top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

April 2022 - It's Time We Had Some Good News

Friday 1 April Forget April Fool’s Day, it’s Brennan’s birthday. Happy Birthday young man, I hope you have a fabulous day. It was white over when I stepped out to go swimming, and the sun was shining brightly, then by the time I had reached the pool it was snowing that grainy stuff. I came out to huge fat flakes of snow, which turned to rain and then a storm of the grainy stuff again. By the time I got home the sun was shining brightly and the snow was almost gone. Sort of April showers but with snow. P&O Ferries are being investigated for criminal activity following the shock sacking of 800 staff. All new Royal Mail stamps will bear a barcode and the prices will go up too. I liked it better when the Post Office was the Post Office and belonged to the Government and not these get rich quick merchants. I was watching the Sparrows flitting in and out of the nesting box when I spotted a Fox. Only a young one, and it was trotting happily down the field. I should have taken a photo, but I was just enjoying seeing it that I didn’t think. Later on, a huge Buzzard circled overhead, then dropped onto the field and it was lost from view. What a fabulous sight. Have I Got News for You is back. Ian Hislop was on top form, but Paul Merton seems to have lost all spontaneity. Saturday 2 April A gloriously sunny start. I got the washing out to take advantage of the warmth of the sun. Two deer on the field. Lovely. It wasn’t too difficult parking in Malton, but as soon as we got out of the car the small gritty, snow stuff started falling. Every doorway down the Shambles had people sheltering, but we found an overhang at the end and sheltered there until it had stopped. I bought a walking stick at last. It was telescopic, and somebody had obviously extended it to try it for size which was ok by me as it was just the right height. We crossed the road and as I walked up the hill the stick got longer with every stride. Paul wondered what I was laughing at until I showed him, but in trying to adjust it, the stick just got worse. Then it started to snow again, so we abandoned the idea and went to hunt for a café. Everywhere was packed but we managed to find the last table at Chapter One Bistro and enjoyed a lovely lunch. I took the stick back later and the girl in Yorkshire Trading showed me the knack as she adjusted the stick; but when we had finished laughing, she had a queue of stony faced customers to deal with.

Sunday 3 April A lovely sunny morning after the frost. Two deer on the field and the birds are twittering away, something about Spring. I decided that I would shampoo the bedroom carpets today and I got stuck in as soon as I had finished breakfast. Everything always looks clean, but the state of the water told a different story. How embarrassing. Peter is still in hospital and Andrew says it is not looking good. I hope it doesn’t drag on for both their sakes. News of the war in the Ukraine just gets worse. What the Russian troops are doing is basically annihilation of the country, people, buildings and all. Clifford’s Tower has finally lost its scaffolding and will soon be back open to the public, with a brand new visitor centre. Piotr Jaworski, Economics Professor at Edinburgh Napier University has been studying the economic prospects for Scotland if it were to go independent from the UK and has declared that the country would very quickly become bankrupt. I think instinct would lead most of us to that conclusion anyway. The Ipcress File went off at a tangent, and suddenly got rather bizarre. Monday 2 April Happy Birthday to Helen C. I hope you have a day to remember. Wet, mild and breezy, but I could see a clear skyline over the Wolds. I’ve got my energy back and enjoyed my swim. Anne starts her chemo today, I hope it works fast and permanently. The Russians have only been back in the world for a generation, and we had just learnt to trust them, but they are obviously still the same at heart. Retreating troops from Kyiv looted and killed anybody who got in their way, whilst attacking forces in Bucha ran over people with their tanks. The misery and devastation they are creating is just heartbreaking. Moira and I went for our Art session with Denise and Mark. It’s good to see them both looking much better than of late. I value our Mondays the hospitality of D&M, and the kindness of Moira giving me a lift. I have had some super feedback from my last story ‘A House of Our Own’. I prepared everything for making the wedding cake tomorrow morning. Tuesday 3 April I got stuck into making the wedding cake as soon as I had finished my breakfast, and because I had prepped it was done and in the oven in next to no time. Paul jumped on his bike and went to play snooker with Colin so I thought I would visit Sue and take her round the walls to see the Daffodils. That was when I discovered that she is back in hospital, having fallen downstairs on Sunday and been unconscious for a while. This time she is going to Fordlands for some proper care. I took some photos and sent those to her phone to cheer her up. The more I hear about Putin and the war, the angrier I get. It’s bad enough that Patriarch Kirill, Primate of the Russian Orthodox Church is supporting Putin in his killing spree, but the Russian people are being fed a pack of lies about what is happening. Whatever cruel game Putin is playing, he is a deadly master. I listened to the discussion on Woman’s Hour this morning about the rape of women, children and men in this conflict. Wartime sexual violence it is called. I thought that the wars in the Middle East were chilling enough, but this is a new low of horror. Now Dawn and Tony have tested positive for Covid. I hope it is just a mild dose and that they get better very soon. Peter is responding to treatment, but the hospital is looking to discharge him to Nursing care rather than coming home.

