a contact sport, we swim in chlorinated water, we arrive in our costumes and can go home for a shower so what's the problem. Fitness v fatness and fatness wins. I've e-mailed my MP Julian Sturdy to voice my feelings. Hopped in the car and set off for Bridlington. We got a shock as we passed over the A64; two lanes of traffic backed up for miles but we were taking a back route and going onto the Wolds anyway. It should have been a warning really because when we got to Brid you couldn’t move. No parking spaces, absolutely no room for social distancing and fish and chip shops queued out. We used the facilities, grabbed a sandwich and headed for home. Stopped in a layby for lunch and that was that. It must be a combination of the glorious weather, easing of restrictions and the desperate need to get away and enjoy the sun. It may not be right, but we are only human. The world is waking up as sadly the peaceful sound of the songs of the Skylark and Blackbird compete with the noise of traffic. Nice to see Peter out in his garden listening to the birds and soaking up some sun. Clare won the Sewing Bee. All the finalists were good, but Clare had a high standard throughout the competition and was a worthy winner.

Thursday 25 June Fred’s birthday, happy birthday Fred, hope you are feeling better and have a great day. It’s hot. When I open my window in the morning I can smell my Lavender, but in the evening it is the scent of the Philadelphus (Mock Orange Blossom) that is carried on the air. Got to the Post Office and greengrocer whilst it was still quiet then put my gardening togs on and tackled the bottom corner of the garden whilst it was in the shade. What a satisfying job. Off to the summer house for a read of Hilary Mantel’s Mirror and the Light. Last in the Wolf Hall trilogy, it’s a fabulous read, but what a weight the book is (1.55 kg). Paula bought it for my birthday bless her. I cut the grass and Paul strimmed the edges, it's too hot to do anything else. Maria has got her office chair from work, they couriered it over. What an excellent idea. Checked again to see if my refund from LNER has been deposited yet, but nothing. It said 5 days which was 9 days ago. Gave the garden a good water in the cool of the evening.

Friday 26 June

Robert’s birthday, happy birthday Rob hope you have a good day in your kayak. Went to the supermarket shortly after nine, it was busy enough but nice to get done. Very humid. Nipped to the Post Office to post last of my thank you cards and a begging card to Sue for a hair appointment when she can fit me in. Rod and Joyce came just after 11 o’clock. We arranged the garden furniture so that we kept to sd and swapped round when the sun got too much. It was lovely to see them after all this time. We enjoyed a light lunch and toasted the three birthdays in lockdown, Joyce’s, Paul’s and mine. Joyce gave me a great idea for saving water. Now I will catch any excess water in a bowl when I’m running it for the hot and put it into the watering can. When they’d gone I pulled a chair into the shade and read. Paul preferred the cool of the house. We're back to hearing the distant buzz of traffic from the bypass. My first lot of thank you letters have arrived. Thunder has been threatened all day, but it is 5.15pm and it is just trying to rain. We need it, everything is so heavy. Not sure if my headache is because of the sun or the Prosecco from lunch. Had to open all the windows to catch a breeze in the evening. Saturday 27 June It was a hot night with no breeze and we had all the windows open. There were spits and spots of rain and the air cooled down around 2am. The wet start soon clears up and by noon there is blue sky. We went to Malton, still no magazines! Crazy lady was dancing by her car in the main street. She was attracting a lot of bemused looks but was in a world of

her own. Got the ingredients for one tier of wedding cake, just to see how it goes. Back through the market and some fresh produce and home for lunch. I don’t think it had even rained there. Helen C’s daughter has had her wedding reception cancelled sadly, but we think she will find something better. Had a walk round the corner to take some magazines to a lady I see at the bus stop. She was very pleased to see me and the magazines. I got within 200 yards of home and the heavens opened. It’s amazing how wet you can get in just a short space of time. Love City of York’s new litter campaign, it’s been a long time coming and this fine weather has seen the river bank strewn with rubbish from families picnicking. Even dirty nappies, yuk! Watch the owl hunting in a darkening sky. One great feature of the University being in lockdown is that there is no light pollution on the distant skyline. Sunday 28 June Blustery morning. I slept badly and didn’t want to get up. If only I could go for a swim. Just as I thought there was no life on the field a deer jumped up from the long grass. Despite the strong wind and rain, Paul jumped on his bike and had a ride then came back for me and I’m glad he did. Not cold or as unpleasant as I had thought so we had a good ride in the fresh air. There is a marked increase in traffic this last few days and we needed to use the Pelican crossing to get across Malton Road. Daphne is baking for England and eating it. We need to get into our swimming cozzies Daph! Weighed up the fruit for the wedding cake after lunch and left it to soak in some brandy overnight. Wasp alert in the kitchen, got it out sharpish! Ian and his friends Will and Paul cycled to Rochester today, that's a round trip of approx. 60 miles. They’ll sleep tonight. TV is rubbish right now, it’s all repeats ‘We’re streaming your favourites for you’ and sport, especially football! I’ll be listening to the radio soon, but not The Archers, the lockdown format just doesn’t work, in fact it’s awful. Monday 29 June Fi’s birthday; happy birthday sweetheart. Wet, wet, wet and set in by the look of it. Made the lower tier of the wedding cake, it seems huge. Didn’t have a mixing bowl big enough so I cleaned out the bread bin and used that. Good news, Ellie says the Registry Office are going ahead with weddings with up to six guests and hopefully more by October. It finally stopped raining around 4pm and it was cold enough to put the heating. Despite all the hot weather, we are on flood alert. Most of it is head water coming down from the Dales where they had much more rain than us over the last few days. Daren’t look in a mirror, I need a hairdresser desperately. Reading Hilary Mantel’s book I can’t help but compare Dominic Cummings with Thomas Cromwell. Helen C baking today as well in a nice warm kitchen. Tuesday 30 June A cool start, but at least it’s not raining. Put some washing in, fingers crossed. Paul still suffering from backache, just wish we could do something about it, I think it's a trapped nerve. Our bike ride was spoiled by a sudden squall so we cut it short and headed for home. Half a mile later and no sign of rain whatsoever! At least my washing was ok. Looked at the Library catalogue for some idea of what to ‘click and collect’ but there is no indication of how we will access and use the system. Our second bike ride was more successful, but the damp has brought all the little flies out. Nearly choked on one, must remember to keep my mouth shut. WHO (World Health Organisation) say that we have not seen the worst of this pandemic. My god, what do they know that we don’t? I’d prefer a little hope and optimism or what do we live for? Boris announced a New Deal to help the UK move forward and he compared it to Roosevelt’s New Deal in America in the early thirties. His speech received a great deal of criticism but he’s damned if he does and damned if he doesn’t. What a time to be Prime Minister.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page