top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

Coronavirus Daily – The First 39 days.

Updated: May 26, 2020


Thursday 19 March 2020 To Scarborough for Lesley’s funeral. Called for Judy at 10 minutes to 10 and after a quick comfort break, we set off for Woodlands. Last time I was here was for Judy’s husband’s funeral. Another cancer victim: sadly, I know too many. I get a huge grin from the vicar who overhears me telling Judy that I’ve tried to panic buy, but I don’t know how to do it! The planned lunch with Julia and Col was cancelled and the Wake could not be held because of the virus, so I took Judy for a drive instead. We drove over to Coldyhill Lane, down Burniston Road and round the North Marine Drive before stopping for a coffee and bacon butty in the Harbour Bar The sea was like a millpond. I love Scarborough. Home via Scarborough Hall to leave a Mother’s Day card and plant for Paula, for her mum. Not allowed past reception due to C. virus, but I expected that.


Friday 20 March 2020 Had a wonderful swim at Yearsley Baths, my usual 16 lengths.  Didn’t bother with breakfast after, I just went straight into town to see if I could get some Paracetamol for Paula in Sheffield.  Judy is sending her a couple of packets bless her.  Savers was heaving and so was Boots.  Did not want to stand in the queues for obvious reasons so it was back to Sainsburys where, miracle of miracles I not only got Paracetamol but also some Toilet rolls.  Phew!  Message from my brother, dad is in hospital.  I go outside at least twice a day and take deep breaths to fill my lungs with fresh air.


Saturday 21 March 2020 We usually go out on a Saturday, but the PM says please stay at home.  Even Phil and Ellie not coming, although we did agree that they should see Ellie’s dad as he is on his own pro-tem.  Walked to the Post Office to send Paula’s paras’, then rang to let her know.  Judy’s pack had already arrived and she was so grateful.  Sainsburys have closed the call centre where Paula rings for her weekly shop which has left her high and dry.  An invalid, with no internet or close family and friends.   We agree she would try again on Monday and if all else fails I will do it online.  Had a short walk by the Pocklington Canal.  Spring is in full swing.


Sunday 22 March 2020 Six deer on the field.  We spend the day out in the fresh air scarifying the lawns, strimming and cutting the grass.  A job well done.  Explored if there is a community self-help group that could look in on Paula, I worry for her.  Had to join Facebook which I never wanted, but it’s worth it on this occasion.  By the end of the day I had been put in touch with a wonderful young couple who live on the same road and who were happy to help.  What a relief.  Ian is sorting out my Blogging site. 


Monday 23 March 2020 After the disgraceful behaviour of masses of people who flocked to the seaside at the weekend, Boris has put his foot down.  Everything is to be closed and we are all to stay at home wherever possible.  No swimming for ages!  We got up early and took advantage of the pensioner hour at Morrisons.  Not a shop we know very well, but we got what we needed.  Six deer again today.  Rang C and explained about Paula; what a lovely lady.  She says it is a privilege to be able to help.  I think it’s a privilege having people like her around.  I ring Paula and tell her about C and J who have volunteered to do her shopping.  It was the right thing to do and has stopped her worrying.   I hope it continues once we are back to normal.  Do a load of washing and ironing.  Dad back home from hospital.


Tuesday 24 March 2020 Five deer this morning, then another one comes out of the thicket.  More washing and ironing, well it keeps me occupied.  It was bright but the wind was sharp so stayed in and read a lot.  A Bluetit  has been eyeing up the nesting box and today he had stuff in his beak! I put in some of the soft dry moss from the lawn on Sunday which probably encouraged the Bluetit. Will have to stop feeding the birds as we have attracted rats. They seem to be taking the poison we put down, but there’s always another one. Rang P, she says C came and did her shopping. She thinks C is a lovely person. Rang dad, he’s ok but I tell him we need to consider sheltered accommodation. Made some gorgeous Yorkshire Puddings to go with the sausages for tea.


Wednesday 25 March 2020 Happy Birthday Maria.  What a shame you can’t go out and celebrate.  The deer are out there grazing and the Bluetit is back with more nesting stuff. Change the sheets and do more washing!  The sun is so warm, and the air is definitely milder, so we go for a lovely bike ride down the cycle track.  Sat on the bench in the sun having lunch, then read for a while.  Made some scones.  Phil rang for tips on wallpapering.  It’s hard on the self-employed but Phil has spirit and determination.  He’s applied for a temporary driving job at Tesco He and Ellie will get by.  Rang dad who has time to think and refuses to move.  Ellie is running a temperature and is very tired. We’ve all signed up to the Houseparty app.  First online with Ellie and her mum and Ellie’s grandparents.  Grandad has broken both hips, but he is the carer for Grandma, so Sasha is looking after both of them.  She’s at the other end of the country and has no choice but to stay there now.  She has my admiration.  After tea we have a three way with Phil and Ellie and Ian and Maria, for Maria’s birthday.  Play Trivial Pursuits.  Great fun until my battery runs too low.

