top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

A Pathway Through The Summer

Sunday 1 August


I love this photo that Helen sent of the cat in the wheelbarrow of the evergreen gardener in Filey. The Fox was out on the field sniffing out molehills, and there are plenty of moles out there. The Rabbit is back and was munching happily on the grass. It ran into the undergrowth when we went out to get our bikes but came back later in the day. Paul managed to get a pair of shorts from M&S but they’ve only got one changing room open and there was a queue because one person was trying several suits on! The sun finally came out at 5 o’clock and it was good to see it. Made a Grilled Avocado, Mozzarella and Tomato salad for tea. Mr Fox was back out at tea time looking for food, I hope he doesn’t see the rabbit. Monday 2 August I was having such a nice dream that I really didn’t want to get up, but the alarm put paid to that idea, so I went off for my swim. It was a cool start but got better as the day wore on. Paul didn’t go to badminton but worked on his Honda instead. Monday is Art; I tore up last week’s effort and redid it and it was so much better. The Dogs of War are sparring again in Afghanistan; not even Covid broke their stride. Lord, please teach these warriors about kindness and humanity and send the World some peace. Watched Randall and Hopkirk Deceased on Great TV, much better than all the new stuff. Tuesday 3 August Enjoyed a bit of a lie-in and went straight to Daphne’s for coffee. I love her little bungalow and there is always a welcome. Fresh cheese scones and Victoria Sponge. Yummy. I’ve had a reply from Better about my membership and the new booking system, but it’s only a half-hearted answer. I thought it was supposed to make life easier not more stressful. We slipped to the Fox in Stockton on Forest for a swift one before tea. Ages since we’ve done that and we really enjoyed it. Wednesday 4 August Fiona was back at the pool today, first time since the pandemic began, it was lovely to see her. I went into town after my swim. The bus was late and passenger levels seem to be back to normal. Town was busy, noisy, smelly and dirty. York is such a beautiful city, but it is slowly being ruined by tourism and student accommodation. It’s sad to see all of the empty shops everywhere. The best assistant is back at Sainsbury’s after maternity leave; she’s had long waited for daughter. I got my shopping and was very happy to be home. It said it would rain this afternoon, and it did.

Thursday 5 August Not a bad day, but windy. We went off to Scarborough and the traffic leaving the coast was amazing. We could see there had been a sea-fret when we arrived, but it had blown away by lunchtime and was a lovely sunny afternoon. Everywhere was packed, so we grabbed (the worst sandwiches) a meal deal each from the supermarket and sat on a wall to have our lunch. We decided to cut the grass as soon as we got home, and we just got all done and put away when it started to rain. Not bad timing. Friday 6 August Rosie Rabbit was on the lawn when I stepped out early to go swimming, so the lawnmower hasn’t put it off. It is definitely a Rabbit and not a Leveret. I’m impressed by Rory Stewart, he’s intelligent, he’s got gravitas and there’s not much of that about. He also has a twinkle of merriment in his eyes. Shame he didn’t make it in the Tory leadership race, we might have had a decent Prime Minister for a change. It rained a lot, but we managed the supermarket and library without getting wet. I nodded off for ages at lunchtime as a result of last night’s poor sleep. Joanne is recovering in hospital in Lincolnshire after a misdiagnosed burst appendix left her in a critical condition whilst on holiday. Her doctor was treating her for IBS but how can you make a diagnose over the phone? I hope you make a speedy recovery sweetheart. Saturday 7 August The garden has been full of Butterflies this year, I must be doing something right. I tried to update Paul’s phone, but the equipment was against me. I got so wound up that we left it until tomorrow and went out. After a trip to M&S we called in at Dean’s for lunch. Phew! So delicious, so full! It said it was going to rain but we had a ride out to Pocklington anyway for a walk round just to ease our tummies. There are so many new houses and the small town centre reflected that by being quite busy. I walked round to Janet’s after that with some magazines and just got back home before it started to spit with rain.