Wednesday 6 April The water temperature in the pool was noticeably cooler this morning, which I suppose is to do with saving on heating costs, but actually, when you get going it’s much nicer. Once again I had to switch off the radio in the car, the experiences of the Ukrainians are heartbreaking, whilst the denial of war crimes by the Russians just leaves me speechless. There was already a queue at Heworth Post Office when I arrived at 8.33, but it didn’t take long to get served. I’m overjoyed to see that Sports people and Celebrities will not be allowed to do Gambling adverts in future. I shall be even happier when gambling adverts are permanently banned. I clicked on Martin’s Money Page and saw a list of 90 ways in which you can save money, including a Repair Cafe where you can take things to be mended instead of buying new. That’s what we always did when I was younger. Bee woke Phil and Ellie at 4am bringing a rat into the house. What a cat! It rained on and off in the afternoon and I was in and out with the washing, but I got it all dry in the end. There was a reward however, and the sky was filled with a beautiful double rainbow in the late afternoon sunshine. Thursday 7 April The sky is grey and there’s a cold wind blowing, but I’m happy that I can see the deer grazing on the field again. The edges look beautiful trimmed as they are with white blossom from the Blackthorn bushes, although there is not so much as there was two years ago when we first went into lockdown. What a spring that was. We got on our bikes every day and rode for miles; it was peaceful, safe, the sun shone and all we encountered were other families of cyclists enjoying the freedom and couples out walking. It was real compensation for the awful situation we were in. Back to today and it was too unpleasant to be out really, so we opted for the cinema instead and went to see The Phantom of the Open. It was a good choice as it happened. I love Mark Rylance and Sally Hawkins who play the main characters, and the plot was based on a true life story which made it richer somehow. I laughed and cried and came away with a nice glow of satisfaction. Then we whizzed round to Deans for a late lunch where we bumped into Anita, Bryan and Lynda who had enjoyed a very long lunch. At long last I managed to decipher what dad has been trying to tell me. He was confused by his wedding invitation, so I explained it and told him to leave it to Fred to respond. He won’t go but is delighted to have been asked. Friday 8 April It was a beautiful morning, a bit of frost and bright sunshine, very welcome after yesterday. The pool seemed to be heaving with swimmers which is unusual for a Friday, but it’s end of term for the schools today so maybe folks are making sure they get a swim whilst they can. Paul wanted to pull down the fencing at the front between us and Peter’s house, so I went to the supermarket on my own. At least the stuff all got packed in the right bags. I decided to nip into town and do a couple of jobs as it was such a nice morning. I did a lot of walking but with the aid of my stick I managed it all and wasn’t tired when I got home. I felt like a senior citizen, but then I keep forgetting that I am one. Julia said they are running out of Lateral Flow Tests, and every chemist I passed had a sign up saying they were out of stock. I went on the government website and discovered that I was eligible for free ones, so I ordered some and advised J to do the same. Helen H is still feeling a bit rough, and her dad is not too good either. Lovely people, I wish I could do something to help. Russia has been suspended from the UN Human Rights Council, whatever good that does. 93 countries voted for the suspension, 24 against and a further 58 abstained. Then Russia said they were going to leave anyway. Of course they were! P&O have now suspended all sailings on the Dover/Calais route. Anne's garden is looking gorgeous with its display of Snakeshead Fritillary and the beautiful Star Magnolia in full bloom. Saturday 9 April Happy birthday Joyce: I hope you have a wonderful lunch with the family. A sunny day, and warm as long as you were out of the wind. Congratulations Maria on your promotion to Senior Management; it is well deserved. At last lambs! We saw them on our way to Beverley going across the Wolds; some really tiny ones too, frolicking in the sun. We had a nice lunch in the Queen’s Head, the food is always good, and they don’t stint. The market was in full swing, but it was too chilly in the breeze to hang around once we had got our shopping. Dad has had another fall, and fortunately Alana, one of the neighbours, heard him calling out. Debz next door sent for an ambulance which just left as Fred turned up. Gill has also had a bad experience, query Stroke, query damaged vertebrae. It all meant that she had a horrendous 12 hours in agony, in A&E with the Friday night drunks. Nothing on tv, thank goodness for Morecambe and Wise.