Thursday 26 March Not been a week yet and I’m looking for the end.  Do my daily exercises.  It is a regime I worked out 18 months ago and I’ve astonished myself by sticking to it.  I can feel the benefit, and now Paul does them too.  Bedroom curtains in the wash as it’s another beautifully sunny day.   Looking for the deer, then I see a slight movement.  A pair of ears; ah, they’re all lying down.  They bring a sense of calm in a mad world.  We go for another bike ride after lunch, the roads are really quiet, but we got some mushrooms from Loves, the greengrocer.  Posted some more paras’ to Paula and a foot mask to Sasha, she deserves a bit of luxury.  Looking out of the kitchen window I see a flash of white, it is a deer scut.  We feel so lucky to have the field behind our house.  Still waiting for the Skylarks though.  I thought they would have arrived and be singing by now.  Iron the curtains and put them back.  Paul making tea.


Friday 27 March Quite a frost on the grass.  Go to Morrisons for weekly shop.  They have a queuing system now, so that there is a limited number in the shop at one time.  It seems a sensible step and is very well organised.  All I seem to do is wash at the moment; there’s another load to go out this morning.  Listen to Alfie Moore on Radio 4, absolutely brilliant.  I’ve been a devoted fan ever since we saw him live for a Comedy Club gig in Knaresborough.  Sat on the bench for lunch, it was so warm, and the sky was a perfect blue.  A big fat Bumble Bee hummed around for a while before wandering off in search of nectar.  Boris has the C. virus, oh dear.  I’m sure he washes his hands, but he does have an awful habit of rubbing his hands all over his face!  We had a short cycle ride and bought some chocolate and magazines.  Sat in the summer house to enjoy the rest of the sun out of the cool breeze.  In the kitchen making tea before I see the deer through the window.  New series of Friday Night Dinner tonight.  Yippee.

Saturday 28 March Much cooler, duller morning with a bit of a breeze.  Next door has cut half of their back hedge down and the view of the field is lovely.  Hope they get round to finishing the half that meets our garden.  Not happy about the little mole that’s appeared on my arm; Paul took a photo so we can monitor it.  The result of not swimming is that I no longer smell of chlorine! Got the polish and hoover out and had a good clean up, then went for a walk before lunch.  Would you believe, it waited until we were halfway round the block then threw it down, only to stop as we were five hundred yards away from home!  There was a woman on the radio talking about the C. virus and what we should be doing.  Her voice got higher and higher and more distressed and I wanted the presenter to cut her off.  This is a really, really serious situation and very scary, but hysteria has me reaching for the off button.  We need to calmly and sensibly do as we are asked and hope that the virus plays itself out sooner rather than later.   Had a nice relaxing bath and read.  Phoned my brother, he’s fine.  Clocks forward one hour tonight, but under the circumstances, I’m not bothered about losing an hour’s sleep.

Sunday 29 March Three white scuts on the edge of the copse, so that’s where the deer are this morning.  The hedgerow all around the field is turning white with the blossom of the Blackthorn.  It’s quite stunning.  Doing my deep breathing at the window, oh oh, more white stuff.  Snow!  Something has spooked the deer, five of them are flying down the field.  One stopped and went back.  Hope the last one isn’t in trouble.  It’s a cold day and with the clocks changing, it’s nearly two o’clock before we realise.  Paul made lunch then we went for a quick march round the block.  I go a bit further and get home to find Paul watching Badminton on the laptop.  Reading another Fiona Griffiths story by Harry Bingham, thank goodness for the Kindle.  I got five books from the Library before lockdown and was very disappointed to find that three were duff.  If I can’t find any empathy with the main character the book becomes basically flawed and unreadable.  The Stephen Leather book was good, but I knew it would be.  The new library building is brilliant, but it has no soul and a poor selection of books.  You can go in, search for a book, self-issue and walk out without speaking to anyone.  Sad.  Talk to dad; he’s ok.  The hospital gave him a face mask which he wears when he has his walk on the balcony.  The snow came to nothing.  Nice chicken for tea.

Monday 30 March Week two begins with grey skies and a northerly wind.  Well, it keeps us safe indoors and the seaside resorts will be thankful for that.  Exercises, deep breathing, breakfast has become routine.  Don’t like this new porridge but the raspberries and blueberries make it better.  A slow day, I do some writing finishing my blog then we decide to go for a bike ride.  The wind takes us down the lane and we circle back up the bike track.  It’s sheltered so we’re not battling head-on.  Put the bikes in the garage at the front as we are not using the car except for the weekly shop.  Lunch and read until time to make tea.  The news is that the C. virus is slowing; but I think it’s too soon to start talking like that.  I know we need hope, but thousands of people’s lives have already been devastated by this thing and if we move forwards too quickly, thousands more could needlessly be affected.  Stay calm, stay safe.