Sunday 8 August A fresh, breezy, showery start following a very wet night in the end, but no thunder after all. The UK has taken 65 medals away from the Olympic Games, 22 of which were gold. What a wonderful achievement by our athletes. I remember the days when we could barely scrape 22 medals in total. My heart goes out to the people of Greece. First bankruptcy, next Covid and now terrible fires tearing through the countryside. I pray it will right itself soon. We went up to the University to find a short-cut through the buildings for Paul when he goes to badminton on his bike. The wind was so strong that we just had a short bike ride in a circular route. It was lovely coming back with the wind behind us. Baptiste is quite dark and confusing, whilst Professor T is so abstract (I love the Shostakovich theme tune). I wonder why Directors think their odd styles would make good viewing?

Monday 9 August The change in the year has already begun and is very noticeable early on a morning when it is cool and getting dark earlier on a night. Swimming seems to have got back into a nice steady routine. Monday is Art day, and I spent a couple of very happy hours with Denise, Mark and Moira. Phil and Ellie’s garden is growing beautifully, with plenty of produce. Spoke to Rachel from Better who restored my faith in their customer service. She definitely went the extra mile for me. Moto GP is back on TV, so Paul was happy, but we were both even happier watching Ghosts, which is also back. It is so original and funny. Tuesday 10 August Happy birthday Judi, hope you have a super day. It’s time we had our day out in Scarborough! At last, a deer happily grazing on the field; it’s always slow going in August, especially after the grass has been cut. We nipped up to Sainsbury’s for a few bits and pieces and after lunch I thought I’d do some gardening whilst Paul went for a bike ride. He also collected my prescription which was incomplete as usual. Instead of gardening I spent the next hour trying to sort it out. I dread the automated voice on the surgery phone, it goes right through me, as does the music on hold. An urgent prescription has been raised, but there was no need if my original one had been signed off properly. It’s all so stressful. The TV mast at Bilsdale caught fire, so TV viewing was severely restricted and the radio waffles. Wednesday 11 August Happy birthday Phil. What a wonderful person you are, I’m proud to be your mum. Rosie Rabbit was on the lawn happily munching when I went for my swim. Mary is back. First time she’s been for a swim in almost two years due to skin cancer. Paul’s back is showing signs of improvement, that’s me and my Pain Gone pen. He went to play Snooker with Colin and won! I did my washing and ironing and it seemed to take up most of the day, but I was tired. Finally got the rest of my prescription, but I've warned the Surgery that if there is a next time, I'm making an official complaint to the NHS Ombudsman. Howard is popping in for elevenses tomorrow on his way back home from a camping trip. Thursday 12 August Howard arrived before I even got the scones made, then Phil arrived to do some electrical work next door. He was a bit late due to a the A64 being closed at Tadcaster. A Crane had caught fire on the Eastbound carriageway. After tea, scones and some interesting conversation, Howard got on his motorbike and left, and Phil went next door to do the lights. I gardened all afternoon, so we decided to treat ourselves to a take-away. A split second saved us from a head-on collision on Stockton Lane. I am prepared to speculate that the driver of the white Audi turning right in front of us was on his phone and just managed to swerve back to his side in time to avoid hitting us. Una Stubbs has died at the age of 84. So sad, she was a lovely lady. RIP Una. Friday 13 August Audrey really enjoyed her swim, she’s lovely company. I thought I would catch the bus and collect my clock from repair, but after 20 minutes waiting at the stop I gave up and went home. I was cold and fed up. I did my ironing and a few jobs. Paul enjoyed Badminton, but it tired him, so he took it easy after the shopping. I washed the kitchen floor, read for a while and made tea. My knees are telling me that I’ve overdone it. Love Richard E Grant’s series on BBC4. Gorgeous sunset. Saturday 14 August It's cool and breezy, so much for a heatwave, although people in the Med are praying for rain where the temperatures are ridiculously high and there are forest fires everywhere. Nipped up to M&S for a couple of jumpers I'd spotted, but they've moved everything! It took me ages to find what I was looking for. Lee Martyn and his three year old daughter Sophie were among those murdered in Plymouth by Jake Davison. Their senseless killing will have torn their happy family apart. RIP Lee and Sophie. I’m full of admiration for Howard who has ridden 80 miles across Derbyshire from one end to the other in one day on his bike. Phil and Ellie look to be having a great time in Bristol; I bet Finn wants to sleep in their tent with them.

