top of page
Search
Writer's pictureHedy Parkin

September And Sunsets

Wednesday 1 September I had my swim, blood taken and back home by 9am. Paul had a call first thing about his Honda, and it was sold and gone by 1pm. We had lunch and then went to Malton so that I could stock up with ingredients to make a (1st) wedding anniversary cake for Phil and Ellie and also make a start on the Christmas cakes. Dad had a fall but fortunately seems to be ok after it. The UK Paralympians have exceeded the number of medals won by our Olympians and are second in the league table. Covid is hovering in the background as cases start to rise again. There have been some wonderful skies this month and I love these photos taken by Nikki Bowling.

Thursday 2 September I was up and off early to take my Laptop to Graham at Byteguys for a quick check over. We met Helen and Paul at Deans for coffee and enjoyed a nice couple of hours catching up. The sun came out and it turned into a beautiful day with a soft breeze. We cut the lawns then I got a message from Graham to say my Laptop was ready to collect. It was quiet on the journey there, but we really hit traffic on the way home. Sarah Storey has won her 17th Gold Medal and is the UK’s top scoring Paralympian. I take my hat off to you Sarah, you are truly remarkable. The Police have now drained the fishing pond at Sand Hutton in their search for clues to the missing body of Claudia. She needs to be brought home and laid to rest at last. Friday 3 September The weather is neither nowt nor summat! I enjoyed my swim and was back home and had breakfast before 9am. I seem to be getting quicker which is a comforting thought. I had already started with painful hands and swollen knees by this time last year, but because of Covid couldn’t get an ounce of help from the GP surgery. But with treatment from a good Rheumatologist, I’m back to my old self at last. The UK Paralympians have clocked up an impressive 107 medals, 37 of which are Gold. Drones are being used by thieves to inspect people’s property and the Police are warning all residents to make sure they don’t become a victim of crime. Sneaky beggars. Saturday 4 September Another cool day and we weren’t quite sure what to do. In the end we caught the Coastliner to Leeds, then hopped on another bus for Harrogate which took us on a beautiful journey out in to the countryside and through the Harewood estate. Lunch in Harrogate then on the train back to York so that we could go over the viaduct at Knaresborough. I’ve done it loads of times, but it was Paul’s first and he really enjoyed it. Seeing a familiar journey from a completely different perspective is very interesting. To crown it all, the Coastliner arrived three minutes after we walked out of the station, and we were back at home in next to no time. I’m always astonished at seeing empty shops in Harrogate as it is such a wealthy town. Our Paralympians have now clocked up astonishing 122 medals, with 41 of them being Gold. They throw money at footballers, but none of them can impress me like these athletes. They are very special people. Brave activists in the Panjshir Valley, north of Kabul are still holding out against the Taliban.

Sunday 5 September It was wonderful to see the sun again and put on some lighter clothes. Four deer grazing in the field. We took a gentle bike ride up to Vanguard Park so that I could find a birthday pressie for Joan. It was lovely in the sunshine, but I’m aware that I feel so much better, and I don’t want to tempt fate so that was far enough. Sadly nothing useful has been found at Sand Hutton in the search for Claudia’s body; but we all hoped. The shortage of Lorry Drivers has become the next thing to Covid when it comes to apportion blame for anything. Dad is just realising how bruised and sore he is after his fall. The UK ended the Paralympic Games second in the league table with a staggering 124 medals. Monday 6 September I had my swim, came home and got stuck into making Phil and Ellie’s cake for their Wedding Anniversary party. It was in the oven, and I was ready to go when Moira came to pick me up for our Art group. It was lovely to be back after a week’s break. We had our usual lunch with Mark’s chips, a good natter and a bit of painting got done too. Paul played Badminton up at the University and his back seems to be doing ok. I am disgusted with the National Trust who laid off 1,800 staff last year, mainly tea room and support, yet they hold over £400 million pounds in cash reserves. Something is not right here, and I bet the people at the top kept their jobs. I was excited to spot a Garden Tiger Moth caterpillar in the garden; not seen one of those for years. James from Little Big Door sent me the most wonderful video of a Roul Roul or Crested Partridge hatching. It was an incredible bit of film. My Rapid Covid test came up negative. Phew.