Tuesday 31 March Only one deer yesterday, now there are three.  I’ve noticed before that they seem to split up around this time of year only to come together again in the autumn.  The world has gone into slow motion, we’re even getting up later.  Do the usual round of exercises, deep breathing fresh air, reading, writing, lunch.  Bit longer bike ride today; not only do we need it, but the roads are so much safer.  Ian rang, his firm have announced big redundancies and his department is on the list.  Penny messages.  She is one third of the way through her treatment; fainted as she left St James' and ended up in A&E having stitches above her eye.  Poor lamb has my utmost sympathy, but she is a fighter.

Wednesday 1 April All Fools day, the perfect day to launch my blog, ha-ha.  Should be swimming, oh how I miss it although I’ve noticed that my hair is much better for not being immersed in chlorine three times a week.  Don’t like this porridge, it’s too rough.  I don’t like it too smooth either; I know just how Goldilocks feels!  Paul gets a rush of texts from his Badminton friends who are also missing not just the sport, but the camaraderie of their little group.  No deer at all today.  They will be there but the clocks changing have put us out of sync.  Weird not seeing traffic flowing on the bypass.  Paul fills the bird feeders; we hate not doing it and will stop at the first sign of rats. Nice bike ride after lunch again, not much wind.  Get stuck into the Harry Bingham book and can’t put it down, so tea is a bit late.  Got some lovely comments about my first blog, quite uplifting.  I could not have achieved it without the help of the family, and I don’t just mean support and kind words.  Oooh down to a few Maltesers, that won’t do.  Repair Shop tonight, great.

Thursday 2 April Been reading up about the Bubonic plague. It’s believed to have started in China in the 14 century and brought into Europe via southern Italy. It was finally contained by people staying indoors. Interesting. Bright, cool, windy day that will dry my washing. Garden refuse collection has been suspended so we bring the bin back in. Paul shaking all the jumpers out to make sure we have not got clothes moths. Order some Sunflower plants so that I have some for Ellie and Phil’s wedding. It’s warmed up a bit, but still blustery. The rats are back, it doesn’t take them long. Too windy for cycling so we go for a walk round the block instead. Clothes ironed and away. I know some people don’t like ironing but I find it quite soporific. The lovely chips I made for tea are soaking to get rid of the excess starch. Yum yum. Young Young Sheldon tonight.


Friday 3 April I’ve just realised the calendar is still on March!  Loads of positive feedback on my blog.  It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t fly though, as at last I have an outlet for my creative side.  That is a wonder in itself.  Bit cooler today, but not unpleasant.  I’ve ordered china mugs with Easter bunnies for Phil and Ellie and Ian and Maria: they’re from the Robert Fuller Gallery.  What a wonderful artist that man is.  But it goes deeper than that because he has so much knowledge and love for his subject and it shows in his work.  He was out leaving rats for the buzzards to feed on when a policeman stopped and asked what he was doing.  It was deep in the countryside, but even so I don’t think the policeman expected the reply he got. Slow day here.  Can’t put the Harry Bingham book down!  Lunch followed by a discussion of our shopping needs, then we head off for Morrisons.  The queue was shorter than for pensioners hour, but the queue to pay was awful.  We went to the self-service, have to remember that next time.  It’s all very orderly.  Quick sprint on the bikes down the cycle track to burn off some energy and home for tea.  It’s Friday, it’s Friday Night Dinner. 


Saturday 4 April I was expecting wall to wall sunshine, so put a t-shirt on.  Soon got changed, it’s still chilly.  Applied for a refund on our train tickets to London.  I hung on with hope, but realistically it’s not going to happen.  Sorry Ian and Maria, and we’ve been dying to see you and your lovely new home.  Renewed my Drivers’ Licence online.  It’s a real reminder that I step into old age this year.  70!  Well I’m not ready for my shawl and slippers just yet thank you.  Next door have cut down the rest of the hedge, what a difference it’s made.  Thank you.  Have a cycle to the Co-op for some dates and walnuts to make a cake, but didn’t anticipate a queue, so we left it.  Cycled on to the bike track, then diverted round St Nicholas Nature Reserve.  Never been down there before and had no idea it was so big; it’s a really lovely area.  Rang Fred; he’s cracking on with the Leasehold thing for his flat.  Good; he might be ready to sell when this is all over.  Phil whittling in the sunshine and Ian and Maria basking on their balcony but it was a lot cooler here, too much cloud and not enough sun.

Sunday 5 April The sun is out, hooray!  We’ve been getting up later and later so I made a determined effort and got up at 8am today.  Breakfast and a longer bike ride round by Holtby lane, Murton and back through Osbaldwick and the bike track.   Joy of joys, I heard a Skylark on Holtby lane; my first this year.  Sadly they don’t seem to visit the field behind our house anymore.  Paul trimmed the hair round my neck; very neat, what a difference.   Sir Keir Starmer is the new Labour leader.  Not that I’m a Labour voter, but at last we have a worthy opposition leader who is pragmatic and of some gravitas.  Got some duck out to make a stir fry, I’m sure the portions are getting smaller, it seem to be all fat.  Bee caught a little wood mouse, fortunately it was still alive and Ellie was able to let it go.  The Queen wants us all to pull together in this time of crisis.  I’m not anti-royal, but she’s as inspirational as Chris Witty, the Chief Scientific Officer.  I suppose a stern face on tv works for some people.  Boris is in hospital because of the C – virus.