Sunday 10 April Palm Sunday Happy birthday to my lovely cousin Paula and her grand-daughter Alana. I hope you all have lots of fun at Butlins. It’s Dancing Cow Day in Denmark. The day that people go to the countryside to see the cows skip and jump as they are let out on to pasture after being held in barns over the winter. We had quite a busy day, I finished the carpets by shampooing the stairs whilst Paul strimmed round the edges of the lawns, then we both cut the grass. It was a lovely sunny start, and really hot at lunchtime. A magnificent buzzard glided overhead, happy in the thermals, but by mid-afternoon the cloud cover had thickened, and it got quite cool. No news from the hospital about dad, although I know he was waiting for a Physio assessment. He really needs to be in sheltered accommodation, but he doesn’t want to move. Today marks the first round of the French Presidential Elections. Macron is ever hopeful, whilst Marine le Pen seems to be a strong challenger. It never ceases to amaze me how much money is spent on the hustings; I always think it could be better spent on important things like people. The second series of Gentleman Jack started tonight and it didn't disappoint. Monday 11 April The sun is up, the birds are singing, and the deer are roaming the field, but it’s still chilly in the breeze. I enjoyed my swim, especially as the pool is usually quieter in the school holidays. Anne is on week 2 of her chemo. I hope she is ok, but we don’t want to pester just to find out. Macron and Le Pen will battle it out for the French Presidency, and it looks like it will be a close run thing. The Russians are still in Ukraine. It’s looking less like genocide and more like complete and utter annihilation. In the words of John Buchan: ‘You think that a wall as solid as the earth separates civilization from barbarism. I tell you the division is a thread, a sheet of glass. A touch here, a push there, and you bring back the reign of Saturn.’ It's Monday, hurray, art today. Daisy is such a good dog and sits very patiently whilst we paint and draw, but today she could smell the Chocolate Oranges that Denise had bought for the family for Easter, and in the peace and quiet you could hear her whining and willing one of them to fall so that she could eat it. Luckily for her it didn’t happen. Shanghai is in strict lockdown because of a severe Covid outbreak, and it is said that people are starving because they are running out of food. I’m pleased to say that Dad is staying in hospital for observation. Daphne sent me a photo of a huge old dog Fox scavenging round their back yard, he would be better off at the pub across the road. The Fire Brigade have been out on Strensall Common firefighting a big blaze, it must have been very dry. Congratulations to Alice Walker who won Mastermind with a very impressive score of 33. She never faltered and the next highest score was 27.