Tuesday 7 September Happy birthday Joan, 92 today. Off early to catch the Scarborough bus, which, as it was such a beautiful day was full. Joan sadly doesn’t recognise me, but we had a lively chat about her old life and rang Paüla so she could wish her mum happy birthday. I sat in the Town Hall Gardens with a sandwich and some water, people watching and taking in the fresh air, then walked over to see the Spa. Scarborough is so lovely at any time, and especially in the sunshine. There was no sign of Paul when I got home, but it turned out that he and Colin had been to Leeds to look at Bi-fold doors. My prescription was wrong again, but embarrassingly this time it was me that made the mistake. I’m surprised nobody questioned it. Phil is now an approved Electrician under the NIC Registered scheme. Congratulations Phil. Had tea at Deans with Ann and Anita. Afghanistan has finally fallen completely to the Taliban. I pray for the citizens who less than fifty years ago had a free and modern society. Wednesday 8 September Oh what a beautiful morning, oh what a beautiful day. There was a new timetable on display at the pool, and they are going back to a full seven days programme, yippee! Breakfast in the garden, soaking up the sun. Sasha loved the flowers we sent; she’s finding it hard going but it’s only been ten days since her new knee operation; she’s a fighter and will be back on top soon enough. Maria is having drinks and meeting her new team today, I know she’s excited at the prospect of her new job. Paul made BLTs for lunch, yum yum. The day got hotter and hotter, and I envied Daphne and Malc in Filey. I hate huge gas guzzling cars; not only are they ugly but they are not in keeping with saving the earth.

Thursday 9 September It rained overnight, but it was warm enough for breakfast in the garden again. Fine gossamer threads of spiderlings floated through the air, shimmering in the sunshine. Afghan women are protesting against an all male government. That’s what I want to see, the women fighting back at last; somebody has to do it and they've got nothing to loose anymore. We met Julia and Colin for an excellent lunch at The Blacksmith’s Arms in Westow. It was their 49th Wedding Anniversary and I can remember the wedding as if it were yesterday. The promised thunder storm finally arrived at 5.30 when we got some much needed rain and a few skyward rumbles. Good job I didn’t waste time watering the plants, but Kirkgate market in Leeds got a flooding from a leak in the roof.

Friday 10 September The warm muggy night turned into a warm muggy day, however it stayed dry after the overnight rain. Kerry is back working at Yearsley pool, excellent news; she just makes a difference. Phil is abseiling from the roof of St Thomas' Hospital in London for charity, and it is Maria’s last working day at Cos. I pedalled into town for a couple of things I wanted, and it was surprisingly quiet. I heard a voice behind me on East Parade, it was Lynne whom I haven’t seen to talk to for simply ages. We went to her house for a cup of tea, and I left a couple of hours later. It’s lovely to catch up with old friends. The supermarket was quiet so our shop didn’t take long. I hope we never have to go back to the days of queueing to enter the stores. Saturday 11 September

9/11. On this date, twenty years ago the most abominable crime was committed on humanity since the dropping of the H-bomb. Why do people have to fight and kill? Why can’t they put their energy into caring for each other, looking after the world and making sure that no-one suffers from hunger, abuse, or loneliness ever again?

The day started bright and sunny enough, and it stayed warm despite the cloud. I’m enjoying reading Platform Seven by Louise Doughty. It’s not a ghost story per se, but a story told by a ghost, and the more I got into it, the better the story got. We thought we would catch the bus to Leeds and the app said 15 mins, but the bus never came. That was when I worked out that it was the Whitby bus which goes down Malton Road and misses us out; so we got the car out and drove to Selby. The roads were very busy, but fortunately in the other direction to us. Fred is getting a new car this week; wouldn’t have minded his old one.

Sunday 12 September

Down to 1mg steroid tablet from today. Yippee, I hate taking medication. Emma Raducanu has won the US Open Tennis Women’s Grand Slam title in an amazing tournament. She was expecting to go home two weeks ago and had to cancel her flight. Huge congratulations. She is now Britain’s number 1. It goes to show that with sheer grit and determination you can achieve anything. We met Peter and Margaret for Sunday lunch at the Bay Horse in Goldsborough which was very nice, but it was a cool day and I wished I’d worn something warmer. Two deer on the field, they’re keeping a low profile these days.