Monday 6 April Losing track of the days, I thought it was Tuesday.  Is this what it’s like in the Big Brother House?  Everything is wet, but we did need the rain, now the sun is out and it’s nice and warm.  Bluetits still visiting the nesting box.  Just caught a sight of a deer scut disappearing into the hedge on the far side of the field.  What will we do today?  A bike ride to the post office was first on the list for birthday cards.  Picked up a nice fallen log for the back garden; the creepy crawlies should like that.  Was going to get the duster and hoover out, but I saw that Chris had rung so I rang her back.  Much better.  Another bike ride with Paul after lunch, hope nobody notices that I’ve been out twice but I needed to post Joyce’ s birthday card.  Boris is in intensive care; we should all say a prayer for him and all the other victims of this relentless virus.

Tuesday 7 April Beautiful morning.  The farmer is out spraying something so I do my deep breathing before it drifts over this way.  A footballer on This Morning bleating about why they can’t take a suggested thirty percent pay cut.  No sympathy here mush.  Ring Paula, she’s ok and has spoken to Georg in America who is also ok.  Got to the Post Office without a queue and all my other little jobs.  Back on the bike track, picked up another log for the creepy crawlies to enjoy.  We have another ride after lunch then home to cut the grass.  Two Toads wandering around.  We watch them for a while then Paul puts them round the back before they wander onto the road and get killed.  Sit and read in the summerhouse.  Lovely in the sunshine.  I’ve got a Fritillary in one of the pots, don’t know where it came from but what joy.  Lovely e-mail from Howard.  The moon’s up and it’s a Supermoon, big and round and full.  Gorgeous.

Wednesday 8 April Wake up with excruciating pain in my left knee, reach for the Voltarol which calms it but it’s still very painful; Paul thinks I may have slept with it twisted, which sounds about right.  The good news is that I haven’t put any weight on so far.  Boris is still in ICU, but stable.  Paul and I both go out this morning for a bike ride, I’m not going twice today as I don’t want to strain my knee.  Head for Lidl for chocolate and wine.  Shopping with the face mask and disposable gloves is warm work, but it just makes sense and it wasn’t for long.  Massaged my knee, injected it the Pain Gone Pen and put more Voltarol on, then sit out with the sun full on it.  Judi rang, glad they are all ok.  I was sent a text asking me to pray, but I’d rather lift my eyes and see the beauty of the earth and the wonders around us.  The moon was even more beautiful tonight.  

Thursday 9 April Wake up sans pain.  Hooray!  Knee still a bit sore, but nothing by comparison.  Send text to wish Joyce happy birthday.  Rang Heather, such a long time since we spoke and it was lovely.  Emily Maitlis spoke out about the misleading use of  language used by politicians surrounding the C. virus issues and she is right.  Certainly, the gap between rich and poor is growing and will have a marked distinction when this is all over.  I hate to see millionaires crying into their wallets.  Had a good clean round upstairs and down then a bit of a pamper session.  Soaked my feet in hot water and Epsom salts, great for softening the skin and toenails prior to cutting.  Nice bike ride, see two Goldfinches.  Lots more people out, but I think it was just the time of day, after lunch.  No-one seems to have any problem with social distancing, which is great because it lessens the feeling of being trapped.  My Trachelospermum jasminoides is looking a bit sorry for itself.  I had to move it after the wind blew it over twice in the January storms.  I hope I don’t lose it.  My new Driving Licence has arrived, that was fast.  Expires in 2023.  I’ve been asked when my next story will be posted, can’t help a little glow of pride.  The bike ride seems to have eased the pain in my knee, but I shall give it a good massage anyway.

Friday 10 April Good Friday today.  Boris is out of ICU thank goodness.  There has been another round of applause for the NHS.  What a shame that we have to get to a crisis before this wonderful national institution of ours is recognised for the incredible work that is done, day by day, year on year and for many generations.  Will the politicians still use it as a political pawn when we go back to normal?  America has nothing like it and it’s a travesty for ordinary citizens that Obama’s Health Care scheme was knocked on the head.  Wash the kitchen floor, lunch then down to the supermarket.  No potatoes and eggs in boxes of fifteen, which is fine but we only wanted six.  Another brisk bike ride, this time the other way round; the exercise does seem to do my knee some good.  Chat to Ian on the phone; they’ve just given the flat a good clean so they can have a relaxing weekend.  Thank goodness they are not at the old flat with no outdoor space.