Tuesday 12 April Happy birthday Chrissy old friend, have a super day. I’m not used to swimming on a Tuesday, but I rather like it, all that peace and quiet in the pool. The overnight news from Ukraine is so distressing. Women being brutally raped by Russian soldiers and their husband’s shot, and now they are gearing up for a fresh assault in the Donbas area. It's not an army, it's a murder squad. Putin has also sent a warning to Sweden and Finland against joining NATO. It looks like he is preparing to take on the world. The headline read Big Power Switch Off In The UK. Oh no, when is that? April 10. April 10? What 2023? Is this the media casting gloom and misery, crying ‘wolf’ as usual. We popped to B&Q for some posts for the new fencing and when we got home it had rained and my swimming costume and towel were soaked. There are calls for Boris and Rishi Sunak to resign over the Partygate scandal, but they both seem to be Teflon coated. I'm so get fed with of boys of privilege and entitlement. Derry Girls is back and as brilliant as ever. I loved Lucy Beaumont’s radio comedy To Hull and Back, but sadly the new TV show Hullraisers is a load of rubbish. Wednesday 13 April It's easy to forget what day of the week it is and today is Thursday, except it isn’t. It’s Wednesday. There was nothing to suggest how nice the day would end up, but at least it wasn’t cold. We met Rod and Joyce in Wetherby for lunch and were immediately delighted when Rod spotted what I think were a couple of Sand Martins skimming over the River Wharfe by the Salmon Leap. It’s quite a small Market Town, but there are some lovely shops and some heavenly smells wafting around, so we headed for a nice eatery at the back of the church, which sadly was not serving lunch today. We wandered back into the main street, declined Fish and Chips and spotted a little café that just had enough room for us. It was nice to catch up and Joyce is still on a high from her birthday. A huge Kite flew up in front of us on the journey home. What magnificent birds. Viktor Medvedchuk, former Ukrainian politician, suspected of treason and big buddy of Putin has been arrested and offered to Putin in exchange for Ukrainian prisoners. I wonder if Putin will stand by him. The rise in energy costs is clobbering everyone with some eye watering bills, yet the energy companies are still making millions in profit. Where is their moral compass that’s what I would like to know? P&O Ferries are failing safety checks which means that they cannot sail. How long I wonder before they declare the company bankrupt?

Thursday 14 April Maundy Thursday A beautiful day. All this rot from the media about several inches of snow didn’t transpire, as usual. I could hear birds far and wide singing happily as I set off for the pool, the tranquility is very soothing and it’s hard to realise that in Ukraine people are being raped and murdered and their homes destroyed. L’Occitaine is still operating in Russia; well that’s the last time I buy any of their products. I see that Huawei are amongst a number of firms still trading too. It looks like dad will be going home soon, there is just a matter of putting a care package together. The same for Peter next door; it turned out that he had several Kidney Stones and whilst it is good news for Peter, it’s going to be hard work for his son Andrew. I was pruning the Rambling Rose that threads through the Cherry tree when I realised the tree had the first pink blossoms on it. Two loads of washing, the fridge/freezer defrosted, all my ironing done. I’ve had enough now. Friday 15 April Good Friday.... ....in the Christian Calendar when Jesus was crucified and died on the cross. The Jewish Festival of Passover also starts today. It’s a lovely sunny morning and I think it’s going to stay dry too. Covid levels are falling in the UK but rising fast in China where it all began. The Russian warship Moskva has been sunk in the Black Sea. What may seem like a triumph could lead to a serious backlash and the escalation of the war by Putin and his army. I don’t know what to make of the plan to send asylum seekers to Rwanda, I wonder whose idea it was? There has been a breakthrough in treatment for Multiple Sclerosis sufferers which should see them suffering less pain and even reverse the symptoms for some. I wish somebody would come up with a cure for Rheumatoid Arthritis and other auto-immune diseases. The supermarket was very busy, but I think it was peak time as the car park was emptying as we left. The Blackthorn doesn’t seem to have lasted so long this year, but it is being swiftly replaced by Apple Blossom and the Cherry trees which are suddenly turning pink in the warmth of the sun. You can see trees greening up too. Such a lovely time. It looks as if Finland and Sweden are going to call Putin’s bluff and are considering joining NATO. Peter was due to come home, except now he’s got Covid, and the nursing staff say he is going downhill rapidly. But my dad is ok and due home on Monday.