Monday 13 September

Happy Birthday Iris, I hope you enjoyed your special day. I woke up feeling tired and sad which lasted until mid-morning despite my swim. I had a successful bid on a nice little desk I’d seen on-line, which remained unsold after the auction and that cheered me up. Now how to get it home! We wasted a whole hour on the Swinton Insurance website as it refused to let me in. I hate those bloomin’ things. The tissue that I left in the pocket of my shorts infiltrated every item of washing and it looked like a snow storm had happened when I had finished shaking everything out on to the grass. Last in the series of Ghosts last night and I shall miss its gentle humour. Phil, Ellie, Ian and Maria are all camping at Knepp for a few days, it is a big estate given over to re-wilding. Happy holiday.

Tuesday 14 September

The day started off ok, but then the clouds came over making everything grey and cool and it wasn’t long before it drizzled. My knee is very sore and painful, I hope I’m not heading for a flare up. I took Paul to the Snooker Hall to meet Colin, then went to The Range for a photo album for the last few bits and pieces. They had the wrong price on it and the till charged me more, so they had to give me some money back. I felt as if I it was me trying to scam them out of £2. We went to collect the desk from Duggleby’s, and my excitement dissolved as I realised that I had bought a complete white elephant. The thing was in an appalling state, and I just wanted to throw it out of the car on the way home. Oh what a mistake. Met Ann and Anita for tea at Deans.

Wednesday 15 September

I didn’t really want to get out of bed, my knee was still sore and I felt quite bleugh, but once I was in the pool I felt refreshed like a desert flower welcoming rain. There was an incident on Stockton Lane when the Recycling lorry was hit by another vehicle and the Police had set up a blockade at Galtres Road. Fortunately they let me through as I only had fifty yards to travel. The early morning drizzle stopped by the time I got home, and it was nice to see the sun. Geoff was more than happy to take the desk off our hands. He will use the wood to create something lovely. I’ve bought some really nice Christmas presents from him which were very reasonable so I’m glad he could take it. I made an assault on the garden, but there’s a lot of work to be done. Boris’s mother, Charlotte Wahl has died, RIP. She sounded like a very feisty lady, sadly Boris seems to take after his father! Thursday 16 September I soaked up the peace, the sun, and the fresh air as I ate my breakfast in the garden. I had been in the bathroom when I got my call-back from the Surgery, but they still can’t give me a date for a Flu jab. Paul went for a hair cut whilst I day-dreamed in the sun. Boris has had a Cabinet reshuffle. The night sky used to be lit by the University, but since Covid happened all is dark, and we can see the stars more clearly. It must be saving them a fortune and I for one, prefer it. Harrogate’s Covid rate is now the highest in North Yorkshire. I wouldn’t want to be Prince Andrew at any price, as his chickens all come home to roost. I had a Rheumatology telephone appointment, and it was Dr Green who rang. My inflammation levels are still high and I’m to have a bone density scan. He gave me his blessing to contact Professor Claudia Mauri to volunteer for her clinical trials into RA. Lovely phone call from Ian with news and exploits about their stay at Knepp. Friday 17 September It was a real autumnal morning with swathes of mist that soon burnt off and we were left with a lovely fresh September day. My cold is keeping me out of sorts, and I only did a few lengths of the pool today. There are more Climate Change protests going on and more Motorways being blocked. We all have a right to protest, but I feel sorry for the poor people unwittingly caught up in the delays. Michael Gove is going to look at the new proposals for Planning permission in his new role as Housing Minister. He may not be popular with the media, but he is well respected in Whitehall and does things properly, unlike Boris. I’ve not seen any wildlife on the field for days and even the birds seem to be quiet. Paul played Badminton and I’m sure the movement is doing him good; building up stamina. A volcano has erupted on La Palma causing widescale damage and disruption. Saturday 18 September Four deer on the field, who disappeared as the day grew warmer. An Albatross has been spotted at Bempton of all places! 10,000 miles from its natural habitat. I should love to see that. Ripon looked lovely in the sunshine, we managed to get parked and had a wander round the Old Courthouse museum and the Cathedral before stopping for lunch at a nice café. Lots of people about and lots of traffic going to the autumn Harrogate Flower Show which is being held at Newby Hall this year. There was also an extremely well attended dog show on Ripon Racecourse. Fred is enjoying his new car. Strictly Come Dancing is back. Sunday 19 September It’s a year since the symptoms of my Rheumatoid Arthritis started to affect me. I’ve come a long way since then and I shall be watching the research into a cure with great interest. The forecast was for heavy rain later, so we hopped on our bikes and went off early for a bike ride. Halfway round we had to take shelter from a downpour, but we were soon on our way again and made our way down Malton Road, round by Muncastergate and on to the bike track at Dodsworth Avenue. It never rained again; in fact it was quite a lovely day. Joanne has recovered and is back home, but her mum is not well and waiting for X-ray results. RIP John Challis and thanks for all the laughter. Monday 20 September A lovely morning but I was tired. It was a good job the pool was quiet. I soon revived after breakfast in the garden, soaking up the sunshine and getting fresh air into my lungs. Hundreds of dead sea birds have been found along the coast from Norfolk to Scotland. The birds are malnourished but are seen to be catching fish, so toxins in the food chain and an Algal bloom off the North East coast of Scotland are suspected. More disruption on the M25 with climate protesters, and suddenly gas and energy prices are to rise. France feels it has been wrong-footed and don’t like it, over the UK/US/Australia nuclear-powered submarine deal. It was Art and chips today, lovely. The sunset was stunning, as was the full Harvest Moon.