Saturday 11 April Easter Saturday and we should have been going to London today to spend Easter with Ian and Maria.  LNER sent a text to remind us that we are travelling on the 9.10 train, but I’ve already asked for a refund because of the C. virus.  Manage to get some eggs and potatoes today, so we can forget that now.  Rang Audrey, she is keeping well, busy gardening.  Still more funny videos coming.   It is such a beautiful day; we sat out in the garden and had our lunch.  Had a good bike ride after lunch, down to Holtby Lane, round by Murton and back through Osbaldwick and along the cycle track.  It was strange going over the bypass.  Normally on any bank holiday the traffic would be solid from around ten o’clock until at least two thirty, especially in this weather.  We had to wait before a  car hove into sight, and even so, there were only about five in both directions.  Heard a Skylark again, and there was a Buzzard up there somewhere.  You could hear it keening.  Mr Toad had his life in his hands crossing the road, but the ditch is so dry.  Fortunately there are more cyclists than cars.  Passed a field with  what looked like a herd of Red Polls; each one had a calf; it was lovely to see.  John and Anne rang and we had a good long natter.  Five deer on the field, running away from a dog barking somewhere.

Sunday 12 April Easter Sunday.  I open the window to see two deer and hear a Skylark singing its ode to joy.  Slept really well so we’re late up.  You wouldn’t think you could sleep so much with all this inactivity.  Paul cleans his saddle and tack and I give the summer house a spring clean.  If there isn’t a species of spider called Arachnid Giganticus then I’ve just made a major discovery.  It’s a good job I’m not afraid of them.  It’s kind of warm for a spell, then a breeze gets up and cools things down.  Sad to hear that Tim Brooke-Taylor has died from the C. virus.  I first heard him on I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again and his Lady Constance de Coverlet always made me fall about laughing.  Looking at pictures of places like Delhi and Bangkok and it’s amazing to see the difference in these cities without pollution from cars and human activity.  The wildlife must wonder what’s going on.  Sadly it won’t take us long to get back up to speed once the pandemic is over.  Rang dad, he’s pottering along.  Puts his face mask on and goes for a walk along the landing.  He misses his outings, but Fred daren’t take him.  He talked about writing his down his experiences in the army and I tried to encourage him.  Phil and Ellie ring for a lovely chat.

Monday 13 April Easter Monday.  I open the window to nothing but nature; a cool breeze, birds singing and fields bordered with snowy white Blackthorn blossom.  There’s something beautiful yet lonely about it.  We are entering week four and no sign of a let up, but what is four, six, even eight weeks out of a lifetime.  People who have been through troubled times will tell you that you can survive and start again; and we will.  Finished Jo Nesbo.  As much as I dislike Harry Hole, the story telling is so good that I can’t put the books down.  My next book is  another duff one from the library, that’s three out of five, but the choice at the new library is so poor!  Made a date and walnut loaf this morning, which was good idea as it was nice and warm in the kitchen.  I had the flour, but what a job getting hold of the ingredients!  Oh for the days when you could buy Lion of Babylon dates in a solid block, ideal for baking.  Our ride today took us right to the end of the bike track, down near the hospital and back.  We came across a few people, but the cold weather seems to have kept most indoors as it was noticeably quieter.  Just one lone deer today, wonder if she’ll eventually turn up with a little one in tow.  China have new cases of the virus, but say they are imported from Russia.  Spain seem to be getting ready to ease restrictions.  It’s a brave move but there must be a reason for their optimism.  Have wonderful family chat on In The House app.  It’s strange to think that when we were young, this was the stuff of sci-fi novels.

Tuesday 14 April Beautiful sunny day again.  It almost feels like we’re being mocked as it’s harder to stay at home on days like these.  We are amongst the fortunate as we have a nice garden.  President Trump is off on one again.  His entertainment value knows no boundaries, he’s even his own sideshow!  Apart from a flurry of e-mails there seemed little to do today.  Sat in the garden and listened to the perfect silence, which was only broken by bird song, including a beautiful Skylark ascending.  Two deer scuts in the far hedge.  Had a good long cycle ride before lunch and it was better because it was quieter; the air is still cool despite the sun.  Lunch and more reading then off to post Carole’s birthday card and stock up on some more.  Scarborough’s beaches are awash with dead beetles!  Considering what’s going on in the world it’s almost biblical. 

Wednesday 15 April Another bright sunny day.  Who would have thought that changing the sheets and washing could become the highlight of the day?  Rang Paula before breakfast so that I wouldn’t leave it, then forget.  She’s doing well and Corine is getting her shopping.  Worried about her mum in the care home, but we’ve decided that no news is good news.  Fortunately, Joan has never been  bothered about company.  Went to post a card yesterday; the Co-op next to the Post Office has a large clothing bank and it was so full that carrier bags were stacked all around it.  You can tell what people are doing with their spare time.  Paul’s friend Col is growing a beard and sent him a photo, so Paul cut a moustache and goatee beard out of black tissue paper and stuck them on.  I took a pic and he sent it off; he looked so funny; it was hilarious.  We rode to Lidl for some bread and our daily exercise before lunch.  Ian rang.  Redundancy has just taken a big step forward and it has obviously shaken him.  He will work hard to find another job whilst making a positive case for keeping this one.  He is not down and will find work, even if it’s in a supermarket.  Silly sign of the pandemic – To avoid contact during the Corona virus pandemic please keep to the right hand side when going up the stairs, and to the left hand side when coming down.  I hope they worked it out fairly quickly.  People are having a pop at each other, especially in the media, but what’s the point?  None of us have been through anything like this before and hopefully never will again, so there are no guidelines are basic rules.  We’re fumbling in the dark and hoping desperately that we will wake up one morning and it’s all gone away.  I was watching two deer on the field at dusk when a shooting star streaked across the sky.