Sunday 15 August Ian and Maria’s train was delayed 88 minutes by a balloon on the overhead cables, so it was lovely to see them eventually at York Station. Gracie made herself at home straight away and was not in the least bit concerned when we all left her at home and went to Deans for a late lunch. Natural disasters are still happening all over the world. Japan has been hit by terrible floods, 700 people have already died in Haiti after an earthquake that tipped 7.2 on the Richter scale, and temperatures in Europe are set to soar to the 50s. President Ashraf Ghani has fled Afghanistan and the Taliban are in Kabul; it’s a dark day for the citizens. Monday 16 August You wouldn’t be blamed for wondering where summer has gone, it’s chilly and dull. I went to Home Bargains after my swim then sorted out a few things, including my artwork before buzzing off (late) to meet the girls at Deans for coffee. It was nice to catch up, but Ann is looking tired bless her. They are going to assess the bungalow in preparation for Mick returning home. Then it was off to Denise and Mark’s for art. Ian managed to sort out my phone and Paul’s, which was a great relief. Gill left some lovely Pansies on the doorstep. What a kind thing to do. Gracie enjoyed a mad half hour in the garden rolling and chasing, it’s lovely to watch her. Ian made tea, mmm. Tuesday 17 August It wasn’t much of a day, cool and clammy. I didn’t sleep well so I stayed in bed a little later. Paul went in to town to meet Colin, Ian went to meet Isabelle, Maria sat in the living room working and I went up to Holtby to see Ann. She looked overwhelmed with all that she now has to think about. I hope she will let Anita, Gill and I help her when the time comes. I called in at the hairdresser to make an appointment and fortunately Sue had a lull, so I got my hair trimmed there and then. Maria took Gracie for a walk before tea and discovered that there are wild rabbits living at the other end of the field. Wednesday 18 August Ah, a lovely, sunny day at last. Swim done and washing out early, Paul, Ian, Gracie and I drove up to Castle Howard for a walk across the fields, but we didn’t get very far as there was work going on and we couldn’t access the path. I later discovered that it was due to filming. It was pleasant and we managed a stroll anyway then home for quite a late lunch. Sean Lock has died at the age of 58. He was one of the only modern comedians that make me laugh. RIP Sean. Popped down to the Fox for a quick half before tea. Ian went into town to meet Carl, and Maria came for the ride then walked Gracie back half way. Fred had been down to Dad’s and cleaned the bedroom from top to bottom, which he was very pleased about. Thursday 19 August Another day when I got to the bus stop and the bus didn’t come, so I went back home, got the car and the last parking space at Sainsburys. Town was heaving with Race goers for the Ebor Festival and tourists, so I got what I wanted and escaped pronto. Back at home, Maria was at the bus stop, but I had just passed the bus at the end of the road so I turned the car round and took her to the Minster so she could have a gentle walk to the station and arrive in time for her train. The deer are back on the field at last; what a great feeling just seeing them. Ian made tea again and what a treat that was. Maria enjoyed her trip to Newcastle to see her friend and got a haircut in the process.

Friday 20 August Where does the time go? People are enjoying trips in hot air balloons, whilst across the world others are being rescued from the nightmare of Afghanistan. After my swim I dropped Ian and Maria off at the Minster. They were going to Betty’s for breakfast before taking the train to Harrogate for an overnight stay. Paul went to badminton and suddenly the house was so quiet. Just Gracie and I. Two deer on the field, but no sign of Rosie Rabbit. The supermarket shop was quiet, as was the rest of the day, even when I took Gracie for a walk before tea, although we had the added excitement of a mad grey Tom cat who landed a swipe before I could drag Gracie away. For our late walk, I took Gracie across the field where she happily sniffed and snapped at little white moths. It felt quite daring and our house looked very different from the other side.