Tuesday 21 September Happy birthday Hayam and Sylvia. What a lovely day to celebrate your birthdays on. Judi and I went down to the River Foss to look at the Fairy Houses before heading off for a cuppa. It was great to see her, and it’s been such a long time since we had chance of a catch-up. The European Court has now also found Russia guilty of the killing of Litvinenko in London in 2006. A third man has also been identified in connection with the Salisbury poisonings. Russia may have broken the bonds of Communism, but it’s still a scary country. Poor little Bee has been run over and broken her Pelvis. Fortunately she was taken to the Pride Veterinary hospital in Derby where Chrissie works, so not only will she receive good treatment, but Phil and Ellie both know there is someone special keeping keep an eye on her. Another magnificent sunset. Wednesday 22 September Mike took a tumble poolside this morning, landing right outside my cubicle. I was able to get out but left him being patched up by the Helen and JP (staff). He looked a bit stunned poor man. Four Thought on Radio 4 this morning had the poet Robyn Travis reading from his book Prisoner To The Streets. He looks at the problem of black youths in trouble in a way that nobody else has. It was so good and so interesting. Finally got booked in for our Flu Jabs. There has been an Earthquake in Melbourne, with the magnitude of 5.8 on the Richter scale with tremors reaching as far as Canberra and Sydney. Took a quick trip to Malton and came home the scenic route. Robert Fyfe has died at the grand age of 90. Oh Howard, Marina has missed you. RIP Robert. The sunsets this week are stunning.

Thursday 23 September Yesterday was lovely, but today was really chilly. Gill and John are walking the coastal path in Wales and celebrating their 20th Wedding Anniversary today. Here's to many more years of happiness. Phil is in London working on the London Air Ambulance charity abseil. Another fund raiser, Phil has all the fun. We took the bus to Leeds and went to the Royal Armouries where we saw two excellent presentations. The food is shockingly expensive. Back at the bus station, the 840 didn’t arrive. If we’d known that one had been missed out we could have caught the Zap into town at least, but it was 6.15pm before we got home on an overcrowded 843. Fred let dad know that I was going to be late ringing, and even then I was a little short. I just wanted to sit down and have my tea. Great news, Bee’s operation on her hip was successful and she came round from the anaesthetic well. What a special person Chrissie is, whilst giving Bee lots of care and attention she was grieving for the loss of her own cat Sylvester who had been with her for nine happy years.

Friday 24 September I overslept! It was 8am when Paul asked me if I was going swimming. Fortunately my booking could be rescheduled and I’m glad I went. Some twit has flagged up that Tesco is having problems getting fuel delivered at a couple of service stations, and the world has gone mad. The queue at Morrisons this morning was amazing. Glad I wasn’t caught in it. Fear seems to be the word at the moment. No drivers, ergo no deliveries and no Christmas. That’s a couple of months away. I give up. Defrosted the fridge/freezer and sorted my drawers out, what a good girl am I? A Kathleen Ferrier record was played on Desert Island Discs, wonderful. I’d forgotten how much I love listening to her sing. Chrissie made a touching video of Bee eating her food; she was starving but it was a good indication of how well she is recovering.