Saturday 16 April It's a bright, sunny morning again with two deer on the field and the birds hopping in and out of the nesting box. I can’t help but laugh at the observation that Boris was photographed in Kyiv with Zelenskyy in a jacket, shirt and tie, but when he was in Liverpool, he was wearing a Kevlar vest for the visit. Phil and Ellie arrived mid-morning and it was lovely to see them both. Paul and Phil drove up to B&Q for fencing after dropping Ellie and I in town where we had a good mooch round the shops and got some lovely bread from Thomas' for tea. Town was heaving and it wasn’t just for the Chocolate Festival either, but we managed ok and enjoyed a peaceful lunch in Brown’s café away from the hubbub outside. I was thrilled to learn that Karolina has had a daughter who she named Heidi. I hope she brings much love and laughter into her life. I was just making tea when I saw Andrew. Peter died at 6.30 this the morning. He was a lovely man; not just a good neighbour but a family friend and we will all miss him. RIP Peter. Take care Andrew. Sunday 17 April Easter Sunday. Palm Sunday in the Coptic Christian calendar. Just one deer that I can see this morning, and two Robins fighting over territory. Phil spent ages yesterday setting up my new phone for which I was truly grateful. If we are really to save the planet, then we can start by the technology firms taking more responsibility. Why do you need a new charger for every piece of equipment; surely they have the capability to standardize! In return for his help I did a little sewing job with the help of Ellie. Fin and Freda have had a great time on an Easter Egg hunt, that’s what childhood is all about. Ellie and Phil went for a bike ride whilst we relaxed in the sunshine, but the breeze has a cold nip to it. They set off for home after a late lunch and before the roads got busy. Paul started work on the fencing whilst I finished my book and had a wee bike ride myself. The more I see of the Home Secretary Priti Patel, the more I dislike her. How can such a privileged person ever see what life is like for ordinary members of society? Monday 18 April Easter Monday Happy Birthday Carole, I am so glad you liked your Wonky Donkey painting. I hope you had a great time at the seaside. I bet Rosie the dog loved the sea and sand. It was a bit cooler but dry. Paul set too and put up the first of the fencing panels which first had to be resized. It looks so much better already. I did some much needed weeding and managed to keep going without my nose and eyes running too much, then we were both driven in by backache and the need to sit down. The Robin followed me all around the garden, but the worms escaped back into the grass. I enjoyed soaking my feet after lunch whilst Paul went for a wee bike ride. Fred rang. Dad was sick most of the night so was not discharged today and they are doing some blood tests. He will also go for an X-Ray tomorrow. I could tell that Fred was tattered, so I said that I would do some investigating and see if we can get dad into sheltered housing or care. Later I had a good conversation with the Ward Sister and agreed that I will be the contact for now to give Fred a break. I spotted two deer laid on the field and watched a Bluetit taking a bath when I looked out of the window. Tuesday 19 April This is where you get disorientated when there are Bank Holidays. Yes, it is Tuesday, the sun is shining, and I’ve enjoyed my swim. Paul dropped me off at the Central Library (York Explore) where I did a newspaper search but didn’t find what I wanted. The Library has changed so much and lost a lot of its character, but I suppose it suits todays’ customers. Town wasn’t too bad, and I got what I wanted, it’s amazing how patient people can be when they see you with a walking stick. When I got home Paul had put up two more fence panels, looking good; and put my washing out. Gill has had the results of her tests and it looks she has had a TIA after all. A timely warning Gill, please take care sweetheart and let head nurse John look after you. I looked out of the window just in time to see a beautiful Fox trotting purposefully across the field. He was a real Reynard, with a lustrous red coat. Boris is still under fire for his antics as is Priti Patel for the migrants to Rwanda plan, but they both continue, contemptuous of public opinion. Anita and I were in awe of the blossom on the trees as we drove down Stockton Lane. Each garden seemed to have one, in a glorious display of different colours. Wednesday 20 April Sunshine! What a beautiful day. The Robin followed me round the garden as I hung the washing out. I finally got through to the hospital and spoke to the Discharge officer who gave me a better understanding of what is happening with dad. He will probably be back home at the weekend then we need to have a serious chat about where to go from here. Dad asks for help, then refuses it. He knows that he must do something but can’t make a decision and is suffering because of it. Why do people do that? The dreadful noise coming from next door was a team of Tree Surgeons who had come to cut down the Cherry Tree. What a shame, it was in full blossom too, but Jo has said before that it needed to come down as it was dying and pushing a wall out; it wasn’t an easy decision. I got a nice big log to put in the garden for the beetles though. There’s a lovely smell of fresh wood in the house. We cut the lawns and settled in the summer house. The Lawn Tennis Association has said that all Russian and Belarusian players will be banned from Wimbledon due to the war in Ukraine. I’ve just read that the Danish, Israeli and Australia governments have also previously considered adopting a policy of shipping migrants to African countries. Thursday 21 April The Queen is 96 today; happy birthday ma’am. Daphne was right about the pool being quieter on Thursdays, it was bliss this morning and so peaceful. The calls for Boris Johnson to resign are growing. I’m with the lobby against second homes. They are owned by selfish people who dictate to the community who should live there whilst destroying the infrastructure and denying locals the right to a home of their own. Neither is it ‘green’ if people have to travel miles in a car to get to work when they might otherwise be able to walk. I’m enjoying reading Mrs Death Misses Death by Salena Godden. It’s an unusual premise and highly readable. The farmer was out harrowing the field this morning, you can still see one football, I wonder if it was punctured. We weren’t the only ones enjoying a peaceful picnic, the sunshine and birdsong in the Ashes Park in Howden; it was a perfect day. The fields are glowing with the yellow of Oil Seed Rape. Dad seems to be doing ok. The Physios are making sure that he can walk and climb stairs before he goes home. Eric Chappell has died at the age of 88. We have him to thank for the TV series Rising Damp and many others. RIP Eric, thank you for the laughter.