Saturday 21 August

If I had got up earlier I would have saved Gracie and I a soaking on her morning walk. Paul came so far and got back before it rained; I wished we had gone with him. There were three deer on the field sitting down in the pouring rain! We realised that the roads were quite dry as we drove to Howden, and in fact it hadn’t rained there. We stopped in a dog friendly café for a quick bite and then walked round the lovely Ashes Playing Field and park. Not only did we escape the rain, but when the sun came out it was quite hot. Ian and Maria came back with tales of their two days. Bettys was a huge success, and they loved the train journey. Their hotel wasn’t up to scratch sadly, but they were impressed with Harlow Carr gardens. The Turkish Baths was also a hit, but then I knew they would enjoy it. Sunday 22 August We all slept a bit later and had an easy morning. At least it was dry after yesterday's heavy rain. I left the Pansy painting and the little posy of Pansies (in water) that Gill brought round as a gift in the bedroom and Maria was delighted with them. It wasn’t the most promising start to the day, so I&M walked Gracie round the block instead of the hoped for run on the field, but it did cheer up and was warm and sunny by lunchtime. I&M treated us to lunch at Thompson’s on the A64 and we were so full afterwards we didn’t do a great deal. They headed off to the station on the Coastliner and the house felt a little emptier and very quiet. It’s been lovely having them here. Now comes all the washing. I gardened for a good hour and you could really see where I’d been. Glad to see the end of Baptiste and Professor T. Too much in one and not enough in the other. The moon was full and golden, shining through the window and lighting up the bedroom. Monday 23 August It was a lovely sunny morning. Paul put my washing out before he went to badminton, and I did some more when I got back from my swim. I even managed to iron the first lot before Moira came for me. We enjoyed our Art, lunch and discussion as usual and Daisy was very good, despite the squirrels driving her mad. The Robin is back and it’s song is changing down to autumn. Loads of wasps around too. Clive Myrie did a good job as the new Mastermind host. Jo is out of hospital and staying with her mum as she is still very poorly. People in Kabul are scrambling to get on any aircraft and out of the country to safety. The hedgehog that Chrissy rescued is adorable.

Tuesday 24 August No sun, which is disappointing, but one deer which is lovely. I had a busy day pottering in the house, but I got it all done and was quite pleased with myself. Anita, Gill and I had tea at Deans with Ann. We want her to know that she can count on us for support. Why is tv so awful these days. Programmes like Love Island are just cattle markets and then there are so called celebrities at home with the baby. Women have been having children since Eve, why should a poxy celebrity need to show us how it’s done? Thank god for the OFF button. Charlie Watts has died. RIP Charlie; there go my teenage years. Wednesday 25 August Lovely swim, two deer on the field and meeting Jane for coffee. I haven’ t seen her in over a year and there is so much to catch up on. I forgot to tell her how beautiful the David Austin rose is. The signs that show when the buses are due were not working at the Stonebow, but the council are all set to spend millions on pointless roadworks on Blossom Street – again! I’ve had an e-mail to say that my Railcard is due for renewal, but then the system says I haven’t got one! Confused? No, I know what I’ve got. Paid for three years and could only use it for two.

Thursday 26 August Happy Birthday Corin. I hope you’ve got over Covid and can enjoy some celebrations today. We met Rod and Joyce in Easingwold and enjoyed a nice stroll round the town before stopping for an excellent lunch at The George. Then another wander and coffee in the Market Square. It’s such a pretty town with some gorgeous houses and the gardens were pretty impressive too. We also saw a beautiful art installation called A Thousand Butterflies which was created by the local library in a community project. Paul walked well today and his back is much better. It’s so comforting to see the deer back on the field again, another piece of normality.