Thursday 16 April Three deer in the field all watching me as I did my push-ups at the window.  They must have thought I was bonkers.  Remarkably, I have not put on any weight so far!  Neither have I put on any perfume, so I had a luxurious spray of Sisley No2.  Germany are talking about easing restrictions and Angela Merkels handling of the situation has boosted her waning popularity.  It’s all hot air here; as usual, everybody knows better than everyone else whilst the population just gets on with it.  Ninety nine year old Captain Tom Moore has raised over thirteen million (£30 million +) for the NHS by walking round his garden one hundred times.  What a remarkably unselfish man; that’s the kind of positivity we really need.  That makes me feel lazy, apart from a walk to the post box, I’ve done very little today.  We had a good bike ride, roughly eight miles after lunch; up Holtby Lane, round by Badger Hall to Warthill, then back down to Stockton on Forest and home.  Into the wind going, but thankfully it was behind us on the way back.  Plenty of cyclists out and it was a lovely day for it.  It’s sickening how much rubbish there is in the ditches and hedgerows.  Most of it is beer cans and alcoholic bottles.  There are two issues here.  Someone clearly has a problem, not only driving whilst drinking but chucking the evidence out of the car window.  Saw the Barn Owl late in the evening hunting down the edge of the field, what a thrill, I’ve not seen it for ages.

Friday 17 April Should have been going off to Spain today.  We had a lovely villa booked for the whole family and we were all looking forward to it.  But, we will do it one day when this is all over.  Three deer on the field.  It’s cooler today.  Spring is really here now; the cherry trees are all full of blossom and fat buds are ripening up left right and centre.  It’s glorious to see.  I hit the Post Office at the right time, just one other person in, but the queue was down the street by the time I’d left the greengrocer.  Shopped at Aldi.  Made the list following a mental walk through of the store so as not to forget anything and it was so much easier.  We were gone an hour and a half; the shop took me all of ten minutes but queuing to go in did the rest.  Thank goodness it wasn’t raining and we’ve got tinned tomatoes at last!  It was a very late lunch, then we listened to Alfie Moore on catch-up radio.  (I think you’re supposed to call it Sounds now).  The air has a real bite to it, but we put our coats on, plotted a course with the wind mainly at our backs and jumped on our bikes for our daily exercise.  I have to say that I’ve never seen so many driveways being power washed.  There’s another every day and sometimes two.  We are bringing workers from Romania to pick crops.  Whose daft idea was that in a deadly pandemic?  Can’t we find British people to do the work?  These people have to be protected, cared for and if they catch the virus they could die in this country far from home.  What’s wrong with affording the same level of care to British workers?  Or is it that they don’t want to pay much?  I wonder how much it must cost to recruit foreign workers, do the paperwork, fly them over here, accommodate, feed and care for them. 


Saturday 18 April I’ve never known a month go so slowly and we’re only just over half way.  On the news was good very suggestion.  It was for the government to pay firms, especially the small ones, what they would have made so that they can pay their staff and overheads.  This would help us come out of the crisis a lot smoother and would not actually cost as much as it seems.  The second item had my blood boiling.  Members of The House of Lords want to be paid their £350 daily allowance by logging on during the lockdown.  I’m speechless.  £350 is more than some people have in a week to feed their families and pay their rent/mortgage and other bills.  It’s an audacious suggestion and I hope one that gets short shrift.  Read a headline on eight ways to stay calm during lockdown.  My suggestion would be, don’t listen to the news.  Suddenly top people are saying that we will have 40,000 deaths in the UK and we will be the worst hit in Europe.  Stop it!  If you can’t spread joy, don’t spread fear.  Phil and Ellie’s Easter parcel has finally arrived.  I think the rats have gone at last, at least there is no sign of them this time and the birds are happily hopping around or clinging to the feeders.  Nice bike ride, it’s still quite cool in that breeze but we get to the Post Office and there’s no queue. Carole’s birthday today, glad she got her card.  Made a nice Cherry Madeira loaf, yum yum.  Rang Fred and had a good long chat.  He’s been doing a bit more research on Grandad and will e-mail me what he has found out.  Ellie’s Gran is 90 today.  Sasha sent a video which made touching viewing.  Ellie and Phil will Skype them later.