Friday 22 April Good Friday in the Coptic Church Lovely morning and a nice swim. The traffic was light, but then I’ve definitely noticed the difference since Covid began and now the Oil crisis has escalated the need to leave the car at home. Boris is India looking a right twit. But don’t worry Boris, nobody is forgetting Partygate whilst you are away. Bizarrely, my Sanex Biome Protect deodorant, when applied to my heels, stops the skin from cracking. Must be an anti-bacterial thing. I’m shocked to see how much trouble Germany will be in if they stop the gas and oil supply from Russia. In fact most of their energy in gas, coal and oil comes from Russia. Paul rode down to Halfords for a new bike tyre after noticing that the rear one was badly worn. Dad is medically fit to be discharged and we are just waiting for a time and date. I got myself packed and organised to go to Belper for the weekend; I’m looking forward to it. Mass graves have been found in Ukraine. Dear Lord, how can you let this torture happen and go on happening? The train was heaving, and someone was in my seat, so I found another instead of arguing and sat next to a lovely girl from Canada who was on holiday visiting her cousin. Ellie and Maria were at the station to meet me, and we were soon home; fish and chips with Phil before he went of caving; then an early night ready for tomorrow. Saturday 23 April St George’s Day It was a surprise to wake to a cool, overcast day. We had breakfast and set off for the village of Carsington where the three of us spent the day with Liz Welby doing a Gel Printing workshop.