Friday 27 August Up early for my swim, only to be disappointed to discover that Yearsley was closed due to

issues with the pool. I have never seen the car park so deserted! Watched the deer in the field as I ate my breakfast. Sasha had surgery on her knee today. I hope this brings relief from the pain at last. I found it difficult to keep warm, it was such a dull day, no sun, little wind but a faint sheen of rain every now and then. I slept through most of it whilst people in Afghanistan scrambled for their lives to escape the fear and hate spread by the Taliban and their forces. The world is a cruel place. Saturday 28 August It was wonderful to see the sun at last and put on a summer dress. It was so nice that I had my breakfast in the garden. We drove to Northallerton and wandered through the market. It’s much better now that the road is closed to traffic on Market days. After a jolly nice lunch and another stop for a cuppa, we put our purchases in the car, drove home, and sat in the garden. It was amazingly quiet, and I kept thinking it was Sunday. Sasha’s surgery went well, but unfortunately she reacted badly to some of the painkillers. Thank goodness she is in safe hands. Norway and the EU are at loggerheads over fishing rights as the Norwegians think the EU have taken a bigger quota than was agreed. Sunday 29 August Happy birthday Hayam, I hope you have a wonderful trip up to Loch Ness. We had a good bike ride, down on to Bad Bargain Lane, through the new estate and on to the bike track. We had intended coming off at Dodsworth Avenue, but it was so nice that we carried on to the end and out on to Wigginton Road. Through Bootham Park, down Marygate, over the new Railway Bridge and down the other side of the river. The Flood defence work is taking forever which meant a detour onto the road to get to North Street. Then again at the end of Skeldergate, we had to cycle up Bishopthorpe Road and go through Rowntree Park to reach the Millenium bridge. Down the river side to Blue Bridge Lane which I managed to cycle half way up; I haven’t been able to do that for over a year. Back through Horseman Avenue, across Lawrence Street, then onto the bike track and home. Oh, it was so good to sit on a comfortable seat. Monday 30 August It really doesn’t feel like a Bank Holiday, and it’s been such a disappointing summer, too much rain and plain grey skies and so few swallows. The Combine Harvester is out on the far field so I doubt we will see much of the deer for a day or two. Paul is at Badminton this morning. It is so good to see him getting back to normal. I know he still gets backache, but it’s no longer debilitating, and movement is the best thing. No Art today as Denise and Mark are away with family. That means No Chips too! Once again Louisiana has been hit by a massive hurricane. Hurricane Ida struck land yesterday and is heading for St Louis where some people have still not recovered from the devastation that was Hurricane Katrina.

Tuesday 31 August The harvesting was finished just before the rain, but I was wrong about the wildlife, there were two deer and a fox on the field last night. Maria’s parents were overjoyed at the news of the wedding. It’s a long journey from Colombia but it will be great to meet them at last. I’m still coming to terms with the mountain of rubbish, tents, sleeping bags etc. that were left behind both before, and after the Leeds Festival. Global warming nothing, and these are mainly youngsters who are happy to have a go about waste and pollution. Grrrr. On the plus side, the Homeless charities are benefiting as they are able to collect and redistribute many discarded items to people in need. Sasha is doing really well after her knee operation; Jo is recovering nicely with Judy’s loving care (Mums are wonderful); Anne is continuing to improve, and Paul’s back is a lot better too. And the sun just popped out as an experiment! I was on my way home from tea with Ann and Anita when a Sparrow Hawk flew down the road just in front of me. Beautiful.




43 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


johnandgillramsden
Sep 13, 2021

Finally - an R&R day to read this. It certainly has been a busy month for you. It’s nice to read the news of your family & friends & have what went on in the world at the same time - ‘lest we forget’!

Like
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
Sep 13, 2021
Replying to

Thanks Gill, I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's always interesting to look back and see what was going on in the world whilst we were getting on with everyday life.

Like

rodhildred
Sep 01, 2021

Another busy month for you both, we enjoyed meeting you for lunch and a potter. Rod&

Like
Hedy Parkin
Hedy Parkin
Sep 01, 2021
Replying to

We always enjoy your company 😊

Like
bottom of page