Sunday 19 April Easter Sunday in the Coptic calendar.  Another deep blue sky and a gentle breeze, but there’s a sharp north-easterly blowing from across the North Sea.  Can’t remember the last time we had rain.  There’s a lot of noise about how the government are dealing with this crisis and I’m just wondering who it helps?  A Public Enquiry is the latest, but they cost millions and where will the money come from?  Everyone seems to have forgotten not only how long it took the Chinese to recognise they had a problem, but they also imprisoned the whistle-blower.  Four weeks in and we are starting to ration our jobs so that we have something to do each day apart from eat, sit and read.  Thank goodness for our bikes; we had another lovely ride before lunch, down the bike track, round by Osbaldwick and Murton and back down Holtby Lane.  The sun was shining, the wind was at our backs and a Skylark was serenading us from somewhere up on high.  We cut the lawns after lunch, then settled down to books and tv.  It seems a shame to be indoors with all that sunshine, but we’ve done alright for fresh air today.  Lost track of time until dad rang me!  He’s ok.  Fred’s still getting his shopping twice a week and he has his walk on the landing every day.  Stuck my head out of the bedroom window about 9pm and listened to the sound of silence.

Monday 20 April Week five in the house.  A man on the radio this morning was talking about how they are managing in MI5 and it made me giggle.  I imagined spies in trench coats and sunglasses with their trilby’s tilted over their faces trying to follow someone whilst social-distancing.  Blue sky and a fresh breeze with my washing blowing in it.  Problem with the internet today; I think I’ll switch it all off and reboot.  The wind was behind us as we cycled to the Post Office, nice.  There was a queue for the Co-op and one for the Post Office and it was difficult to see what was what, but I soon found out when I headed straight for the Post Office door.  When does five metres equal two metres?  Went down to Home Bargains but the queue reminded me of the shops in Russia for some reason; we left it and enjoyed the cycle home instead.  Mary’s shop has been burgled!  Who would want to burgle a doll shop for goodness sake?  Anyway, I’m pleased for Mary’s sake that they’ve arrested three people.  A long afternoon.  I’ve read my book, played with my phone, done the ironing and prepared tea.  I’m doing Spanish Omelettes with a twist – I’ve got some mushrooms left over so they can go in too.  That’s where new recipes come from isn’t it, just tossing in an unusual item?  Lovely surprise, Howard rang and we had a nice chat.  Paul and I were sad to hear that he had lost his three bee colonies last winter.  The skeps were close to river bank and got washed away in the floods.  Half an hour later Ian rang.  They are both ok.  Maria’s seedlings are doing really well, they could take over the balcony.


Tuesday 21 April It is the Queen’s birthday and she is 94.  Happy Birthday ma’am. Windy today, but the sun is out so that’s ok.  I’ll go in the garden, there are weeds popping up in cracks and crevices all around the place.  The City council have suspended our garden rubbish collection.  How daft is that?  We all had full bins from the winter non collection months and now when we can safely get fresh air in our gardens we have nowhere to put the rubbish.  As far as mental health and well being is concerned, gardening is an ideal pastime.  Rang Paula, but her Carers arrived so we rang off.  She said she would ring back in fifteen minutes but the call came very soon after when I was in the toilet!  It wasn’t quite 11 o’clock and they had come for her lunchtime call which upset her a bit.  She had only nicely finished breakfast, but the next call won’t be until at least 4pm.  She is paying for a service, but what service she gets is in the hands of the Carers.  Lovely BLTs for lunch.  Sasha’s letter has arrived; she’s planning on coming home on Thursday after six long weeks looking after her parents.  Howard will be overjoyed to see her.  Ian and Maria’s Easter parcel has arrived at last and they love it.  Got the wind behind us on our bike ride fortunately because it was very strong and rather unpleasant.  But at least we are keeping to our exercising.  Getting fed up of Dr Sarah Jarvis on the Jeremy Vine show, in fact getting fed up of the Jeremy Vine Show, it’s so gloomy and samey.  Please can we have his brother Tim, he is much more entertaining?


Wednesday 22 April Strong sunshine and blue sky again; lovely except we should be in Spain.  Rang Heather for a catch up.  We’re both thankful for our gardens and the chance to get out safely.  Going to get the duster and hoover out, this lock-down is making me lazy but I’ve nothing better to do.  Reading Fitzroy Maclean’s ‘To The Back Of Beyond’ again.  Maclean spent two and a half years as a Diplomat at the British Embassy in Moscow from 1937 and gained a great affection for Russia.  He wrote several books about his travels and adventures in what was Soviet Central Asia and gives an excellent history of this vast area.   One item that caught my attention was the mention of The Ark of Bukhara, a massive fortress in the city of that name.  Dating from the fifth century AD, it was not just a military fort, but also a small town.  I got to wondering how long the word Ark had been used in this context, and if it had any connection to Noah’s Ark.  Eg. Was Noah’s Ark really a fortress that had been surrounded by flood water?  I should love to know.  Our bike ride took us a bit further today and going at 12.30 was a good move too because it was quieter.  Listened to the radio for a while.  The continuity announcer links us through to The Archers where ‘there is no outbreak of Coronavirus’.  That’s ok by me, at least twelve minutes of peace when nobody mentions the word.  Sadly this bit of escapism is becoming a soap just like Eastenders.  Saw Barry on the way back from the Co-op and we chatted at a social distance.  He’s an Ornithologist and he thinks there are more small birds around this spring, especially the Greenfinches in his garden.  Six deer on the field.  Paul’s back is troubling him, it’s all knotted muscle.  I love to open the window on a night and look at the night sky.  I swear that the city is darker and I can see more stars.  Heard the Barn Owl out hunting.  Lovely deep breaths of fresh air.