It was a lot of fun. Liz was a good tutor; the workspace and surroundings were ideal, and I could have sat and looked at the views all day. There was just the three of us, so we had plenty of attention from Liz and were able to create in a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. We left tired but happy and went home for a rest before going out for a meal. It was the miniest of hen do’s in the Olive Moroccan restaurant in Belper. Maria wore her hairband of rosebuds that Ellie had bought, and the restaurant owner had tied a helium balloon to the chair. The welcome and the atmosphere were wonderful, and the food was excellent. I spent the evening listening to how much Ellie and Maria loved Phil and Ian and why, and my heart was full. By the time we got home all we wanted was an episode of Gardener’s World then we were off to bed.

Sunday 24 April Easter Day in the Coptic Church Maria made us Arepas with avocado topped with a fried egg for breakfast, always a treat, and we were all ready for a visit from Sasha and Howard. It’s such a long time since we’ve seen them and it’s so good to catch up. We all dispersed as Howard went off on his bike, Sasha took Maria to Litchfield Station and Ellie drove me to Derby Station. The journey home was much more comfortable, with a near empty carriage and I arrived home about the same time that Maria got to London. It was lovely to see Paul waiting for me at the station. I felt slightly mean about going next door for an hour to see Andrew, but he needed to talk about his dad and the funeral arrangements. Then Paul and I enjoyed a nice cosy evening together. Monday 25 April The month marches on, but it’s much cooler today. I was at the pool early and at the Post Office when it opened at 8.30am. Then home for a bite and a quick change before heading off to Binningtons the Opticians. I saw Preesha who was charming and very professional; this is the Optician I want to stay with now. I was back home in time to prepare for Art and ready when Moira came to pick me up. Paul was doing some more work on the fence and got a bit too cold. We had a lovely Art session today, probably helped by missing out last Monday, but Denise really did need the rest after her party on Easter Sunday. Dad is still in hospital and is feeling a bit sorry for himself, but the doctor has decided that he’s not medically fit for discharge just yet. Emmanuel Macron has just managed to hang on to the Presidency of France. I really don’t like the man, more toad than frog, but then I find Marine Le Pen an even scarier prospect with her allegiances to Russia. Lockdown in China is beginning to have a global effect. It should teach us not to be so dependent on their cheap goods.

Tuesday 26 April I quite like swimming on a Tuesday, the pool is nice and quiet, and the traffic is light there and back. I went off to the British Lending Library at Thorpe Arch on quest to find a photograph in an old newspaper from 1982. That’s the second week running and still de nada. I give up. But I was impressed with the library staff who couldn’t have been more helpful and so cheery with it. It’s such a long time since I have driven any distance and I had forgotten how much I enjoy driving. ‘As’ seems to be the latest overused conjunction in English grammar as so many of the headings in the news media employ it. It’s quite tedious and makes little sense, and don't get me started on TV adverts. The idea is to promote a product, but half the time you have no idea just what that product is! Putin is still scourging Ukraine and blaming the West for any escalation in his war as his troops blitz the population out of existence. The latest observation is activity in the Moldovan region of Transnistria. This is seen as a tactic to warn the Moldovans not to support Ukraine or they could be next. It has suddenly turned so much colder.