Saturday 25 September

Welcome to the world Esmae June Gillian, my cousin Paula's fourth grand daughter. I hope your life is full of love and laughter. It looks like the country is going to hell in a handcart. Plenty of fuel, no drivers to deliver it, but amazingly the A64 was horrendously busy, plenty of gas guzzlers. No household gas, and companies either going bust or hiking the price. Supermarkets running out of food, and the farmers are desperate for pickers. Good old Boris, we always knew you could do it! We had a good lunch in the market at Castleford and a little shop for odds and sods before coming home. It wasn’t much of a day, with blanket cloud, but at least it was mild. Plenty of Geese migrating overhead and three deer on the field having a chase round.

Sunday 26 September

Happy birthday Dad, 94 is quite some age. Six more for a telegram. Two great flocks of geese flying south converged overhead to make one enormous skein. The noise was incredible. I requested a book at the Library which wasn’t on the catalogue and was surprised to learn that they no longer order through the inter-Library scheme but buy them from Amazon. Not very cost effective. Our ride took us down the cycle track, out by the chickens so that I could post a letter, then back down the track to Dodsworth and home. We were pedalling into the wind all the way. My eyes and nose just streamed all day, it’s definitely a cold then! I listened to Green Originals on Radio 4. The story of Ken Saro-Wiwa who was a writer, television producer, human rights and environmental activist, is enough to make you give up your huge car and settle for walking or riding a bike a bit more often. As Westerners our greedy need for fuel has ruined the land and the lives of the Ogoni people in the Niger Delta. I counted 9 presenters on the Chelsea Flower Show; nice to know the licence fee is being well spent! The team from England won One Man and His Dog.

Monday 27 September

By the time I left the pool the rain was torrential, and I had to sit in the car for ten minutes when I got home, waiting for a break. Then by 10.30 the sun was shining through the clouds. Maria started her new job with Papier today, good luck and a happy future Maria. At the Labour Party Conference, Peter Mandelson was clearly backing Keir Starmer whilst launching a scathing attack on Jeremy Corbyn and his followers. Meanwhile, Piers Corbyn was thrown out of a meeting for distributing anti-vaccination leaflets. We enjoyed our usual Monday Art session and Mark managed to take Daisy for a walk just before it rained again. Bee is back home with Phil and Ellie but has to stay in a cage for six weeks so that she is not trying to jump or climb and her hip has time to heal. There was no outright winner for the German Election so they will have a coalition government. Tuesday 28 September I had an excellent night’s sleep. Is it too soon to put it down to the garlic pearls and raw ginger? France has agreed a deal for Greece to buy three frigates with an option to buy a fourth at an estimated 3 billion euros. Now where is Greece going to get that kind of money? Phil arrived just before lunch, so we got the cake in the car quick before he forgot it. He was doing some work for Andrew, but it’s always lovely to see him. I wouldn’t be a lorry/tanker driver; they are treated abysmally. If the firm overloads a wagon, the driver is responsible, but if he refuses the load then he loses his job. Alternatively, anybody crossing from France runs the risk of bringing back a stowaway and getting into serious trouble and nobody to back them up. Felicitations to Gemma on her new job, I hope you enjoy it. Wednesday 29 September It was lovely to see the sun after such a wet and windy night, but it was cold in the shadows. We caught the bus to Malton to collect my clock and get one or two other things. Not much traffic about, I think folks are preserving their fuel. Keir Starmer made his big Conference speech today and amongst other things, set out his stall for a return to training for traditional skills. Much more useful than people getting degrees and a mountain of debt. He’s not as popular as he should be but it’s inevitable that anybody following Jeremy Corbyn will have an uphill struggle to shake of his mantle of dogma. We got another video of Bee, this time washing herself. It’s good to see signs of her getting better. Oh the sunsets just get better!

Thursday 30 September One day dry, next day wet. I shivered at the bus stop and was glad to get on board even though the bus was full. Went to Palenque and bought some lovely earring for Ann’s birthday from Anita, Gill and I. Sarah Everard’s murderer has been sentenced and will never be freed. Thank goodness for British justice. Gill and John are still happily walking the coastline of Wales. Hope they don't get blown away. Four Goldfinches suddenly appeared in the garden; it was such a delight to see, especially on such a miserable, wet day.















49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page