Thursday 23 April Bit cloudier today, but the wind has dropped.  Cycled into town for some much needed toiletries whilst Paul worked on his moped.  The place is like a ghost town.  Queued for Savers  and got what I needed but confused the assistant by giving her some money off vouchers.  I was told off for using the wrong door in M&S as I should have been counted in.  I was given a trolley which made me giggle as all I wanted was two packets of croissant and the place was almost deserted anyway.  The Blackthorn is dying back and the Cherry Blossom being blown from the trees, but it is being replaced with Lilac and Wisteria and even the Hawthorn is coming on.  It’s been a very pretty spring so far.  After lunch we cycled down to Halfords to see if we could get some new D-locks, but they didn’t have what we wanted.  Apparently we should have ordered on line as they are only doing Click-and-collect.  You live and learn.  Sat and caught up with G F Newman’s The Corrupted on Radio 4.  I always just manage to find out that there’s a new series and we’re up to number five.   I’ve been hooked since the beginning.  Six deer on the field.  We have an hilarious family hook up on House Party.  At 6.30 each evening the people of Belper go outside and Moo.  Apparently it can be heard all over the town.  But what reduced us all to a fit of laughter was Ellie’s confession that she had ‘had a moo on the doorstep!’

Friday 24 April Three swallows zipped past the window this morning and before I could think about it, they flew past again.  I thought I saw two last Saturday but told myself I was being fanciful.  That’s early.  Scientists in America have discovered that both bleach and UV light are effective weapons in the fight against C. virus.  President Trump says that we should all try injecting bleach.  Well Donald old boy, you’re the most important man in the world so you should be given first refusal, in fact I’ll send you a bottle of Domestos to get you started.  The queue at Aldi wasn’t quite so bad today and it was in the sunshine.  Just about my turn when a member of NHS staff came over and I let her go in before me, she said she gets embarrassed but there is really no need.  These staff are at the front line, the best we can do is respect that and not make them feel uncomfortable.  It is the best day so far.  Really summery and without that cold wind.  My legs are certainly getting stronger with all the cycling and I feel really fit.  Paul has had a message to say that his condition makes him a high risk but he is as fit as a lop and quite content.  Have I got News For You tonight.  We will watch it, but I hate the C. virus format, it just doesn’t work.  Watered the garden and mended the ‘bug’ hotels, the strong sunlight has lifted the roofs of two of them.  Changed the duvet for a lighter summer one.


Saturday 25 April The Dawn Chorus started promptly at 5.30am.  It was a misty, cool start and a bit disappointing after the sunny mornings of the last few weeks.  Suddenly I am fed up with it all.  Nobody knows when or how it will end, but all you get in the news is people shouting that this is wrong and that is wrong.  We need more positive people like Captain Tom Moore.  I’ve put some washing in just to do something positive.  Hurray, the sun is coming out.  They say we may have to wear face masks in public.  I really don’t mind that, but not when I’m on my bike.  I get nowhere close to anybody and I want to breath good fresh air.  Put the washing out, have lunch, finish my book and go for a bike ride.  The chilly breeze is back but the sun is nice.  We sit on the bench at the back of the house and listen.  It is wonderful.  All we can hear from far and near is birdsong.  No traffic from the bypass, which on a day like today would normally be heaving.  No voices or lawn mowers.  No planes flying over; just perfect peace.  Every cloud has its silver lining.  Rang Fred.  His washing machine packed in so he bought one on-line from AO who delivered his new one and took the old away.  The deer are a bit frisky today, there’s probably a dog running along the path at the other side of the field.


Sunday 26 April

The sun is back out this morning and it’s a warm day, but rain is threatened later.  We had our bike ride early, but not too far as our knees are complaining a bit.  Cut and strimmed the lawns and I moved some primula into the garden to die off.  No eggs so I jumped in the car (hurray, I’ve not forgotten how to drive) and went to Lidl.  When did self-raising flour become like gold dust?  It’s very well organised there and I was soon heading for home.  Wish that some drivers would realise that the two metre social distancing refers to people and not cars.  Stockton Lane has become a racetrack for Audi and BMW drivers.  I get cross with the powers that be, one day they talk about cases in terms of deaths and the next about confirmed cases, so you can’t actually work out if there is a pattern or room for hope.  Someone said ‘please treat us like adults’ and I couldn’t agree more.  Phoned dad, he’s ok.  Getting a bit fed up of not going out.  He’ll be 93 this year and he likes to potter up to the shops on Witt’s Hill and talk to the staff in the Post Office and the store.  The Pharmacy staff are taking really good care of him, he gets better treatment there than at the doctor’s surgery.  Lovely photo of Sasha and Howard out together again for a walk.  Penny is really having a tough time; she has finished the Radiotherapy and two courses of Chemotherapy and is feeling tired and zonked out, poor lamb.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page