Wednesday 27 April It’s even colder this morning and the sun didn’t come out to play. Paul hung my washing out whilst I lay abed until 9.00am, but I made up for it by dusting and hoovering and ironing. We must have a pretty lively resident Hedgehog (or maybe two) as the lawn is dotted with hedgehog poo. Putin has cut off the gas supply to Bulgaria and Poland because of their failure to pay in Roubles. There is no doubt that there is a definite strategy in place, and this is just the beginning. There are so many scams going now that I am suspicious of every text and e-mail I receive. I got a puzzling text today which I reported, and I always delete if I don’t like the look of something. This one got the treatment. My NHS pension has gone up by £2.09 a month. What on earth will I spend it on? Prince Andrew has been stripped of his ‘Honorary Freedom of the City of York’. Thursday 28 April Where did the sun go? I’m back into my warm vest and winter jumper and my poor Star Jasmine is looking very sorry for itself. We both need the sun and lots of it. I don’t know where the Pheasants come from, or go either, but they were back on the field this morning. Neither do I know if the Fox saw them, but he ran straight passed them and over to his den at the top of the field. It could have been a Vixen, but it had a beautiful white tip to its tail. Anne was in the garden when we called, it was good to see her looking so well. We had a nice long chat with her and John, and it was lovely to see Rob too who had also brought his beautiful Siamese cat to say hello. We should have been meeting up with Julia and Colin, but Jules is testing positive, and Colin is poorly in bed with all the symptoms. Get well soon both of you. Rheumatoid Arthritis sufferers have been told that a Vegan diet may help reduce symptoms. On the other hand it may not, and I’m not eating weird food that has been doctored with additives to make it taste like something I enjoy; so they can stuff that! We caught up with the new series of The Great British Sewing Bee. Hmmm, I don’t think it got off to a great start and neither am I keen on Sarah Pascoe. But I do like to see how the contestants develop week on week. Friday 29 April My goodness the month is nearly over. It was good to feel the warmth of the sun at last, but it was still cool when I set off for the pool. Carol has broken her shoulder; ouch. You have my complete and utter sympathy sweetheart and I hope you recover quickly. Your swimming buddies all send their love and best wishes. Maria has passed her Driving Test, hurray, congratulations my love, you can officially drive Ian round the bend if you want. I don’t like all this threatening talk of Nuclear war; doesn’t anybody in Russia remember Hiroshima and Nagasaki and the devastating aftermath? The Robin followed me round the garden all day. He’s very territorial and makes sure no other Robin muscles in on his patch. I rang the hospital to discover that after three weeks in hospital dad will be discharged on Sunday. I rang Fred straight away to let him know. Two deer on the field all day.

Saturday 30 April

Another lovely day and it makes you feel so good. The Coastliner to Leeds was standing room if only you could find a spot to stand in. I was offered a seat by a lady older than me which was rather embarrassing. It’s the walking stick and dark glasses that does it. Thankfully the bus practically emptied at Stonebow, and Paul and I enjoyed the rest of our journey in relative comfort. The fields were glowing with the yellow of Oil Seed Rape and the Polo players were out on the field at Tadcaster. Then on to Bramham crossroads where there are always plenty of Kites about and today was no different. It’s wonderful to see them circling in the warm thermals. Leeds was very busy, but we managed to get a table and some lunch in the indoor market food area. It turned cooler in the evening and then it rained! First rain for ages. Flechettes are being used as ammunition by the Russians, they are horrible little darts that do a serious amount of bodily damage. The last of the old notes are finally being phased out and £20 and £50 paper notes will no longer be legal tender from the end of September.













90 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글 8개


johnandgillramsden
2022년 5월 10일

Another good excuse for a coffee, Hedy. (Mind you, I’ve had plenty of time for reading given the crutches excuse of not able to do house chores!) You have had a month of ups & downs. My favourite bits are re the walking stick sagas & the fact that initially you were deciding to give your £2 plus/month extra pension to Prince Andrew! (miss read on speed read)!

좋아요
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
2022년 5월 10일
답글 상대:

Prince Andrew is definitely not getting his hands on my pension! But I'm glad you enjoyed the read Gill. Take care

좋아요

rodhildred
2022년 5월 02일

Another eventful month for you Hedy, full of so many different emotions

좋아요
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
2022년 5월 02일
답글 상대:

Yes Rod, and then we wonder where the time goes

좋아요

Ellie
2022년 5월 02일

So glad you enjoyed our weekend in Belper 🥰 I had a fab time in York too!

좋아요
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
2022년 5월 02일
답글 상대:

Thank you Ellie,we always enjoy your company xxx

좋아요

Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
2022년 5월 01일

Thank you Daphne, I'm not sure I'm up to book standard, but I love what I do

좋아요

daphandmalc
2022년 5월 01일

As always an interesting read… one day a book Hedy ?? Please.

좋아요
bottom of page